We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakesby's

Shakesby's
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

It is the first time we have visited the restaurant , and we weren't disappointed. The menu was not overwhelming and it gives lots of choice.
The starters were very very good and presentation exceptional. The mains again were very good with a good selectin of menu choice. The deserts were just brilliant !!! A lovely resturant

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    48
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Family Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

An excellent evening was had at Shakesbys for our party of eleven,, from start to finish it was faultless. everybody had a fantastic time. Could not recommend enough. Food was amazing and the service from all the staff was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining, wonderful setting and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I visited here on a recommendation from friends and it lived up to the hype.

Starter was partridge which was outstanding. Main was lamb, again outstanding and washed down with Argentinian Malbec.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have visited this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. The food is beautiful, I can especially recommend the steak stuffed with Lincolnshire Poacher cheese - it's to die for! There is a very nice, small seating area for pre dinner drinks and the Early Bird menu is excellent value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coningsby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Works Do To Remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were saying goodbye to a retiring colleague and wanted somewhere local. Shakesbys has long been a favourite of mine but I hadn't been in a while so didn't know what to expect.
We had the back room for our party of 15 and it was nicely laid out to accomodate us.
We ordered from the beat the clock menu and it was all totally delicious.
I had a lush chicken liver pate followed by a Lamb and rosemary hash (like a mini hotpot but lighter and fresher) then a flourless chocolate torte which was so intense it made my head spin.
Over all a really good meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhippo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakesby's also viewed

 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Shakesby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing