We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Grimsby”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice for Grimsby”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at The Beeches quite often and it is the restaurant that is rightly well known, however this time I stayed over. The large double room was clean and well presented even if it was a bit souless, but at £60 for the night (via Booking.com) to include a full english breakfast, it was great value.
The bar staff were very friendly but I thought the reception staff were trying to be so unobtrusive, you felt you weren't actually welcome!
Very good for business travellers and for the area generally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    67
    36
    29
    28
See reviews for
63
72
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is slightly better than 'average' but it is their restaurant that has promoted them to 'very good'.
I have stayed here a number of times when working in Grimsby. It has changed hands and has had a coat of paint for which it looks much better. The current management are also much more welcoming, helpful and accomodating.
The rooms are adequate, they are clean with all the basics, they lack any finesse but are good for business travellers who need a hot shower a clean room and a bed for the night.
The bar and restaurant are worth visiting alone, the bar has a really relaxed ambiance and the restaurant is very airy and light. The food is of a high standard with plenty of choice and if there is nothing to find the chef will suggest an alternative.
I think the rooms are possibly a little over priced but there are good deals on certain online booking sites. I guess people coming here will mostly be visiting family or working in the area and it is in close proximity to the hospital.
I happily return there when work takes me to Grimsby and it has ample off road parking.

Room Tip: the rooms downstairs at the back tend to be a little dark as there is no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Decided off the cuff to pop up the road to the Beeches. The bar and restaurant area has been revamped. (Tidy up and lick of paint) looks lot better and inviting. Very friendly team,although slightly slow service, I think due to staff shortage. However I would not use this a reason not to go. Food excellent . Good selection on menu and good prices. Was going to have 3 courses, but was content with main (venison) . Drinks prices good decent sauvignon blanc £17 ish. Paul Weeks who now owns this establishment and a good few around Grimsby and Lincolnshire seems to have the mix right. Good work fella.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Hotel must rank as one of the best providing value for money. It deserves every success. It was warn and friendly, the room was large, spotlessly clean and very warm.
I was amazed at how friendly everyone was. There was a work ethic that is rare in these days, nothing was too much trouble and your every need was catered for. The food was fabulous and plenty of it, no hungry visitors left this Hotel. The way we were greeted when we went for our evening meal made us feel as if we were special but in a friendly manner. Damian was a dream and deserves every praise for his professionalism and attention to detail. A big thanks to all that made our stay memorable. A 5* Hotel at affordable prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

On Sunday 14th April we booked a family meal to celebrate my wifes birthday. Living locally we knew that the hotel and restaurant was under new management so did not quite know what to expect as the hotel had a good reputation before although our last meal here was quite a time ago. We were greeted by a pleasant young man who took our coats and immediately took our drinks order from the comfortable seating area. The orders were taken quickly and the drinks were taken to our table when the starters were ready. Our starter order consisted of smoked and poached salmon in filo , Pigeon terrine , Soup of the day - Fresh Tomato and two warm scallop and tomato salads allof which were extremely well presented and flavoursome. The plates were cleared efficiently and the mains followed soon after - I had the sirloin with pepercorn sauce which was medium rare as requested and was accompanied by a big stack of home made chunky chips , The chicken ballotine was with a prawn and salmon mouse with plenty of veg cooked to perfection not too soft or hard but the star of the show was what the three others ordered -the confit duck leg on chorizo mash which was melt in the mouth and the best ever tasted ! We requested a small break before ordering desserts which was no problem at all. Desserts were three lots of the excellent cheese selection with grapes ,celery , crackers and even home made plum bread and also two portions of sticky toffee pudding which was no small portion and recieved comments of "wow " and " mmmm " say no more ! The wine was excellent also and I can certainly recommend the top of the range Sancerre and the Argentinian Red Malbec. Overall the food was excellent and in my view what really made a difference was the personal service which was just the right mix of attention , knowledge and banter - well done as this combination i am sure is a recipe for success and we have already told family and friends who will soon be booking a meal here . It will not be long before we also return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was ultra clean and comfortable with a nice big bathroom (room 2) check in was efficient and friendly but the "wow factor" came as a pleasant suprise at breakfast...i ask Daryl (our waiter) if he had a Sunday Times...he said "no but I will get one"....he actually went out and got one from a local shop!!..unbelievable work ....... never would anyone do that elsewhere so welldone......also, the breakfast was Amazing.

small pointer for hotel: get the door lock sorted, its flimsy and sticks, over all a great place and great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here with family for a funeral wake, Hotel is lovely the room was large and clean. The buffet food was delicious and plenty of it. Breakfast in the morning was lovely there was a lot of choice with fresh juice, cereal and fruit and then a choice of cooked breakfasts. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was ever to much trouble. Would stay here again when visiting family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesssascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.9 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.4 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 42 Waltham Road | Scartho, Grimsby DN33 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches Hotel is an 18 bedroom hotel with a contemporary bar & bistro. All 18 bedrooms are en-suite, comfortable & cleaned to a high standard. The 18 bedrooms consist of doubles & twins and a further option of z-beds or travel cots are available on request & we have rooms on ground floor. We have a warm, welcoming and comfortable bar & lounge area where you can enjoy a variety of food & drinks prepared in our bar & kitchen. Our restaurant & bar is decorated with fresh flowers & has a real fire. For 2014 we have a new exciting & fresh menu. We are open for lunches & afternoon teas made up of cakes made in house & fresh sandwiches. We also have a conservatory which is available for conference & banqueting events & has an excellent outside patio which has the sun all day. New for 2014 we also offer golf packages so if you are looking for a value for money golf weekend we will organise all of this for you. The Beeches Hotel will fulfill the requests of any of our guest so please ask. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing