We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good - don't be fooled by (outside) appearances!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good - don't be fooled by (outside) appearances!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

On arrival, I have to say my heart sank. It's a bit of a monolithic concrete monstrosity, and on a rainy winter's night, it looked a bit dire. However, looks can be very deceiving!

The hotel has been recently refurbished, and to a high standard. Interior decoration is tasteful, and the rooms are spacious and very well appointed - big windows, free wi-fi, good bathroom, comfy beds, flatscreen TV and lots of plug sockets - a good commuter-type hotel.

The restaurant is in a big open plan lobby downstairs. No atmosphere, and a bit odd marooned in the middle, but the food exceeded expectations. The seafood is, as it should be, very good, and the breakfast was very decent. The only thing is that some of the restaurant staff could be more welcoming - some were lovely, some a little frosty. The bar is fine, but again, could be improved with a couple more beers on tap - the selection is a little bit limited.

However, these really are very small gripes. On the whole, I really like the hotel. Very good value for money, good food, and well appointed. Recommended if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest
It was good to read that you saw through our not so pretty exterior. I’ve defended it before, but I keep asking guests not to judge a book by its cover. Yes our 1960’s heritage does mean we are a perfect example of a post-war age building, when due to a shortage of skilled labour there was a surge of prefabricated and system building techniques used for new buildings. We are well worth a venture over the threshold!
I’m glad our bedrooms ticked all your boxes and that our locally sourced food offering exceeded your expectations. Our Brasserie is open-plan to encourage a relaxed, comfortable dining experience without the pretentiousness of a formal environment. We are always tweaking and making adjustments as a result of guest feedback so we will certainly consider some lighting and layout changes to enhance the atmosphere further. It’s a shame you encountered a mix of ‘friendly’ and ‘frosty’ employees, but thanks for making us aware of this, enabling us to work further to achieve a ‘smiley’ face throughout.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    120
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
116
10
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our experience having stayed in this hotel over 3 different weekends is that it may not be the best location (unless your playing golf) but it is clean, up to date & the staff are very helpful.
This hotel is value for money providing a very good standard of service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It was nice to hear that you’ve been staying with us on a number of occasions recently and found the hotel to your liking. I could arrange some golf lessons for you if you’re interested in finding a further reason to visit us (only joking). I am pleased you consider us to offer value for money as this is one of our main aims, together with offering helpful and efficient service. I hope to see you again soon when you next visit Grimsby.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not the prettiest hotel from the outside. It is a modern hotel with a good standard of décor inside. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was good with plenty space to relax and work. Free internet access was available in the rooms. Cleanliness of the rooms was excellent and the bed was comfortable.

The Hotel looks over the local golf course and so it has some nice views from some rooms and the restaurant and bar areas.

I had a evening meal(Included in the price when I stayed) and it was very good, as was the breakfast.

The Hotel is located on the outskirts of Grimsby, but with easy access to the main roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest
Many thanks for adding your comments on to TripAdvisor and pointing out the quality product and services we offer. I’ll certainly make sure my Head Housekeeper and her team are made aware of your kind comments with regard to the levels of cleanliness you noted, they really do go above and beyond to maintain their exemplary standards – all of them are a real asset to the hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast – we do offer a number of dinner inclusive packages which delete represent excellent value for money. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
264 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the Humber Royal on Christmas Day after visiting relatives for the festive period. I remembered the Humber Royal and its external appearance from some time ago when it belonged to a chain - I think it was Trusthouse Forte. The external appearance of the main block is not that bad but it is unlikely to win architectural awards.

The inside of the building was finished in a modern style with pleasant and muted colours. I stayed with my wife in a corner room which was well fitted with new bath and shower. The corner room for which I paid £78 for two people and breakfast, was a good size and larger than many hotel rooms. It was warm and came with tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed.

The breakfast was excellent complete with local produce cooked to order. The breakfast was far better than most hotels I have stayed at, particularly those where a buffet is provided.

All of the staff on duty on Christmas and Boxing Day were excellent. They were pleasant and very helpful.

The exterior of the low level conference centre attached to the main block could do with a paint and tidy up. The area between the hotel and the adjacent golf course groundsman's buildings could also do with a tidy.

Grimsby is not blessed with a range of qualitry hotels but the Humber Royal is definitely the, or one of the best. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are good but expect to pay a small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I’m really pleased that you chose to stay with us over the Festive Period and found the hotel to your liking. As you rightly point out we have a range of rooms from ‘standard’ to ‘superior’ to ‘deluxe’ (the one you treated yourselves to). All the rooms are of the same high standard but are enhanced by either a balcony or spacious corner positioning. We do pride ourselves on sourcing as many local produce as possible and strongly believe that a good breakfast is key to a good day. We really enjoyed looking after all our guests and I'm so proud of the way the team completely embrace the festive season. Thanks for highlighting a couple of areas where can hopefully make some improvements, it’s always good to see things through a fresh pair of eyes. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Grimsby.

Kind regards and a Happy New Year

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Humber Royal Hotel in Grimsby doesn't look much from the outside but, it has been revamped to a superb standard. The room we stayed in was spotless and very welcoming. Had a cracking Christmas "do" there last night. Food was good and the waiting on staff worked so hard. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Friends of ours stayed over too and we had been put on different floors, at our request she jiggled things round so we were all on the same floor. The bar staff were friendly and polite despite the place being so busy. A good night was had by all . The only let down was the breakfast was not hot. Shame, but would stay there again. Thanks to all at The Humber Royal. Well done. :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indicision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

As I’ve said many time don’t judge a book by its cover, unfortunately we’re not very pretty from the outside but we certainly make up for that when you cross the threshold. I’m delighted you enjoyed your Christmas ‘do’ with us and very much appreciate your feedback concerning all departments. Naturally I was concerned to read your comments concerning a ‘cold ‘ breakfast and thank you for highlighting this. My Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager have reviewed this already and introduced further procedures across the board to hopefully eliminate this. On the whole it sounds like you had a fab party and I’m really pleased that you would stay with us again, we really appreciate your thanks and positive comments.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed in a few hotels in Grimsby recently and this one gets top marks. Overlooking the Golf Course the rooms are well appointed and very comfy. Very pleasant staff that pay attention to detail makes for a relaxed stay. Excellent food, the restaurant is highly recommended. We will book again when next in town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Golf Course are good - feels like you are on a holiday!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to add your comments onto Trip advisor. It’s good to know that you have sampled the competition in Grimsby and give the Humber Royal Hotel top marks! I am really pleased to hear that my team were attentive and pleasant and that you were able to enjoy a locally sourced meal in our Brasserie during your visit. I’ll certainly make sure your comments are shared with all concerned as it’s always encouraging to receive positive feedback for a job well done. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Not many quality hotels to choose from in this area but I was booked in by a work colleague. Dont be put off from the outside bland and office look building. Inside, good as any modern hotel, still slightly on the plane side but clean and tidy. Bedrooms and bathroom both very good and clean.

No downside to this hotel. Friendly staff, food is good even if they did forget to bring my garlic bread. Apparently the blonde women from How Clean Is Your House as been staying there for a few weeks, so it cant be that bad.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 1st floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheikhofficeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Many thanks for helping to spread the word that Grimsby and the hotel are far from 'Grim'. As someone who obviously visits the area regularly I appreciate you acknowledging that we are Grimsby’s number one hotel. I’m pleased you found the team at the hotel friendly and thank you for pointing out how clean the rooms are - as confirmed by a famous guest in the know!. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
12.4 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Property: Humber Royal Hotel
Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing