We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have eaten here several times and the food never fails to deliver. The service is good although on busy nights understandably slower. The decor is modern and light with a relaxed atmosphere which makes eating there enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    306
    106
    38
    21
See reviews for
152
349
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

There were 8 of us on a golf tour and this hotel was very suitable for our requirements - close to Woodhall Spa golf complex. It was a bit dated (décor, carpets, lift, etc) but overall well presented. The staff were really good on the whole though we got some lousy advise from one receptionist when we asked about somewhere else to eat (she rubbished everywhere, especially Shakesby's saying it was expensive with small portions .... we went there, twice, and it was outstanding on all counts!).
Beds were not comfortable - very soft matresses. Breakfast was excellent and served in a big, open seating area that had a huge roof lantern making it light and airy. We ate there twice and it was ok.
So, overall, it was good enough for what we needed - price was okay too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. Our dog-friendly ground floor room was spacious and comfortable. Nice touches like fresh bottled water each day. We dined in the restaurant on Friday night, food was good but not outstanding. Breakfasts tasty and freshly cooked to order. Shower was easy to operate but unfortunately the temperature fluctuated. Some noise from room above not the fault of guests but because floors very noisy creaky floorboards.

Room Tip: Ideal for dog owners no difficult stairs as dog rooms all ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Admiral Rodney Hotel for the annual Horncastle Regency Festival, part of which took place in the Hotel. (We stayed here last year too). Our room was lovely and big, with an excellent shower. As we were at the back, it was quiet too.

Breakfast was good, with lots of choice for the main course, including smoked salmon, vegetarian and other choices. No porridge though. Service was delivered with a smile, although it was sometimes a bit slow. I guess we city types may expect too much in such a nice leisurely place!

For the Festival banquet, the hotel rustled up a suitably authentic Regency meal for us, which was enjoyed by everyone.

Reception staff were also helpful, finding us an interesting place for a country lunch.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back are in a new annexe, and are spacious, quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been to the restaurant a many times over the years, and also attended meetings/functions. However, by large the building is still lovely, the staff were still pleasant. However, the food night again was terrible and probably the worst restaurant food I’ve had in years. There were two of us for a last minute late dinner. We purchased drinks from the bar (a glass of lemonade and a pint of tom woods) and asked at the restaurant if we could have a table (just before 9pm). The restaurant was busy, however there were plenty of tables free, however the waitress wanted to seat us in the entrance from the bar until we asked about being seated at another table. We only had a main course as it was getting late. It must be noted that prices have increased recently.
Overcooked grilled salmon on bed of stewed sloppy vegetables (onions mostly with the odd carrot stick) with - what I think might have meant to be a balsamic dressing…… I was very hungry, cost £15. .. our value £4-5
Overcooked fat of pork (over half was pure fat)- purely not edible, however the sauce was good. Price £15, our value – £2 for sauce.
Side vegetables with potatoes- very disappointing, vegetable were adequate but not really any imagination of variety or season, and potatoes where simply boiled.
I asked the waitress to take away the Tom Woods (as this was off)- PLEASE NEVER TRY TO DRINK REAL ALE IN THIS PUB-ALWAYS TERRIBLE- THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO KEEP BEER), and asked for a glass of merlot to eat with dinner. The waitress did not take this off the bill! – just terrible
Good points: Lovely building, nice re-fit of bar area, staff pleasant.
Bad points: Appalling overpriced food (by restaurants standards).
Nve

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and our staff members.

We normally receive positive feedback concerning our food and our new menu has been very well received. I would like to offer my apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have many regular real ale drinkers who appreciate the quality of our beer so your comments do come as a bit of a surprise. It is a shame that you did not notify us at the time of your visit as our duty manager would have resolved your issues immediately.

Kind Regards
General Manager Alison Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited this hotel as part of a golf trip via Woodall Spa . Rooms comfortable enough but it was the food which seriously let this hotel down.We had a deal which included a choice of 3 starters , 3 mains and 3 deserts . The portions were incredidbly small and by the time we got to dessert the choice had gone to two , paying extra for cheese and biscuits wasn't an option and we couldn't finsih off with a coffee due to " its after 9 so we have truned the machine off " !! None of were sure what the vegetables were which were served with the meal and the only thing to distinguish them was the clours of white , green and orange - they all tasted the same which was bland and wet. I had higher hopes for breakfast which wasn't a lot better and they had run out of mushrooms , slightly annoying when you consider there was a supermarket opposite the hotel - too difficlut to go and purchase a few ? The staff were pleasant enouogh but I can't see any of us rushing back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome and help on arrival and then upgraded.
A lovely interior and comfy bed, clean rooms. Although it has a town location it has a large car park to the rear. Seating in the bar is very comfy and all staff were smart and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webboand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
5.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
391 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
15.3 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,062 reviews
16.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: North Street, Horncastle LN9 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horncastle
Horncastle Best Western
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing