We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely smart hotel”
Review of Millfields Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millfields Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked into this hotel for one night and were very pleasantly surprised. From the moment you turn up the building looks very grand and charming and full of character and once you're inside this continues with a beautiful staircase curling up through the middle of the hotel. We received a warm welcome from reception and were escorted to our room Room 20 which was decorated in cosy warm colours and had a good sized and well equipped bathroom with bath and shower. The room had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed a drink in the bar which was very smart and had a glimpse of the restaurant which also looked very modern and smart but sympatheticaly done to the age of the hotel. The only thing we would say is our room was on the ground floor which meant we heard creaky floor boards above until everyone went to bed but this would not stop us booking in again and its just due to the age of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooky1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute for £65, all we wanted was a bed to sleep in so weren't expecting much. When we arrived it was a lovely surprise to see a well presented, smart and clean hotel, and that the room was large and modern with everything we could need. The food offers in the restaurant sounded excellent and brilliant value for money, it was a shame we'd just eaten so couldn't take advantage of this.

The only downside I can mention is that the walls are paper thin, we were woken up by our neighbour having a chat and it sounded like they were literally in our room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clairesmith86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived late Saturday afternoon for overnight stay prior to family party. Reception could not have been more helpful, checking everything was OK with our booking, room etc and they even double checked all was correct for our friends, prior to their arrival. Escorted (a rare service nowadays unless staying 5*) to our large family room and welcomed to the area. We didn't eat in the restaurant as went off to our party but did return later in the evening and enjoyed a few late night drinks. Breakfast options were plentiful, hot, tasty and served with a smile. Only minor niggle worth mentioning (and the same issue with our friends room) was the shower. Didn't think this type of paltry dribble happened anymore, needs attention. Other than that, a good stay and would definitely return again and would have no doubt in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rovingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

me and my husband and 2 friends stayed here for the one night for the cleethorpes scooter rally, we arrived at 9-30 in the morning and thought we would ask what time we could book in at the earliest the receptionist said we could book in straight away, she was so helpful and friendly, showed us to our rooms and we was really impressed, gorgeous rooms , clean , plenty of milk and coffee, went downstairs to book a taxi to cleethorpes and the staff were so helpful even took some photos for us , we had breakfast the next morning and all i can say is brilliant !!.
I'd recommend this hotel for anyone, clean friendly and good food and the beds are so comfy :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

One night business stay.
Good staff, efficient service.
Welcomed at reception and had the facilities explained clearly then shown to my room, and again everything was explained.
Comfortable and clean room, if a little dated, but everything there that you would require.
Spacious enough bathroom, storage space, TV, refreshment tray etc.
Service in the restaurant was very good, the sea-bass with roasted red pepper sauce was nice enough although my business colleague wasn't so impressed with his pork dish - but that's what you get for not having fish in Grimsby!
Breakfast again was adequate, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives.
Ample parking outside and close enough to the town centre and the business parks but just far enough away to let you unwind after the working day as the hotel feels as if its in a leafy suburb.
Would recommend to anyone staying in or near Grimsby on a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant meal and amazing service. We were on a diet and asked for several refinements to the menu, nothing was too much trouble. Best Ribeye steak we had for ages. Love the new decor, someone with great vision has transformed this place. Refurbished restaurant and Bistro Room very tasteful decorated. We will definitely come here again and recomend it to our friends. Excellent value and service!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business on 24th April, Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and the food was great we had the steak as it was a Thursday which is very reasonable. My only fault was with the service at dinner which was a little slow, the place was very busy and they only had 2 staff serving which isn't enough. i would recommend to anyone wanting a one or two night stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.2 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grimsby
458 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.6 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
3.3 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millfields Hotel

Address: Millfields Hotel 53 Bargate, Grimsby DN34 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millfields Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Millfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millfields Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing