We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed a weekend, 2nd and 3rd of March, on a KGB deal two-night Lincolnshire break for two at The Best Western Admiral Rodney Hotel. In our experience sometimes deals are offered on tired hotels that have seen better days. The Best Western Admiral Rodney Hotel however does not fall into this category. The premises benefits from a recent facelift, and we found the food for both Breakfast and Dinner perfectly acceptable.
Our room was a generous size and well appointed. My wife particularly appreciated the quilted toilet paper - a luxury indeed!
The hotel is well located in Horncastle, which in turn makes an excellent base to explore the Lincolnshire countryside

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank svbeatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    290
    104
    36
    21
See reviews for
142
332
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed three nights from 17th February. This is a rather old fashioned, very traditional English hotel. Our room was large, comfortably furnished, tea and coffee making facilities etc. Bathroom was on the small side but fine. Nice White Company toiletries. Plenty of hot water. Beds were a bit soft but comfortable.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
Breakfast was good.
Dinner was not so impressive. They had had a wedding on the day of our arrival so not everythning was available.
Overall a good stay and I would be happy to stay again.
SatNav a complete pain!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyndavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Four of us visited for coffee and, like other reviewers, were tempted to have the carvery lunch. As it was too early at that time, and we wanted to look around Horncaste, the waitress booked a table for us and asked if we would like the same table we had for coffee, which was a nice touch. The food was very good, the meat extremely tender and all the vegetables were just right. There was a limited choice of pudding but the food was fine. The staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bostonian172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

today i met a friend for coffee here, while we talked the staff started to prepare for lunch and the tables around us filled with people, then they were walking past us with plates of wonderful smelling food from the carvery, we could'nt resist and were both very pleased we had'nt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel in Horncastle was very accomodating. The rooms were nice and overall decor of the hotel was lovely. The main thing was the staff were very helpful and accomodated everything we asked for. Food in the restaurant was good too. Also good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for the night for a wedding. One of the nicest hotels I've been to in this country. Staff were excellent. Rooms clean. Food excellent ( especially the Yorkie puds ) Felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winofrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ate at the Admiral Rodney to day was seated for a while and could not seem to get served the staff would look at us but no more. I had to asked a fellow diner did i need to order at the bar and was told yes and that they had made the same mistake, if there is a sign telling us this then i could not find it.
The food arrived in twenty minutes and was really good the setting was very nice to.
However at no point were we ask if we were ok or did we need more drinks an easy sale"missed"
There were plenty of staff and not that many diners by now.
Come guys its called the hospitality industry for a reason .
Will we go back YES the food saved you .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our food and ambience at the Rodney Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the lack of information on the day of your visit. We have taken immediate steps to ensure all guests are fully informed and looked after from their arrival to departure. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Admiral Rodney Hotel

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alison Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
5.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
898 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
389 reviews
5.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
156 reviews
13.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
15.3 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: North Street, Horncastle LN9 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horncastle
Horncastle Best Western
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing