We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok But expect to be woken up at all hours of the night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wortley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wortley House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
“Ok But expect to be woken up at all hours of the night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

The hotel was fairly pleasant and quite centrally located and the room was ok and pretty clean. The breakfast was also good and well cooked.
The main downside was, that a lot of contractors working at the local steelworks stay at the hotel and they arrive and leave at all times throughout the night. They were not being noisy or rowdy in any way, but the sound of the fire doors opening and closing kept me awake throughout the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
22
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

The restaurant / breakfast room is slightly pokey and unispiringso its best to take your evening meal in the bar. The food is very good, in fact I cancelled a night in town to eat twice in the hotel!

Judging by the size of the 2 function rooms I dont think it is the place for a quiet getaway at weekends!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bottleosmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Service from all staff was friendly and most helpful - hotel was clean and tidy. location ideal for stop over to cadwell park - food was good - nothing bad to say would stay again no problem

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ducati1098s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We travelled from Scotland for a wedding and booked four rooms at the hotel for a party of six. We needed bed and breakfast for two nights, close to our wedding venue and Wortley House Hotel proved ideal for our requirements. The hotel had clearly been built and furnished to a high quality although it could now be doing with a re-furbishment. However, the rooms, bedding etc. were clean and comfortable and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with a decent range of cold and hot food. The only issue was with the showers. In one room the shower was completely broken and we had to use the bath instead. In two other rooms it was difficult to control the temperature of the showers. The shower was okay in the fourth room. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would certainly use the hotel again for a similar purpose.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We had a last minute stay at this hotel due to the local travelodge being overbooked. I hadn't had chance therefore to do my usual research to check reviews on the hotel etc but by the end of the stay was so glad that we had stayed here as the quality of the stay was so much better and more competitive than the travelodge.
Every member of staff I encountered from the doormen to the housekeeping staff, receptionist to night watchmen to the management were so genuinely friendly and helpful. You got the sense that they were making a concerted effort to make sure their guests are happy.
The room was spacious and very comfortable, extremely clean and with all the basic provisions including digital TV. I didn't use the restaurant but my Mum was more than happy with the breakfast.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

This is a pleasant enough hotel in a residential part of Scunthorpe with friendly staff and clean rooms. The food let it down: a gristly bit of steak with hardly-cooked potato chip type product alongside. You get the feeling that they are having to keep costs down as much as possible - especially with the local Corus plant threatened with closure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

my uncle died in one of the rooms here from natural causes. the staff arranged everything from undertaker to rearranging seating plans, hearses etc, and didnt charge a penny for anything they did. reception was well arranged and even when somebody over filled the bath as a joke and flooded the room ,they couldnt have been nicer. a great hotel, well run and the staff are amazing

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyclutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scunthorpe
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Scunthorpe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
4.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Scunthorpe
Travelodge Scunthorpe
#2 of 5 in Scunthorpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.0 mi away
Arties Mill & Lodge
Arties Mill & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brigg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Hotel
#2 of 13 in Scunthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wortley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wortley House Hotel

Property: Wortley House Hotel
Address: Wortley House Hotel Rowland Road, Scunthorpe DN16 1SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wortley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Wortley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wortley Hotel Scunthorpe
Wortley House Hotel Scunthorpe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing