We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Perfect Already Booked For Next Year...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horncastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greetham Retreat Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well, this lovely holiday retreat was recommended by a colleague. When we booked there was only Laura's Loft left (there's a tongue twister :-) ) so we booked it.

The booking process was so easy and seamless.

On arrival for our week's holiday we were met with a friendly Rob and he gave us an excellent introduction on where things were. It was so well presented we remembered just about everything. Let me make it clear, it wasn't "do this and don't do that", but genuine information and really helpful.

Also, Rob gave us a choice of a nice bottle of wine. :-)

There is a an area in the complex for lots of information, DVDs (to borrow), books and chill on comfy out to watch a different TV if required.

Rob took us into Laura's Loft which is beautifully decorated. Now, I'm 6'3" and a big guy, but I can assure you, although Laura's Loft is quite bijou, everything you would want is there. A lovely living area with large LCD TV, DVD player, nicely fitted kitchen with wonderful oven, hob and dishwasher. Perfect for two people and as a big guy, I had no issues at all.

The bedroom has all the facilities you would want and the bathroom although again bijou has a lovely whirlpool bath. In fact after a couple of long walks it was welcome to calm the muscles back down.

I stay in hotels for many nights in the year due to my business. I feel that many hotels could learn a lot about quality and service from Greetham Retreat as it was like staying in a good hotel suite.

There are plenty of areas outside by the small lake to sit and relax and read with a glass of wine. Although really I think most people will use it as a base to go and visit other areas in Lincolnshire.

What we really like is this was a chance to really switch off, The proprietors allow you to get on with your holiday and if you need anything, they would be there.

Well, I am sure there are many other positive things I could add, but I will give others a chance.

We loved it so much we booked for next year.

Room Tip: Laura Loft is up a flight of self contained stairs, so may be a problem with people that have proble...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Greetham Retreat Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 219 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just had our second stay within a month. Jeanette & Rob are amazing hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The Cottages are superb. If you need a relaxing break and enjoy the countryside Greetham Retreat is the perfect place. We took our easy chairs to the very top of the hill and spent three or four hours at a time up there just taking in the wonderful view, and it was so relaxing. Also ideally situated to get out and about. Perfect place to stay if you are interested in visiting East Kirby to see Lancaster Bomber Just Jane doing her famous Taxy Runs. The Holistic Therapies are also amazing. Can't wait to return again next August. Would highly recommend Greetham Retreat to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had been here in April 2013. My partner is (quite) mobility impaired and the literature that this was "disabled friendly" moved me to book. Fabulous accommodation that was all it described and a wonderful welcome from the owners Rob and Jeanette who made us so welcome and repeated this on our second visit last week. The (Lincolnshire) Wolds are wonderful and if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful time, we recommend this venue. We would unhestinginly recommend this venue to anyone who wants piece and quiet.

When we have visited, caravan folk have been around on the site. I am sure that they have appreciated the warmth of the welcome and the freedom to do their own thing.

Wonderful. Thank you.

Tony and Margaret

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

So chuffed we found this place as the perfect base for a family holiday. Rob and Jeanette have everything running like clockwork and every year you can tell that time has been taken to re spruce the place as it still looks brand new. The quality of furnishings and kitchen equipment is 2nd to none. There are no dusty uncleaned areas to be found, everywhere is spotless and clean. We've stayed in Katie's Corner each year so my elderly parents in law have their own bedroom and bathroom downstairs. It really is ideal and having stayed at quite a few self catering properties through the country (Rural Retreats, Country Cottages etc) and only going for higher star levels, Greetham is definitely at the top of our list for overall quality and value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Evasophia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What more can you say Greetham Retreat is such a perfeect destination for a wonderful holiday Rob and Jeanette are lovely hosts and the accomodation is superb a real home from home and then some The greeting we received on arrival and the attention to making sure we were settled in was second to none Having visited Greetham retreat before and leaving it a fabulous review this visit was even better and we have already booked for next year and no ,we cant wait we love it But ssh dont tell everyone!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose any cottage you wont regret it
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Markr1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Where do I start??? I stayed in Katie's corner in a party of six. Pulled up at the gates and drove in and there was Jeanette waving us in, Immediately felt like we were coming to stay with friends. Got all checked in and Jeanette firstly gave us the doggie treats for our Cavalier and westie Alfie and Millie. Then there was the important matter to be taken care off!! Which bottle of wine would we like. Needless to say the girlies won that one. Was taken to our cottage and shown around by Jeanette and there were more treats instore, milk, fruit juice, plum loaf and probably there was more but I could not take it all in I was too busy getting the wine back in the chiller.

We were left to settle in but Jeanette and Rob were always around if you needed help with anything, where to go to walk, eat etc. They are very dog friendly which was great as our doggies are a big part of our family. They were both concerned when my westie hurt her leg and needed a vet. They were very helpful and genuinely concerned and checked to see we had got her sorted out ad continued to ask about her during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and it was nice to chat with them about their only dogs and the retreat.

The weather was not too bad. We had some rain but mainly on an evening when we were chilling in the cottage. In fact on one of the days we enjoyed a lovely picnic at the top table on the hill which had stunning views for miles to see. Knew the bottle of wine would come in handy. The dogs had lovely walks on site for them and some lovely walks off site where they cold run free. We also did some lovely walks from the cottage without having to drive anywhere. Horncastle was only 3 miles away which was handed for the shopping and extra supplies of wine. The other guests were friendly and was lovely to seat in the lovely courtyard to wind down and catch up with Jeanette and Rob.

The cottage had everything we needed. Also good to have more than one toilet when there are six of you - and a couple of showers. The cottages are beautifully presented with the extras of shower gel and soap. Lovely to have bath sheets as a lot of places only do bath towels.

I think I have just about covered everything.

We would certainly recommend this place to anyone. Will certainly go back without a doubt. we were all sad to leave on the last day. we felt like we were already at home.

Thanks again Jeanette and Rob

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just arrived home for our second stay at Greetham Retreat and we have booked again!
Wendy's Wing is the perfect cottage for us as my husband is disabled and there is plenty of room for his oxygen equipment as well as the wet room which gives him loads of room (a shower stool provided too). There is underfloor heating in the wet room which feels lovely. The cottage is equipped to an excellent standard and spotlessly clean. The wonderful welcome received from Rob and Jeanette means that we can start to relax from the moment we arrive. (The gift of the bottle of wine helped) Rob had taken delivery of the oxygen equipment and this was all set up for my husband when we arrived. They really are very special hosts, not intrusive, but always around if you need anything.
Outside there is a table and comfortable chairs to sit out and enjoy the sun and a glass of wine.
Within the grounds there are lovely tranquil walks around a natural meadow and a large pond. There is seating all around the walks and from the top you get wonderful views across the Wolds.
There is a lovely reception area where you can sit and chat with friends. In here there is a lot of tourist information, books, DVDs, games etc too.
Whilst this is such a tranquil gem of a place you are only a short drive away from the coast and market Towns. Horncastle has shops (lovely bookshops) and tearooms. Louth has a great local market and just a short walk from the retreat is pretty Greetham village with old church and duck pond. We visited the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Centre and Lincolnshire Aviation Centre which are both close by. Enjoyed a very good meal at the Blue Bell Inn at Belchford (just up the road from the Retreat) and great fish and chips in Sutton on Sea (the fish and chip restaurant by the little roundabout.

I don't know why I am sharing this with you as really I would like to keep this wonderful relaxing place a secret for me alone to share.

Room Tip: Greetham Retreat has cottages and Wendy's Wing is ideal for us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
3.3 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
8.8 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
964 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
413 reviews
18.2 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
24.8 mi away
Treetops Cottages
Treetops Cottages
#1 of 1 in Grasby
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greetham Retreat Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greetham Retreat Holidays

Address: Greetham Lodge Tetford Road | Greetham, Horncastle LN9 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Horncastle
Price Range: $31 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greetham Retreat Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetham Retreat Holidays offers 4* star Gold Award luxury self-catering accommodation surrounded by breathtaking views over the beautiful Lincolnshire Wolds, this is the perfect place to stay for those who want to just relax and unwind in the peace and quiet of the countryside. We have five individual holiday cottages or apartments all 4 star Gold Award rated by Visit England, some for larger parties of either six or four people, along with three further cottages which are for just 2 people, making then ideal for couples and that romantic getaway. The five self-catering cottages at Greetham Retreat are Katie's Corner that sleeps 6; Maggie's Mews that sleeps 4; Wendy's Wing, Rose's Rest and Laura's Loft that all sleeps 2 each. If all the cottages are booked together they can accommodate up to 16 guests making it ideal for a larger family gathering. All the self catering accommodation is modern and stylish with a fresh and comfortable homely fee, having quality real leather sofas, real oak wooden furniture and floors. Fully fitted modern kitchens with integrated appliances including dishwasher, fridge/freezer, electric fan oven, microwave and ceramic hob. Washing machine and tumble dryer also available. Guests can enjoy four acres of private grounds that include wildlife ponds, wildflower meadows, new woodland areas with paths and seating taking full advantage of the glorious views. The location is perfect for walking, cycling, birdwatching and anyone interested in nature conservation. We now also offer guests staying at Greetham Retreat a wide selection of all natural Holistic therapy and massage treatments. Free Wi-Fi internet access is also provided.In addition, we also have an award winning Caravan Club CL site for touring caravans with full electric hook ups and five all weather hardstanding pitches plus a heated campers shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greetham Retreat Holidays Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing