We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Magpies

Magpies
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Magpies Restaurant with Rooms is over two hundred years old and converted from three cottages. Owned by Caroline and Andrew Gilbert for seven years, this year they have added three deluxe ensuite bedrooms. They are members of 'Tastes of Lincolnshire' and use mainly locally sourced produce. They also provide afternoon tea.'The Magpies' is situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds in the old market town of Horncastle which is also famous for its antique shops.Lunch: Wed to Fri and SunDinner:Wed to Sun Aternoon tea: Wed to Sun The restaurant is open for Christmas Day and New Year.Closed Monday & Tuesday
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

great service and staff , well done.We went for Christmas Day lunch , quite clearly a busy day , the food was still spot on and the service impeccable .

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank raticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    19
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Fine dining with warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from dining at Magpie's on a Saturday night and it was lovely! The food was absolutely delicious and rivalled some swanky London restaurants. The menu is imaginative and I can't imagine any real foodie being disappointed. Although it was very quiet, the atmosphere was warm, welcoming and calm. Caroline and David explained everything in great detail and were a perfect mixture of restraint and friendliness. I never thought I would say this, but the Skegness Blue Cheese I had was gorgeous! If you are looking for unusual choices like wild boar, muntjac venison etc it's worth making the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Food is excellent but it is so quiet and there is no atmosphere with other guests so close you cannot have a conversation without being over heard. Suprised they are still like this after all this time. It prevents us going there. Shame!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonRIchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent - great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visited for lunch midweek when the restaurant was very quiet - only one other couple dining. However we were warmly welcomed and shown into the lounge where we were soon settled with an aperitif. Some delicious canapes arrived whilst we were perusing the menu and it was not long before we were enjoying a well-executed two course meal for £20. The bread rolls were freshly baked and as well as wholemeal and white there were two unusual combinations on offer (which I now can't quite remember). A "Best of British" starter of a cone of fish and chips, a prawn cocktail and sausages and mash was great fun, attractively served and very tasty. Main courses included loin of pork, chicken, fish and a vegetarian risotto. The pudding menu looked tempting but we couldn't manage any more! Coffee in the lounge was served with handmade chocolates that could be purchased to take away. There are three bedrooms available for B & B guests which looked lovely in the brochure we were offered to take away. I would definitely recommend this restaurant should you be in the Horncastle area. Lots of antiques shops nearby to browse in before or after lunch! Also open for dinner and some special theme nights were advertised.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sisteriris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Some people seem to feel this restaurant a bit posh and yes I wouldn't go there in jeans, but I have seen others, but I love it. The food is the best in Horncastle and while the wine list can be expensive, you get what you pay for! the house wines are very reasonable. 2 courses for £20 at lunch plus lovely nibbles with drinks is NOT expensive in my view. Dinner is up to £40+ but is well worth it especially when you get to the puds. Try it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank galensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpies also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing