We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and wine”
Review of The Durham Ox Pub

The Durham Ox Pub
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of the Lincolnshire Wolds, a short distance from the picturesque market town of Horncastle. The Durham Ox is a charming, welcoming country pub, with friendly staff. Our traditional Sunday lunch is always very popular as are our bar meals. A full restaurant menu is available in our restaurant, which is cooked to perfection by our chef and we always try to source our food as locally as we can. Booking is always advisable. Come and warm up next to our roaring log fire, have a pint or two in our 'RAF corner' or perhaps a bar meal in the 'cow shed', a glass of wine in our garden, or why not treat yourself to a fabulous meal in our delightful restaurant. Which ever you choose you are always guaranteed a very warm welcome. Did we mention we also have a registered caravan site? Why not bring your caravan or motorhome and stay with us a little longer. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Faultless steak and wine on a Thursday.
Great service Jacqui and Co are marvellous hosts.
Will definitely be back for more.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank norahstwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Visited this pub with friends, brilliant service (though we were a little difficult altering our menu choices) staff were lovely and very accommodating. Food was delicious with great portions and good prices. The pub itself was lovely and had a cosy atmosphere. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

An old friend came up to visit me from Hertfordshire for the weekend so I wanted to show her how lovely the Lincolnshire Wolds are and after reading the website for the Durham Ox I alsopromised her a lovely lunch and a warm welcome for the dogs (one very quiet greyhound and one very quiet ancient miniature dachshund) in a dog friendly pub called the Durham Ox. What a disappointment!! The only area dogs are allowed is a very small conservatory with just 3 tables. All 3 tables were full and only the people at 1 table had a dog with them! The pub was virtually empty and there was one table right next to the door of the conservatory. We asked if it would be possible to have a meal there, but were told quite abruptly that dogs were only allowed in the room at the back or at the bar. (High stools and not possible to eat there) We were advised that we should have booked. In a pub of this size which advertises itself as dog friendly, I think that more than 3 tables could have been made available. Anyway we drove back towards Lincoln and had a delicious meal and warm welcome at the Ferry Boat in Washingborough. I would definitely NOT recommend the Durham Ox, especially for people with dogs. Will not be going back.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 814Glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
483jacquiw, Owner at The Durham Ox Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Thank you for your review.

The day of your visit to us was bank holiday Monday and we was very busy and most of our tables where reserved by customers who had booked. I’m not sure which website you looked at but ours does not mention anywhere on it that we are dog friendly. We do allow dogs in and they are most welcome in the following areas: the beer garden, the bar and the gin room. We did at one time also allow them in the cow shed area but we received complaints from other diners saying that they did not wish to come out for a meal and have to sit next to dogs. You correctly stated that we do only have 3 indoor tables (8 seats) in the gin room which is available for diners with dogs. On your visit all of these tables where being used by customers (who had rang and reserved these tables) all of whom had dogs (the table of 4 had 2 little terrier dogs, which perhaps you couldn’t see as they where nestled quietly under the table and the the table for 2 had a large crossbreed dog).
I’m sorry you was disappointed not to be able to get a table but we do always advise customers to book, especially at busy times like weekends and bank holidays.
I do think your review of 1 star is a little harsh when you take into account that you didn’t actually dine with us. We are a family run village pub and reviews are very important to us and our business. I understand you was disappointed and we was disappointed that we could not serve you but it would appear that we cannot please everyone no matter how hard we try.

Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

we have eaten here twice now and both times the meal was lovely, staff are very friendly and helpful,i have recommended it to friends.i will eat there again

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank birthdaygirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

We have tried other venues around this area, but we were very impressed with the standard of the meals of which there was many to choose from.the staff were attentive and very pleasant,The meals were just enough not overloaded like many places we have been to.lovely atmosphere, will definitely go again and take our friends.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Farrowlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Durham Ox Pub also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Durham Ox Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing