We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good party venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wortley House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good party venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently held my daughters surprise 21st birthday party at the hotel . The staff were all very helpful in the planning and making it the real,success that it was. The hot food served on the night was good and service excellent. Bar prices were good . Guests who stayed overnight reported being happy with the rooms and breakfast Would definitely recommend for holding a party.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
23
22
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here as part of a residential training course for a week. It was a bit dated in decor but that does not matter as it was comfortable, friendly and welcoming on the inside. The best part for me was the staff. I was considerably awkward and demanding about my special diet and the staff could not do enough to accommodate me. The staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to meet my needs. Nothing I asked them was a problem. The wi-fi worked perfectly. The entire stay was made all the more enjoyable due to the staff. If you want somewhere modern and pretty then it maybe not the hotel for you - if you want that then maybe you should stay home and admire your living room.
Great size car park with lots of extra lighting. Good location for motorway and not too far from retail park and train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marnie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night as my friends 40th was being held there.
The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
The evening food was pie & mushy peas which I have to say I was a bit dubious about, however the food was amazing....my husband had three helpings!
We stayed in room 59 which was very spacious and clean. It was nice to have proper mugs for the tea and coffee that's provided.
Breakfast was lovely, there was only one girl working and there was a large group of us all ordering breakfast at the same time, have to say service was brilliant.
The only negative was that there was an odd smell around the hotel, not sure if it was coming from outside or not, however it didn't detract from the stay.
If you want a cheap hotel with great service and good food would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emskez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here, in business, for many weeks. The hotel has a nice restaurant with good food, it has a nice bar and the staff are friendly and helpfull. Rooms are big and clean. Good wireless internet. Near the train station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night for it's good location for a meeting locally, ample sized car park, ample sized rooms with usual frills. Interior of hotel looking a little tired and needs modernising, good breakfast served in the morning, didn't eat here so cannot comment on restaurant, area is pretty run down as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rotten time here, noisy air conditioning units to keep you awake all night, unintersted staff, very rude and unhelpful manager, dodgy area to park your car in, stained sheets, cold breakfast. The most entertaining thing that happened was watching the staff behind the bar argue in front of customers over who should do what, why and when. Customer service training would be appropriate methinks!! A business dying on its feet... stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scunthorpe hotels

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room was adequate and clean, but generally the hotel has seen better days and is in need of re-decoration.
My son also stayed at the hotel and had a double room that was only set up for one person, this was quickly sorted out with credit to the htel staff.
Breakfast service on the first morning was faultless, but on the second morning a different member of staff was on duty and the service was abysmal. It appeared as though everything was put away and the tables laid for the evening meal. The staff were unhelpful and at times rude, and seemed incapable of getting our orders right.
We stayed at this hotel because unlike Travelodge a breakfast is included, but we wish we hadn't bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scunthorpe
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Scunthorpe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
4.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Arties Mill & Lodge
Arties Mill & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brigg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Hotel
#2 of 13 in Scunthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.7 mi away
The River Don Tavern And Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wortley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wortley House Hotel

Property: Wortley House Hotel
Address: Wortley House Hotel Rowland Road, Scunthorpe DN16 1SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wortley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Wortley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wortley Hotel Scunthorpe
Wortley House Hotel Scunthorpe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing