We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good english pub with bed and breakfast”
Review of The Bull Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horncastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Horncastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided to visit Horncaslte " antique hunting". Lovely day decided to stay the night. We entered the Bull and asked for a room. They had one, and we were shown a very nice and comfortable room. Good bathroom t.v. tea and coffee and good decor. It was a cold day but the room was warm. We ate in the restuarant in the evening, had a very good meal and friendly staff. We were staying in an english pub but the room was so quite. Breakfast was very enjoyable.
This is a middle of town hotel, comfortable, friendly staff, good value for money. We intend to "antique hunt" again in Horncastle.....so a night at the Bull it will be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for The Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean friendly, quirky lovely old building
Reasonably priced

Really enjoyable stay
Convenient location
Staff very helpful and breakfast of good quality
Very diffiocult to find accommodation in Horncastle that was less than £80 so all my internet surfing was worth it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed one night and very impressed by the overall quality of service and by the friendliness of the people running the hotel. Got the impression they're very ready to go that extra mile to make your stay as good as it can be. And the breakfast was truly delicious. It's an old pub with lots of character and is excellent value for money. I've stayed in a lot of places which have charged a lot more and not delivered anywhere near as good a service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've eaten at The Bull a few times as it is fairly local to us. The food is always excellent - beautifully cooked and plentiful. The reason I've finally got round to doing a review is because we had lunch here on Christmas Day - and it was fantastically good. We had the menu a few weeks before Christmas and made our choice from it (I've now lost the menu and can;t recall what all the options were - sorry). There was the usual turkey and all the trimmings, beef (which we had) and two other choices, including vegetarian.
We arrived and Sloe Gin was brought out; going through to the dining room we were given a glass of bubbly which was not the usual rubbish you get at other places. We had prawn cocktail starter which was really good - we also had a taste of the fantastic smoked salmon - a proper piece of fish and not just a sliver. There were other starters but I can't recall what they were (sorry again). We had the beef with lots of beautifully cooked veg, spuds, etc etc I'm not much of a veg fan but even I ate the carrots and parsnips because they were so luscious. The local beef was absolutely excellent - perfectly cooked and it makes my mouth water just to think of it. We had chosen the Christmas pudding for sweet and this was amazing - a properly home made pudding - no freezer or microwave involved here! We were then presented with a really good cheeseboard with choice of port & sherry, then mince pies (warmed) coffee, mints, truffles and finally a lovely satsuma to clean up our overloaded palates.
The service was excellent - really really good. The staff are friendly and just stay so calm even when really busy. Their timing is great - you don't get rushed but you don't sit around waiting ages for the next course.
Many thanks to all at The Bull for making our Christmas Day so good.
It's fair to say that we will definitely be booking for next Christmas and will be making more trips to the Bull before then.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went to this hotel with friends who had booked it. They had advised the hotel that we were doing a motorcycle trackday at Cadwell Park the following day and would be leaving very early, infact too early for breakfast so breakfast was not required. Cadwell Park is very close by and I am absolutely certain that the hotel would know what a trackday was. You need a good night sleep before a trackday - believe me. Arrived at hotel approx 7.15pm, checked in and went down for dinner. No problem so far. Finished dinner, had a couple of drinks in lively bar and we all went to bed at approx 10.30 in readiness for an early start. Unbeknown to us, the hotel has a late bar/disco on a Saturday night and loud music and voices including bad language was evident until after 2.00am. None of us slept until after this time. Not happy - will never return. Not recommended if you intend to do a track day or want a decent nights sleep. One of our group even thought he had seen a mouse in his room - whether this was for real or a lack of sleep halucination I do not know.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here recently - Bed really comfortable, room clean. Corridors wonky as expectd fin a very old building. Evening meal was very tasty and beautifully cooked. Courtyard is great place to relaxe, Staff pleasent and attentive. We had booked several week earlier for a stop over before we did a track day at cadwell park, we had six friends with us, the reason for the poor review however was that there had been no communication that there was a late licence till 02:00, our room was directley above the bar and the music and singing was very lound until 2....., mid week will be good BUT not on a week end.. :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Called in looking for a bar snack on a Sunday lunchtime and were disappointed to find only the carvery was available. It was more of a meal than we had in mind, but went for it anyway - right decision! Beautiful beef and pork, lovely crunchy roast potatoes, excellent vegetables. Friendly, helpful staff and overall, good value indeed.

We were sitting outside with a cup of coffee afterwards and it was nice to be able to sit in the covered area while a thunderstorm rumbled around, and torrential rain fell.

I enjoyed the visit and the food very much indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lawdylawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
5.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
961 reviews
21.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
403 reviews
15.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bull Ring, Horncastle LN9 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Horncastle
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing