We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has everything you need for a fabulous stay...”
other travelers have booked this property
South Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Cottage
Eat breakfast al fresco on the patio from the garden room whilst watching the cows and calves Welcome to South Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
South Cottage
Eat breakfast al fresco on the patio from the garden room whilst watching the cows and calves
Welcome to South Cottage
The living area
Main bedroom in South with a king bed
Looking through to the second bedroom
Second bedroom with twin beds
Main bathroom in South
Separate corner shower unit in the bathroom
Fantastic rain shower
South Cottage garden room
Tennis court for you to use when staying in the cottages only 70m away
The beach hut at Sandilands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pacca9996...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Has everything you need for a fabulous stay ... and more!”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Comfortable, well-equipped and conveniently-located, South Cottage is my favourite of all the holiday lets we have stayed in over the years. It has everything you need, plus extra thoughtful little touches, making it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the lovely Lincolnshire countryside. Spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, there's ample parking, lashings of hot water and stunning views. The extremely pleasant owners have got it just right. This was our second visit, but it definitely won't be our last!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for such a glowing report and we are delighted you will be returning. John and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you Eileen for such a great review. It was a pleasure hosting you over the Easter break and delighted you were able to appreciate the peace and tranquility of Bainvalley Cottages. Keep your eyes peeled for any special deals we offer from time to time on our website and hopefully it won't be too long before you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elaineand...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our weeks stay at Bainvalley cottage (south) was wonderful. Everything you could possibly need was to hand and we were lucky enough to have beautiful sunshine for most of the week. The surrounding scenery (and cattle) provided a relaxing base for exploring this wonderful area. Thanks to the owners for providing us with an ideal 'home' for the week! I would highly recommend Bainvalley for a pleasant stay in Lincolnshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you Elaine and Malcolm it was a delight to have you and we are so pleased Lincolnshire put on its best side for you. Perhaps we may see you again another year?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
568259
London suburbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very good stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the North Cottage.

It was homely, well-equipped and peaceful. We had takeaways from Horncastle a couple of nights and cooked for ourselves for the rest of the time without any problems. It was well located for lots of things - we were amazed how much there was to do within the area. The local leisure centre in Louth has a very good pool for young kids - it's highly recommended if the weather is rubbish. When it got cold one night, we used the log burner to stay warm, which was fun.

The other two properties were also occupied, but we didn't hear a peep from anyone the whole time we were there. The kids slept like logs and so did we. Must have been the countryside air.

All in all - excellent.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you for such kind words - perhaps you will recommend us to friends and return one day
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWLincs
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped and very comfortable”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was clean and comfortable with everything we could want. .Lovely views and peaceful setting.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V6764AKba...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage has everything required for a great trip away”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were travelling with my elderly mother who agreed that she could make the trip up the stairs! She loved the place. Wendy did anything needed for our comfort! We had a warm welcome with home made biscuits! The village is lovely and other areas nearby has nice pubs for meals. Fully recommend the place for a relaxing trip away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcome peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Well equipped and comfortable,cosy cottage in a great location. Friendly and obliging owner who gave tips on where to eat -some great gastro pubs nearby.
Lots of things to do and places to visit within a short drive. Lincoln is a must and some lovely beaches to walk with the dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility - superb views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing