We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Judge the Book by its Cover!”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Upon first view this Hotel looked such a boring monolithic brick building, however one cant judge a book by it cover, as inside the more updated refurbishment was very comfortable. I found the staff in the reception area very helpful, they went out of their way to find some bush walking areas and printed off a map, as I had a spare Sunday before the Business part of my stay began. Room was spacious and comfortable and able to have the temperature adjusted by having an opening window. Even though there was unseasonable snow for March, inside was warm and cosy. The restaurant had sufficient choice for my vegetarian needs. Good breakfast also. Only down side was the sound proofing between my room on second floor at one end, and and the next room that had a family with 3 children. This meant every child squabble carried and every time the door opened and shut with the childrens exploring, was very loud. That was only one night and the remaining 2 of the stay were quiet. Thank you.

Room Tip: Perhaps top floor may be quieter and the room on the afternoon sun end windows got sun pouring in on...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanK1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Many thanks for you kind comments. It was great to hear the reception team had assisted you in your ‘bush’ walking – Grimsby certainly has more to offer than most people know! I’m glad you found plenty of choice on the menus to meet your vegetarian requirements. Unfortunately the weekend of your stay did coincide with a large family party; hence the extra noise and excitable children, we do normally offer high levels of peace and quiet to our residents! Hope to see you again when you next visit the area.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Humber Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 420 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is located in a pleasant residential area outside of the Grimsby town itself with a pleasant view overlooking a golf course which is not connected with the hotel. It is an easy drive to the motorways. Seems popular with many business people. When the hotel is full you will need to reserve a table for dinner so ask how full it is when you check in. There is nowhere nice to eat nearby! The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. I have stayed here a few times on business. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is good with freshly cooked full English and a range of cereals, fruit and bread. No croissants though and no continental cheese etc. . The dinners are usually good although it can vary slightly in quality for some reason. The chef will vary your dish if you ask.
Room service is good too.

Free wi fi available although it does not seem to be effective if you are up on the 4th floor.
The bar offers a good range of drinks for the tired businessman and the service is friendly and polite.

Overall, a good place to stay if you are in Grimsby or surrounding area on business.

It is often fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room and get a good view of the attractive golf course.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your business stay and highlighted our 4 star offering, which was enhanced by the levels of service you encountered. Your comments are very fair; complimenting our strengths and pointing out a couple of areas where we can perhaps review and make amendments to the products and service on offer. It’s really good to know that you consider us a ‘good place’ to stay when in Grimsby, here’s hoping to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having just returned home from the Humber Royal after spending two nights attending a wedding there I feel obliged to share and tell readers about the superb service and excellent accomodation, the wedding itself was beautiful and all guests s were treated with superb service throughout the whole day and a very late night ! especially the night porter who was exceptional
The hotel was spotless and we will certain stay again when visiting the area.
Thank you for making our weekend.

Room Tip: Corner siutes were very spacious and escellent views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeCountycleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended recently, Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, from the accommodation, including cleanliness to the wedding itself. It was really great to read that you had received excellent service throughout. The whole team at the hotel does work hard and takes great pride in the service they give. I know that many go above and beyond to give our guests a positive and memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

P.S It is definitely worth upgrading and treating yourselves to a deluxe room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch on our wedding anniversary, three plentiful courses, all food was deliciously hot and fresh and very well presented by friendly staff. Will be trying the evening menu in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikemybed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

So good to read that you enjoyed your celebratory meal with us recently. Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, the food and in particular the staff. I hope you will have chance to return to us to try our evening menu, chef’s just finalising some new spring dishes which will be available later this month. Thanks again for your kind comments.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Our room overlooking the golf course , was ideal with lovely views
Staff were excellent for customer service, reception /housekeeping could not have been more helpful. .
Breakfast had an excellent choice with good quality local produce and very efficient servic.e.
Well done to the team at this hotel

Room Tip: Hig h floor overlooking golf course
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HIGHLIGHTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

It is always encouraging to read comments such as those you have made on TripAdvisor. It really helps to acknowledge all the hard work and commitment the team at the hotel has made to hopefully exceed our guest’s expectations wherever possible. Many thanks for bringing our exceptional levels of cleanliness and comfort to other reader’s attention, as well as recognising the high levels of service offered throughout the hotel. Positive comments help keep us all motivated and striving to do better. I hope we may have the pleasure of being of service to you again when you next visit the area.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The last time my wife and I stayed here was on our wedding night! I am delighted to stay we thoroughly enjoyed our stay last time, and since the hotel has been refurbished, more so on this occasion.

My wife is from Grimsby so we are fully aware of the limited choice of hotels. Rather strangely, you also struggle to find any bed and breakfast establishments, As with other reviews, as you approach the Hotel which is easily signposted/seen from the main road, you are greeted with a building that would look like something more akin to the 1970s. It's built of concrete and not the most appealing structure. Don't judge a book by its cover!

Once inside the hotel is far more appealing. The reception is welcoming and inviting. The rooms have all been refurbished. Ours was on the 3rd floor pleasantly looking over the golf course. Bathroom was spotless. The room was bright, spacious and looked fab. Plenty of drawer / wardrobe space. There was also free teas and coffees. Free wireless Internet.

We dined twice in the restaurant. Once in the evening for the valentines celebratory meal, and once in the morning for breakfast. The restaurant looks good, spacious and inviting. Service was spot on. Food was excellent and no issues at all. Staff were looking to impress and the head waitress ensured all went very smoothly - Karla.

Minor point but never the less important, you can hear what's going on in the next room. I have to say the last time we stayed, this was not a problem. On this occasion we had what I can only describe as a boisterous couple next door! Overall though, I would most definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Keep away from boisterous neighbours!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexKrycek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m really pleased that you had the opportunity to sample all aspects of the hotel, from our spacious bedrooms, to our locally sourced evening and breakfast menus and more. It was especially encouraging to read your comments regarding the team here at the hotel, particularly Karla who is our star breakfast supervisor! All the team work hard to impress guests and take a genuine pride in the individual roles they all play in contributing to the success of the hotel, it is a real pleasure to work with them.
I’ll refrain from commenting on the boisterous couple next door if you don’t mind, but I have logged your feedback with our maintenance team to see if we can make any adjustments.
Many thanks for recommending us; I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again when you return to Grimsby.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

It was a conference I was attending!the signposting was clear,the decor,especially the abstract art in the Suite, was colourful and in good tasteeverything was just nice.thefood andarray of sandwiches was tasty and fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeshwarkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Conference Delegate
Many thanks for posting your comments following your visit to the hotel last week whilst attending a meeting. It was good to read that your experience was positive from arrival with clear directions, through to lunch and décor. We are an ideal conference venue with a number of well equipped meeting rooms helping delegates focus on their event, leaving the running of the day in our expert hands.
I hope you’ll consider visiting us again in the future, possibly for a meal or drink in the Brasserie.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing