We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being back in Thailand”

Thai Dining & Riverside Grill
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Thai Dining and Riverside Grill where we invite you to take a relaxing journey around our delicious menus featuring authentic, traditional Thai dishes, with a unique modern twist. Enjoy our freshly prepared curries cooked to your own personal taste (you choose the heat!), delicious, succulent stir fries, or our mouth-watering selection of special grills and seafood All our dishes are full of flavour and prepared using fresh, seasonal quality produce from trusted local suppliers. Tell us about your favourite foods and ingredients, or those you prefer to avoid, and as part of our Taster Menu we will create a five-course surprise feast of starters, main dishes and desert (plus a few extra special treats) cooked just for you! We are open for dinner and takeaway from 5pm- 11pm ( last orders 8.45pm) We are also open for lunch on Thursday,Friday,Saturday 12-2.30pm
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like being back in Thailand”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went last night for the early bird dinner, 7.50 for a 2 course meal, fantastic value. I had the chicken satay which is the best I have had outside Thailand, we also had the Thai fishcakes which were moist and really tasty. Main courses where the Massaman chicken curry which again was really well presented and tasty but the star for me was the chicken rendang, really spicy and so much there I had to ask for the left overs to be taken home. Make sure you book though, there are only 4 tables, brilliant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raycouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello
It was great to meet you and your partner and am so pleased you had a nice eve with us, we will welcome you back at anytime.
Rgds Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    18
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very delicious”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Budgeting, we'd planned to grab a 'beat the clock' offer at Shakesby's next door, which we've visited & enjoyed a couple of times but forgot that's a weekday only deal. Next door is this fabulous little find, with comparable prices. Fate can be a fantastic thing!
We didn't know what to think. It's tiny ! (But its food is perfectly formed! ) & then the beautifully skilled co chef/owner said they didn't have a restroom, but they had an arrangement with the pub across the road!
My mother can be less keen on asian foods. This was all a very unknown quantity.
But we needn't have worried. THIS PLACE IS VERY, VERY GOOD! I can still savour it over a week later. I had a chicken & peanut curry & my mother a salmon stir fry. Delicious pork amuse bouche were a lovely surprise & an exciting trailer for the main feature. Lovely, huge chunks of fish. She is a convert! What a refreshing & welcome interruption to normal service!
Quality is clearly chief priority to the owner - & he has the right approach. He correctly sees that his culinary attention to detail will grow his business through word of mouth. He has done very well to be tripadvisor's no 1 in Horncastle because Shakesby's & Magpies are both established & good but this high quality Thai restaurant (growing from being a take away) complements them very well & is very reasonably priced.
Waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Very pleasant. Beautifully dressed!
Excellent. Don't be put off by the toilet thing. Relaxed, intimate, BYO.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abfrasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello
Thanks for your review I am so pleased that we managed to make your visit with us a good experiance, and we hope to see you again next time your in Horncastle.
Kind Rgds
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thai-rrific :)”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Saturday night; date night with my hubby. Stepped inside at 8pm from the cold into a small, steamy restaurant. On first impressions I was taken back by the size although this definitely did not make for an awkward atmosphere. The waitress was friendly and polite and immediately placed a wine cooler on the table for my fav wine, which I had brought with me.

We ordered the starter sharing platter. Devine. The fish cakes were especially beautiful. 3 sauces accompanied this which added to each mouthful.

For main we ordered Duck green curry and Chicken red curry with endless sticky rice. Sharing a bit of each highlighted the fantastic flavours in each dish. Cooked at a lovely heat to tantalise the taste buds.

The only downside to the restaurant is the lack of toilets. My husband ran across the road to the pub although obviously it's not ideal. This did not take away from the superb meal, atmosphere and experience.

We will definitely be returning to try more dishes. In fact it's probably quite dangerous as we discovered they also deliver!! :)

Helpful?
Thank 00WorldTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi
Love the heading name Thai-rrific! we are happy that we managed to make your eve fun and that you enjoyed the food service etc..
We hope to see you again very soon
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Cosy, welcoming restaurant with superb Thai food. The ambience is great and the chef/owner made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Delia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello
Thanks for the taking the time to write a review we are pleased that you had a nice eve and hope that you join us again soom
Kind Rgds
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good, I'm going again! ! ”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem of Horncastle. Excellent food, superbly cooked and served and the prices are great too.

I had the Thai fish cakes for starters which were the best I have ever had followed by a very nice Penang Chicken Curry with coconut rice.. mmm mmm..spicy and very tasty! !

Helpful?
2 Thank eurodat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi
Thanks for your review we are so pleased you had a nice time and look forward to you coming back to see us soon
Rgds
Phil & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Dining & Riverside Grill also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Thai Dining & Riverside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing