We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress”
Review of Magpies

Magpies
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Magpies Restaurant with Rooms is over two hundred years old and converted from three cottages. Owned by Caroline and Andrew Gilbert for seven years, this year they have added three deluxe ensuite bedrooms. They are members of 'Tastes of Lincolnshire' and use mainly locally sourced produce. They also provide afternoon tea.'The Magpies' is situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds in the old market town of Horncastle which is also famous for its antique shops.Lunch: Wed to Fri and SunDinner:Wed to Sun Aternoon tea: Wed to Sun The restaurant is open for Christmas Day and New Year.Closed Monday & Tuesday
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Recently went to a wine tasting evening at Magpies and oh what a fantastic night. Excellent wines introduced by the ever entertaining James Long to accompany fantastic food. Thank you all so much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    20
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasteless duck, overcooked scallops and sour-faced service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I REALLY wanted to like this place - as soon as walked in I was impressed with the building, decor and menu. Two out of three people who greeted us on entering were welcoming and friendly - the other I just put down to forgetting to smile as a one-off.

The food was beautifully presented. I had the scallops with black pudding, and duck breast with haggis for main. My two scallops were overcooked and a chewy. The duck was flavourless and overcooked despite me asking for it pink. The saving grace was the assiette of desserts - huge portions of trifle, cappucino mousse and rasberry souffle. Enormous and very very tasty!

Service, staff attitudes and professionalism make up a huge part of the dining experience. This place just wasn't up to scratch. The sour-faced woman who couldn't muster a single smile when serving or clearing our tables was infuriating. Not a word was uttered from her mouth. Nor did any of the staff ask whether our food was alright or whether we had enjoyed our meal. The sour-faced lady in question, who I can only presume to be the manager, was at the front desk when we left. She muttered bye without even raising her head to acknowledge us. If indeed she is the proprietor of this restaurant she should be ashamed of the example she is setting for her staff, particularly with a table who has just spend £400 walking out of her door and certainly never to return.

Overall summary - £42 for 3 courses is pricey for this area - indeed these are London prices, but without the quality in food or service. Unfriendly staff and poor service is just another reason not to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank zzjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a surprising location”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came from London to Horncastle for a family meal at Magpies. The welcome was warm and very friendly. The food was high quality and well executed with friendly attentive service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sambowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special occasion delight!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The only disappointing aspect of the meal experience at Magpies was the uninviting reception of staff not being able to conjure up a smile on arrival. We were greeted with a lovely amuse bouche and the quaint atmosphere was perfect for a family birthday. When our designated waiter brought our starters our initial impression was changed. He was friendly, polite and very helpful. The food was wonderful. I couldn't fault the way it was cooked and presented!!! We all had a wonderful evening. It's not the cheapest of restaurants but well worth a visit for special occasions or if ur rich and can afford it all the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 00WorldTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday treat on a Friday evening In May. From the moment we walked through the door we knew the evening was going to be a wonderful dining experience, the atmosphere was warm and friendly and the decor was beautiful. The food was amazing and we especially enjoyed the in between appetisers that were complimentary to the meal they were just exquisite. The night was expensive but you get what you pay for and it was worth every penny. We will definitely be returning soon because so far no other dining experience has come close to the Magpies. A totally wonderful night thank you

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisedshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpies also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing