We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting Immingham on business.
Comfortable hotel, that looks a. Little dated but with very friendly staff.
Breakfast was excellent too. Freshly cooked full English. Decor could be improved, with the paint a little dated in the corridors but a comfy nights sleep was gained.
Set close to a golf course.
I would definitely stay here again if staying in the area, with close links to major roads

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on all the facilities we offer. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay. We completed the bedrooms with king size beds giving you lots of room and ensuring you have a good night’s sleep – just as you’ve mentioned.

Many thanks for highlighting our freshly cooked English breakfast, it’s a great way to start the day! It was good to read your comments about our friendly team at the hotel – they really do make the difference.

Corridors are deliberately kept light and airy, and will be getting a fresh lick of paint in the New Year; we’ll look at scheduling that earlier next time.

As you mentioned were ideally located for all the major road links into Grimsby and I'm pleased to note that we’ll be seeing you again when you next visit Grimsby.

Kind regards

Elizaan Mowbray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 458 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

From the outside the property looks awful and needs some money spent on making it look more appealing. Money has been spent refurbishing the inside which comes as a pleasant surprise.

The rooms are modern and clean and comfortable. I ate in the restaurant and again was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food and the service.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear guest,

It has been said so many times that the external architectural appearance of our lovely hotel is unattractive (to say the least!). We have grown to love it from the inside out, for what it is – a wonderful hotel offering superb facilities and delicious food. We have spent over £3 million on a full refurbishment transforming the 1960’s interior into a modern, contemporary look and feel making this hotel the front runner in the area – as you have experienced.

All our menus are based on locally sourced products making each meal nutritious and top quality.

I look forward in welcoming you back!

Elizaan Mowbray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Don't be put off by its exterior. Spacious modern rooms, clean with excellent facilities. Good wifi ideal for business traveller.
Good quality full breakfast and clean breakfast area.
Helpful staff and great value. A gem

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogwindymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our housekeeping team make every effort to keep the hotel spotless as you have noticed. We took great care when the refurbishment took place with the main things in mind; comfort and relaxation which you have experienced. Our breakfast consists of locally sourced produce of very high quality. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

Elizaan Mowbray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The exterior is no reflection on inside the hotel, greeted with a big smile at the front desk, help with our bags from a delightful young lady and a first class breakfast not to mention a extremely comfy bed. We will be back as my partner use to work in the area so meeting friends here is perfect. Definitely recommend..... Good hotel, Great Grimsby.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guest,
Our staff is our greatest asset and we strive to exceed guests expectations at every opportunity. As you rightly pointed out we are able to balance a friendly relaxed service, whilst delivering professional, quality standards. We look forward to seeing you back again. Thank you for rating your experience.

Elizaan Mowbray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The exterior may be a little off putting but being a ex local girl trawled the internet and this looked the most modern up to date hotel and average priced excellent value for money and nothing was too much and very comfy bed and pillows will definitely book again when revisiting the area

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebinka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments on your experience and excellent value for money. We can’t change our outside but we rather focus on things that matter to our guests such as a modern, relaxing design throughout the hotel with comfy king size beds. Many thanks for posting your feedback onto TripAdvisor helping us to spread the good word.

Elizaan Mowbray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Reception staff were very friendly, the rooms had been recently refurbished and were to a high modern standard. The food in the restaurant was nice and served to a high standard and the waitresses were very professional and polite. The hotel from the outside, just not give the inside justice. But as they always say "Never judge a book by its cover" And this is true with this establishment. Would stay here again if ever in area. Rooms however did not have air con, which is the only negative I can think of

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinlinda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for posting your review onto TripAdvisor. I’m really pleased your experience with us was so positive and that you were able to sample most of our facilities. I appreciate your comments with regard to air conditioning and confirm that all our rooms have either opening windows or balcony doors to allow fresh air into rooms. It was good to note that you would stay with us if and when you have a need to return to Grimsby and look forward to welcoming you back then.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. All the staff are just so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they are helpfull, you can have a laugh with them and yet they still maintain there professionalism. The rooms are always lovely and clean, the bed is very comfy, although they could do with some comfier pillows. The breakfast are lovely and even if you want something a little different to what is on the menu it isn't a problem. We have had a snack lunch and an evening meal and all are exceptional and delicious. The reception staff are brilliant, if we have had question, query or want local information they always have the answers. All in all it is a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best in our opinion, it is just great to sit and look out onto the golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumberRoyal, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest

As a valued regular visitor to the hotel your comments mean so much to me and the team. Your experience with us confirms that all the hard work, training and genuine customer care offered throughout the hotel is really appreciated. As you point out the team are the real assist to our fantastic product, offering personal attentive services in a professional manner - I’ll certainly ensure your comments are shared with all concerned, helping us to keep focused on the next guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the New Year. Many thanks once again for taking the time and trouble to add your review onto TripAdvisor.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
228 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grimsby
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: $66 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing