We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Grimsby...”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First visit to Grimsby...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a member of the Armed Forces Events Team & was not disappointed.
Room was spacious, clean & comfortable.
Staff were friendly & welcoming.
Food & service was very good.

Would I recommend? YES

Would I stay here again? YES

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest
It was good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and your colleagues’ recommendation was justified. It sounds like we hit the mark at all levels – many thanks for spreading the news to others by your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    130
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
74
122
10
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stay in Grimsby between 2-4 times a year to visit family. We normally stay in the Premier Inn which is cheap, clean and consistent. When we needed to visit last minute and could not get booked into the Premier Inn we booked the Humber Royal as they had availability.

We only stayed for one night which included breakfast (which was awful) but the cost was the same for staying 2 - 3 nights at the Premier Inn and to be honest I can't see why there is such a difference.

Don't get me wrong the room was a reasonable size, with a nice view over the golf club and we got a good nights sleep but no real comparison to the Premier Inn for the price difference.

The service was very good (everyone was really friendly) but the breakfast was vile - you were seated with strangers, the table cloths were dirty and the food looked and tasted unappetizing.

Back to the Premier Inn for us for future visits.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony but with no furniture on it, it seemed pointless unless you were a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieLeigh1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review; please be assured that every guest experience is important to us. I am disappointed that your experience was not of the high standard on which the hotel prides itself. I was very concerned to read your comments describing the issues you encountered at breakfast. I am sure you can appreciate that breakfast time on a weekend is usually quite busy and unfortunately on this occasion we did not deliver to the best of our ability. I would like to reassure you that I have liaised with our service team and chefs and believe that, as a team, we have been able to come up with improvements to our operation which should make for a better breakfast experience going forward.

I was genuinely disappointed to learn that you would choose the Premier Inn above us on future visits to the area. We are an accredited four star property offering similar prices. I also believe we offer a very high standard of accommodation at value for money rates, a view which is supported by our many repeat visitors. I am sorry that you will not be returning to us, please do get in touch should you wish to reconsider this decision.

Regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On behalf of my 84 year old dad who has travelled the world and stayed in many hotels he said this has been the best place he has ever stayed he was there in july this year
he enjoyed seeing the deer on the golf course he said the breakfast was excellent and the room was comfortable and the staff were all pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: i got the impression all the rooms are similar and they all look onto the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toshandkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review on behalf of your dad. As such a well travelled visitor his statement ‘Best place he has ever stayed’ really does mean so much to the team and I. Please thank him on our behalf - let’s hope he can stay with us again when he next visits the area.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a recent weekend stay for a friends wedding ;
No faults here, excellent all round.
The welcome from Sandy at reception was warm, pleasant and polite and information given by her for places to see was greatfully received.
The food was beautiful, the beds comfy and the rooms super modern, clean and fresh with wifi, flat screen tv etc.
I would definatley stay again and recommend to all staying in and around Grimsby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
It was good to read your review and to know that you would recommend us to other potential visitors to Grimsby. I’m pleased that you received a warm welcome from Sandy and experienced a good night’s sleep in our well appointed bedrooms as well as a beautiful meal. Looking forward to seeing you again when you return to Grimsby.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently had a very pleasant stay at the Humber Royal Hotel on Littlecoates Road Grimsby. The trip to Grimsby was for business purposes and the hotel itself was a perfect location meeting all my requirements. Location is ideal as it is situated on the western edge of the north eastern town of Grimsby making the trip in and out of Grimsby very easy, yet placing me close enough to the town centre to access all amenities.
The Hotel is easily 4 star quality and its somewhat dated exterior architecture belies the bespoke quality of the interior. The hotel’s careful decor has been constructed to give an immediate impression of quality with a modern and fresh feel. Materials are earthy and rich utilising depth of colour to covey quality. The rooms are all very well appointed and offer a refreshingly calming minimalist layout. So often these day hotels either try to pack too much colour or furniture into a room that only leaves you feeling tiered or visually offended just looking at it. But the Humber Royal have crafted rooms that are comfortable and leave you feeling relaxed, through the use of rich colour and textures with a feeling of pampered comfort.
I took advantage of the hotel restaurant The Brassiere not because it was the easy option but because the menu was inviting and the reviews are excellent. I was not let down, the food was excellent and prepared to perfection but, there is one thing that made this stay stand out beyond just a good hotel providing good food. The service is the jewel in the crown of this hotel, immediately on arrival we were expected, greeted and welcomed. We were made to feel like we were probably the most important customer they were having on this day, and this feeling persisted throughout the stay. The staff at the hotel obviously work very well together as a team and get along as friends and this is conveyed to the customers in their actions, leaving the customer with a feeling of being amongst friends and in a very convivial atmosphere. It is easy to applaud or criticise a hotel, restaurant etc for their good or bad service but we are a society that easily tips bad service and does not readily shout or compliment exceptional service. So, let me shout it right now The Humber Royal is worth shouting about as a quality hotel, who provide excellence in service and food but, it is their commitment to the customer that impresses, well done to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
I really don’t know what to say – your review has overwhelmed me! Your comments summarise what we are about so accurately, from the quality of our product, to our locally sourced and passionately produced menus to most importantly, the team of special people who really do care about the customers we serve. It is so encouraging knowing that we’re ticking the right boxes on so many counts, comment such as yours really encourage other guests to cross our threshold – many, many thanks for shouting about it!
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looks like a 60's institution......but what lies inside is modern, comfortable and very pleasing. The rooms overlook the golf course and have balconiesc where you can step out for a breath of fresh air. My only criticism would be the fire doors are VERY noisy and the breakfast wasn't very hot. Otherwise a pleasant stay at a reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlew1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for seeing past our not too pretty exterior and for highlighting out product on TripAdvisor. I’ll certainly investigate your comments regarding breakfast and fire doors and make changes where possible. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay, we do aim to offer value for money.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff here really could not have been more helpful - from early check in to breakfast before early departure at 7am they could not have done more. The food was excellent and rooms comfortable and recently refurbished. Would definitely recommend if staying overnight in Grimsby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
My sincere thanks to you for positing a review onto TripAdvisor. It’s always rewarding to receive feedback about the team at the hotel as it is ‘people’ who make the difference. Many thanks for your recommendation – hopefully we’ll see you again when you next visit Grimsby.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Property: Humber Royal Hotel
Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick and HRS so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing