We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budleigh House(Susworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
San Pietro Hotel(Scunthorpe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larchwood Hotel(Scunthorpe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Berkeley Hotel(Scunthorpe)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Kirks Korner Motel(Scunthorpe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Clamart(Scunthorpe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
58
53
49
39
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
53
49
39
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday roastmaking us feelyorkshire puddingsaturday nightcomfy bedwould stay againtown centrefull englishsainsburysfootball
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 255 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

very tired and drab rooms that don't seem to get cleaned very often. lots of dust around the bedroom and mould in the bathroom. The bed was well past it's sell by date with springs sticking through it. The bar food was poor at best. Staff just did not seem interested in their customers. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear HOD1980,

Thank you for your review, the feedback you have provided will be passed to our management team to help improve the standards we offer at the Royal Hotel.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room smelt of a stale smokey taste, the bathroom wasn't very clean with grime around the sink taps and the bath. There was no room between the toilet and the bath, decor was drab and gloomy. On checking out I noticed the reception here was covered with a thick layer of dust. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone, won't be going back again.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank publican_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear publican_10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your reveiw, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received whilst visiting the Royal Hotel. We would like to investigate your comments with our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is old fashioned, and a little faded, but somehow quite nostalgic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fine except for being cold, and it was a very cold day when we arrived. There were 2 heaters in the room so we put them both on, and slowly it warmed up, but the bathroom was arctic (no heating in there). There was plenty of hot water, but the tile grouting around the shower needed a good scour to remove black mould. We had a meal in the pub (a John Barras group) and the food was good, typical chain pub grub. By the time we got back to our room it had warmed up and we got a good night's sleep. we told the duty manager about the cold room in the morning and he apologised. I should have reported it straight away the previous evening really and vowed always to make any shortcomings known immediately in future. Overall for the price we were happy enough with the Royal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Roseananne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, your feedback has been passed to our management team to ensure that your comments regarding the room temperature and grout of the tiles can be addressed.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Royal because we were going to a concert at the Baths Hall, a 2-minute walk away - having read the reviews on here we were a little nervous to say the least about what we'd find when we checked in!

However, we had no problems at all, our room was fine, perfectly clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean and everything worked too.

Yes, its a basic hotel - a pub with rooms - so you have to find someone behind the bar rather than there being a staffed reception, and there are no frills - but the price we paid for the room reflected that.

We would stay here again, especially if we were going to the Baths Hall, as its just across the road and the bar prices in the Royal are even better than those at the venue.

I particularly liked the pictures in the rooms and corridors; rather than being generic pieces of abstract art of landscapes like you find in most hotels, they were all views of the local area; both industrial and rural, but they really reflected the place of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'deluxe' room for an extra few pounds, it was huge!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhirlpoolGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear WhirlpoolGrimsby,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that the Royal Hotel was able to meet your requirements and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not impressed with this hotel. Bedding had mold spots on them radiator not working small heater in the room which warmed the room up. Bathroom well what can I say about the toilet Hubby had to fix the toilet every time we had to flush it lucky for us it was only one night.
Staff was lovely breakfast was good enough for me as I only have cereals and toast, Hubby's cooked breakfast was very nice.
This place lets the staff down

Room Tip: find a different place
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquiwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Jacquiwoodward,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are soory to hear of the issues you received whilst visiting and have asked our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews