We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it !!”
Review of Magpies

Magpies
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Magpies Restaurant with Rooms is over two hundred years old and converted from three cottages. Owned by Caroline and Andrew Gilbert for seven years, this year they have added three deluxe ensuite bedrooms. They are members of 'Tastes of Lincolnshire' and use mainly locally sourced produce. They also provide afternoon tea.'The Magpies' is situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds in the old market town of Horncastle which is also famous for its antique shops.Lunch: Wed to Fri and SunDinner:Wed to Sun Aternoon tea: Wed to Sun The restaurant is open for Christmas Day and New Year.Closed Monday & Tuesday
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't fault it !!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great classy restaurant, good food, superb customer service - what more can I say ?!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    20
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Theddlethorpe
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Utter pleasure!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had an anniversary meal in this delightful restaurant, our second visit. Again, a wonderful meal served in an efficient & calm, professional manner, with friendly staff and an atmosphere in the place that gave that reassuring impression that everyone in the restaurant was having a very enjoyable evening. No pretention, just super food & a great evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank excrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The food and service was fantastic!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have been going to the Magpies for several years now. Went this Saturday and have to say the food and service was fantastic. We loved everything about it, and cannot praise the place enough. Some may say that it is overpriced, we say 'you get what you pay for'.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magpies should have a Michelin Star”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have dinned in many restaurants that offer fine food & certainly all in Linc's area and for its intimate yet relaxed atmosphere with imaginative fine food this is the one to beat. For what you get and how you get it Magpies offers excellent value. We keep trying the others but come back as often as we can to the Magpies.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very, very nice food at a price but it's all quality

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpies also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing