We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay on business”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay on business”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on Thursday with work. The first impression you get from the daunting old fashioned building disappears when you enter the hotel, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice rooms and bar. My only criticism is the food prices, but thats not unusual for a hotel. There is also a golf course attached which would suit some. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for staying with us when you visited Grimsby last week, I agree that our old fashioned exterior does not do the interior or our product and services justice. I’m glad you saw passed this and experienced the whole package whilst you were here. We do aim to keep our food prices competitive even when offering lots of locally sourced products, including Lincolnshire sausages, Boston Asparagus, Grimsby haddock and Dennett's ice cream to name but a few items! Good to hear you would stay again which I trust will be in the not too distant future – see you then.
Kind regards
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    130
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
74
122
10
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

On arrival the welcome at the front desk was friendly and professional .The public areas are
light airy,contemporary and have attractive views over the Golf Course The meeting room was set out immaculately with a projector that was requested and neatly presented agendas -coffee , tea and some excellent biscuits came as soon as we arrived.
The haddock and chips we had at lunchtime were just beautiful with crisp batter, home made real chips mushy peas and tartare sauce -just great . For a conference venue in the Grimsby
area you need look no further than the Humber Royal -

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Paul
So good to hear that your meeting was a great success. We aim to take the strain of organising and delivering events off your shoulders so you can concentrate on the job in hand and your valuable delegates.
Good to hear that you were able to enjoy our famous Haddock and ‘Chip Shop’ chips. I must admit they’re hard to resist. Thanks for spreading the word on our behalf – hope to see you again when you next venture over the Humber Bridge.
Best wishes
Anne and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
606 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Humber Royal 15 years ago and it was terrible - to say the lest. When we told the current staff of our experience they could not believe it. One or two older ones were less surprised.

Thankfully this has changed. The rooms are spacious, airy and modern - comfortable too. We had dinner there as well and it was fresh, tasty and well presented. The service was good too.

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest
Yes you will have noticed many improvements since your last visit, not only due to investment but also care and attention by the great team of people employed at the hotel. Thanks for spreading the word on our behalf! - I Hope you don’t leave it has long before you return.

Best wishes
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed here on business several times now and this hotel is consistently good. Friendly staff, plush reception, bar, restaurant and rooms. Comfy beds, free wifi and lovely breakfasts, what more could the weary traveller need?! Don't be off put by the exterior (which is actually listed), the interior delivers on all levels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelinspectors71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest
Many thanks for posting such a complimentary review onto TripAdvisor. More than anything your comments regarding consistency are really appreciated. Across the hotel we have agreed standards and it so good to hear that they are consistently being delivered by all departments. I’ll ensure your feedback is shared with all concerned to help keep us motivated and striving to make further improvements. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

As above. The hotel wasn't much to look at from the outside but very clean and modern on the inside as I believe it's recently been refurbished. We took our Infant with us as well and there was plenty of room for all our stuff including the travel cot. Would certainly stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenemjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest
I agree, unfortunately we’re not too pretty from the outside, but well worth a visit inside. Yes the hotel has been tastefully modernised and refurbished inside to a very high standard. Great to hear that you found us 'family friendly’ and topped the visit off with a ‘great’ breakfast. Now that you’ve discovered us we look forward to welcoming you back when your are next in sunny Grimsby.
Best wishes
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family room over looking the golf course was spacious, comfortable and spotless. Having made a request to book in early which was more convenient for us, we were told "no problem" and this attitude set the tone for our over night stay. All the staff were friendly, warm and professional, and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. After having a light lunch on arrival, I commented on the excellent soup I'd had, sweet potato and leek, and almost jokingly said I'd have to get the recipe. Our waitress went back reported my praise to the chef and came back clutching the recipe. Later on in the evening we returned back to the hotel with a large group of family members (our visit was for a surprise party for a family member) and all eighteen of us went into the bistro and bar area. we were sitting at separate tables. The staff realized this and without us asking came over and helped us reorganize the furniture, again showing how accommodating they were. They also made us bacon butties on request! Breakfast the following morning was lovely. We cannot fault the hotel or the staff in any way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for posting such a complimentary review onto TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a great stay with us last month. We do try to encourage all employees to go above and beyond wherever possible to exceed guests’ expectations -it certainly sounds as though this was the case during your visit!
Thanks for spreading the word – hope to see you when you next visit the area.
Kind regards
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

To be honest this hotel was not my first choice but booked it on the strength of the reviews as the hotel I normally use was fully booked.
Upon arriving and checking in the reception staff was friendly and welcoming, this continued with every member of staff I meet, be it in the bar, restaurant at breakfast or just meeting a member of staff in a corridor. All members of staff are a credit to this hotel and receive a “Well done” and “Thank you” from me.
Room was very clean, in very good order, up to date decor with looks over the golf course a comfortable place to work, relax and sleep for the week I was there.
Bad points........none.
This hotel will be my first choice when returning to the area, I hope the experience then will be just as good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest
Great to hear that you have found one of Grimsby best kept secrets – The Humber Royal Hotel! I’m really pleased that my team at the hotel appears to have made the difference and put us to the top of your list of hotels in Grimsby. Yes, we have a fantastic product, but it is people who make the difference – I can assure you that your ‘Well done’ and ‘Thank you’ will be shared with everyone. It’s always encouraging to know that our efforts are appreciated. Please be assured that these levels of service are standard throughout, as are the high levels of cleanliness and a comfortable night’s sleep.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully as a regular guest going forward.
Best wishes
Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Property: Humber Royal Hotel
Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing