We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great service”
Review of Wania Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Wania Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always great service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've been to Wania a few times - spotted its 'drink promotion' one day - Stella and Stella Cidre at £2 a pint - brilliant! The food is generally fine, although the last couple of times we've been its actually seemed even better. I had a curry which didn't contain much meat the last time but they knocked a bit off our bill and were so apologetic.
We went again tonight and enjoyed the Chicken Tikka and Chaat for starters (the Chaat is lovely), and two lovely mains.
Its really light and open, clean, and you are made to feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disaster!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As per the previous couple of reviews, my husband and I went on 15th July to celebrate their 1st Anniversary with a pre-paid discount voucher. We had booked our table, as required. On arrival there were a few empty tables but we were told it would be at least 10 mins. So we waited and I ordered some drinks. The waiter got an order for 2 drink wrong 3 times!!! We eventually got a table after finally getting the right drinks and having watched other parties of 2 and larger coming in and be seated immediately. We then waited 10 mins for plates to be provided for the buffet. There were no starters and the rest of the food looked awful. I asked for a refund and we walked out. I cannot possible comment on what the food tasted like as I did not stay long enough to eat, although in the time it took to get to the food, we could have had 2 courses in a nice restaurant!!!
I guess you get what you pay for when you go for bottom of the pile, my mistake but I won't make it again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fay_288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I have never seen anything like this before,..”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Wania on its 1st year celebration with my daughters. It has been an wonderful feelings. Kids had complementary Heena tattoo, bangles. They ware traditional Indian dress and all these for free. Then we joined the lunch. Loved all the food. A lots of item for a non buffet restaurant. Very busy restaurant. Me & my daughters had great time. Looking forward for their next year celebrations.

All the best Wania.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rebbeca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant packed staff could not cope”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We went to Wanni on the 15th food was cold plates cold asked for a glass of white wine they had run out ended up with 2 glasses of water we saw people come in and leave they did not stay for food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“needs to improve to retain custom”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A group of six went on Sunday, 15th to celebrate their 1st anniversary using discount vouchers. The place was packed with similar people who wanted to celebrate the anniversary too. The restaurant tried a buffet style meal but there was no starters, the main courses were cold, very limited in choice and very ordinary. They admitted that they are not geared up for a buffet and normally would cook directly off the menu. They were overwhelmed with the people who took up the offer but most people leaving clearly had not an enjoyable experience.

The drinks were amongst the cheapest I have ever seen in a restaurant but we had to wait 30 minutes for these to be served.

We will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneybroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wania Indian Restaurant also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing