We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magpies

Magpies
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Magpies Restaurant with Rooms is over two hundred years old and converted from three cottages. Owned by Caroline and Andrew Gilbert for seven years, this year they have added three deluxe ensuite bedrooms. They are members of 'Tastes of Lincolnshire' and use mainly locally sourced produce. They also provide afternoon tea.'The Magpies' is situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds in the old market town of Horncastle which is also famous for its antique shops.Lunch: Wed to Fri and SunDinner:Wed to Sun Aternoon tea: Wed to Sun The restaurant is open for Christmas Day and New Year.Closed Monday & Tuesday
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had wonderful food excellent wine and a most comfortable stay.
Nothing was too much trouble, Highly recommended.
We will come again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    19
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“ABOSULTELY AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was a most amaziing experience from the warm friendly welcome to saying 'good night'. The attention to detail - excellent, the presentation of the tables was pure class, the service was first class and the food exquisite! We will definately be going back. We stayed over night at the Magpie and the room was superb - purple room has an amazing bathroom, it was very comfortable and the attention to detail once agian - first class. Thank you to the whole team, cannot wait to return!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clowny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't fault it !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great classy restaurant, good food, superb customer service - what more can I say ?!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theddlethorpe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Utter pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had an anniversary meal in this delightful restaurant, our second visit. Again, a wonderful meal served in an efficient & calm, professional manner, with friendly staff and an atmosphere in the place that gave that reassuring impression that everyone in the restaurant was having a very enjoyable evening. No pretention, just super food & a great evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank excrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The food and service was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have been going to the Magpies for several years now. Went this Saturday and have to say the food and service was fantastic. We loved everything about it, and cannot praise the place enough. Some may say that it is overpriced, we say 'you get what you pay for'.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpies also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing