We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing quality all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dining at The Comfy Duck restaurant within the Oaklands is a refreshing experience. It's obvious a great deal of tasteful consideration & effort has gone into all aspects from the kitchen to front of house.

Simple dishes presented well (fish & chips or even a meaty mixed grill) sit alongside more sophisticated flourishes, such as trout cheesecake with rhubarb, which made a wonderful starter worthy of any London kitchen. There is enough familiarity to ensure comfort, but also enough little touches of quality & adventurous departures from the norm to offer an interesting twist.

The wines on offer are similarly ranged, with an obvious bias towards taste, not snobbery. Several excellent blends (the Richelieus in particular) provide remarkably agile accompaniment across the menu without having to stray far from the top of the list.

Finally, the service strikes a welcoming balance between amiability & ability, so that details are attended to without any air of pretence or stuffiness. High standards successfully filter down from the senior staff to most junior.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience that I look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBRMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such kind comments regarding your recent visit. We take great pride in the level of food and service we offer our guests at The Comfy Duck and the Oaklands. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kindest regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 491 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have dined here as a family 3 time in the past year. The food and service during each visit has been top notch. I thouroughly recommend the Comfy Duck and will be using the restaurant again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewood1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Comfy Duck, we take great pride in the level of service and the quality in food that we offer and to see that you’re a retuning customer is fantastic.

Once again thank you for such kind comments.

Kindest Regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well what a welcome to this traditional hotel. All the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. From walking in Sat Lunch time to leaving Sunday Lunch time we have nothing but praise for all staff, they made our stay very enjoyable (so enjoyable when coom we go again)? The hotel room overlooked the beautiful garden where we sat in luxury enjoying a well earned break.Recommend for anyone one wanting a quality stay with excellent rooms, food and staff.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for an upgraded room, corner bath and fantastic view of gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, your comments have been passed to all departments. It gives us great pleasure when we get such great comments. I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in March at the Oaklands Hotel and whilst we thought nothing could compare to our actual wedding day, we were proved wrong! From start to finish, it was an evening to remember. Antipasti and champagne in the Long Lounge were followed by an absolutely faultless and delicious meal in the restaurant. As we have been in the restaurant trade ourselves, we wanted everything everything to run like clockwork and the excellent and attentive staff made sure that it did! Our wishes were followed to the letter and our guests had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Special thanks to Adam, our waiter for the evening, who went out of his way to make our evening so special!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieNEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such kind comments, I have passed these comments to all departments and a copy of your review on our staff board for all to see.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return in the future.

Kindest regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We as a couple don't go out that often due to work commitments, so this was a surprise for my husband. We had a table in the Comfy Duck restaurant, and both of us decided to have steak mmmmm delicious, my fillet was melt in the mouth and the peppercorn sauce just right!!
Put together with the bottle of house red in the meal deal, and a beautiful homemade chocolate fondant pudding topped a wonderful evening out.
The service was good, the staff attentive even though the restaurant was busy nothing too much trouble. Thank you to the whole team for making it a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience in The Comfy Duck, It’s great that you had a great night with us and enjoyed our steak night; it is very popular with our guests. Hopefully you will find time around work to come and see us again soon.

Kindest Regards
Richard Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We actually stayed 31st March - 1st April but couldn't select that date as we are now in April. We booked one night here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and stayed in the purple room in the old part of the hotel. After being checked in by the very friendly and welcoming staff we came up to our room which was very clean, warm and utterly beautiful. There is everything in the room you need for a short stay and our stay was very comfortable and relaxing.

We had a table booked in the restaurant with champagne on ice waiting for us which was beautiful, served to us by the very attentive staff. The food and presentation of everything was excellent and tasted as good as it looked. The staff were always available and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, they even offered to take some pictures and Jeff/Geoff? offered to sing to us. After our meal (which was proportioned perfectly) Jeff/Geoff then took some photos of us on the stairs as well as giving my wife some flowers which was a lovely thoughtful touch.

After a good night sleep we went down for breakfast, which again was lovely, open fire warming the room and everything laid out perfectly and attentive staff, who seem genuinely happy while serving you no pretences for etticate's sake which was a lovely.

Overall we would certainly recommend Oaklands Hall to anybody for a comfortable and relaxing break. Everywhere is pretty on the eye, the staff are fantastic, the room was brilliant and the food was equally brilliant. This will definitely be a memorable stay for us both.

Thank you to all at the Oaklands.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "old" part of the hotel which is a lot quieter but if you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Oaklands, it geat to hear that all areas of the hotel have impressed you during your stay, Jeff would like to thanks you personally for your kind comments and cant welcome you back soon enough.

If i can help with anything in the near future please do not hesitate to contact me

Kindest regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just held our wedding reception yesterday at The Oaklands Hall Hotel and we all have nothing but the highest praise for the staff, the service and the food that they serve, it's out of this world. From the moment we arrived at the venue, we had been introduced to our Master of Ceremonies so we knew who would be guiding us through the day, and every effort was made to allow our day to run as we wanted it to do. Every single member of staff were pleasant, helpful & professional. We held our reception in The Churchill Suite, which was absolutely beautiful and sympathetically re-furbished to suit the building and surroundings.
Most of our guests chose to stay overnight, all of which were impressed with their bedrooms and the quality of the breakfast (which included locally sourced produce).
We will definately be returning here again for future celebrations & to be honest, to see the staff again, as they are definately worth meeting again.

Room Tip: Check if there are evening functions available, as the staff will do their best to locate a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rmatthewsgm, General Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent Wedding Reception at the Oaklands, it was a pleasure to hold your special day with us and I cannot welcome you back soon enough.

Kindest regards
Richard Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laceby
3.0 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
429 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
201 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
3.4 mi away
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel

Address: Oaklands Hotel Barton Street, Laceby, Grimsby DN37 7LF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby > Laceby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Laceby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing