We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel. When you pull into the car park, it does look a litle disappointing, with a drap exterior, mostly concrete. However, dont let that put you off. The interior is very smart and modern looking. Staff are well above average, and very friendly.
the rooms are very good, each with its own balcony overlooking a beutifull golf course.
Choice of food in the evening was excellent, and very reasonably priced. Some great flavours here, was well done to the chef!
WiFi s available throughout the hotel which was great; although the speed is not very good.
The only disappointment was breakfast. Not a huge choice from the buffet area, but the cooked breakfast was not good. Obviously a different chef here. Items were hard, overcooked and not tasty. (The sausage tasted a bit sour!)

All in all, I would stay there again, but I hope they take note of the breakfast quality............

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest
‘Quirky’....... is a great way to describe us – thank you! Yes our 1960’s heritage does mean we are a perfect example of a post-war age building, when due to a shortage of skilled labour there was a surge of prefabricated and system building techniques used for new buildings. As you kindly point out the interior of the hotel has been tastefully modernised and is supported by a friendly, professional team of employees who genuinely care about our guests.
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal with us, but sorry to learn that breakfast was a disappointment. This is an area we have focused our attention on for some time which unfortunately makes your feedback more concerning. All chefs are involved in the different meals served throughout the day and are fully trained and familiar with the standards required for all meals on our menus. Please accept my apologies for the failings you experienced, chef and his team will review their offering accordingly and address any outstanding issues. Please be assured your experience is not indicative of the breakfast normally prepared, which you will be able to experience when you hopefully next visit the hotel.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback, your constructive comments really do help us monitor our standards and make improvements where necessary.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    120
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
116
10
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here one night only. Very impressed. The building is a little daunting from the outside. Don't be put off, the hotel is totally different inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was huge and excellent. Breakfast was very good. Wil try to book this hotel again when in the area. Much better value than the Pxxxxxx Inn and a much better place to stay. No comparison. Thanks to all at Humber Royal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus4444076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

A lovely hotel and the staff are all pleasant and helpful. They will go out of their way to help you. Good food and excellent value for money. I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and had a lovely balcony. Very happy with my wedding there and hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Newly Married Couple.
So good to hear that you enjoyed your special day with us – the photo looks fab! As food and service are such important parts of any celebration it’s good to know that your expectations were exceeded. We pride ourselves on the personal service we offer all our guests, nothing is too much trouble. As you are local to our premises I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Brasserie at the Humber Royal where I can assure you of excellent value for money. Best wishes to you both.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Six months or so ago I wrote a less than favourable review following an unsatisfactory stay because of an unclean room. Following that review I was contacted by the hotel management apologising and asking for another chance. As I visit Grimsby regularly we did just that and have received nothing but the best service with excellent and clean rooms and lovely breakfasts. All rooms look out over the golf course so are quiet - although there are frequent weddings here so check if evening noise is a problem.
This is probably miles ahead of any other accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tontoBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest
Since your disappointing visit earlier in the year I have had the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on numerous occasions and thank you for posting your comments in recognition for the improvements we have introduced during this time. I am always pleased to chat to and receive feedback from our visitors as it helps us review our products and services and raise our performance accordingly. We are open enough to admit when we get it wrong and to take corrective action where necessary. It’s really motivational for the team and I to receive comments such as yours in recognition of the care and hard work we deliver throughout our working day. Since we last spoke we’ve received a rating of ‘Four Stars’ from Visit England which is acknowledgement of the all the improvements which have taken place at the hotel. I look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the thriving port of Grimsby!
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Humber royal, we stay here whilst visiting family and have found it to be perfect in every way. The hotel has improved further since our last visit with the stair ways being recarpeted and a new lift. The service in the restaurant has also improved as last time the waitresses were not quite up to speed but this time breakfast was much more organised. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well presented we had an evening meal in there on Friday night but made the mistake of eating else were on the Saturday night and the food was much nicer in the Humber royal.
Bedrooms are nicely decorated and has a lovely comfy bed air conditioning would have been a nice extra as it was very hot when we were there but l guess you don't get too many nights like that. The view outside the rooms is beautiful it over looks a golf course and surrounding countryside you would think you were out in the country not in the middle of a residential area. The only problem we had with the room was the digital telly had a real poor reception we could not even get a picture on any channel when returning to the room on Saturday night.

Do not hesitate to book this hotel if you are staying in the area it is clean, modern and reasonably priced. We shall be back around Christmas time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HoptonRedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments onto TripAdvisor following your visit to the hotel last month. I was pleased to read that you had seen improvements to both product and service since your last visit. We are continually reviewing these areas and making improvements where possible as a result of guest feedback. Our Head Chef and his team were encouraged by your comments regarding your meal experience, particularly as you highlighted it has a much better option than perhaps other dining venues in the area. We strive to provide a varied food offering produced from locally sourced ingredients at competitive prices – there really is no need to venture out when The Brasserie offers such food in a relaxed setting.
I appreciate your comments with regard to air conditioning and agree that on those few and far between hot summer days this would be a bonus, hopefully the patio door to your balcony helped deliver a flow of fresh air to your room. I was sorry to learn that you encountered some issues with the TV in your room; these are consistently checked by maintenance weekly and monitored daily by housekeeping. Unfortunately faults occur occasionally, please accept my apologies for this failing during your visit.
It’s good to note that you will be returning later this year, a third floor room may suit your requirements better – please make a request at the time of booking.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've stayed here three times in the last year, each time has been excellent. Staff are polite, helpful and friendly, most rooms overlook Grimsby Golf Course so a beautiful setting and peaceful too. Rooms are recently refurbished to exceedingly high standards and the lift has been replaced for a state of the art piece of kit.

I think we have over the years stayed in around 5 hotels in the area, this tops them all by a country mile.

Frankly, i'll never stop anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Great to hear that we’re your number one choice when visiting the area. Many thanks for your positive feedback, highlighting the product and the levels of service we offer. It’s good to know when we get it right as it ensures you stay loyal to us. Since your last visit we have now been awarded a ‘Four Star’ rating form VisitEngland which recognises all the improvements and hard work we have invested recently. Hope to see you again later in the year.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel for work quite often, but that's because we are limited to selection in the Grimsby area.

It's had a refurbishment since my early stays which I admit has improved the astetics greatly, Especially the lift and the staircase carpets, however I wish the refurbishment had included aircon as the rooms which are still like trying to sleep in a sauna with an old fashioned radiator pumpimg out heat no matter how much you turn them down.

The food in the restaurant/Bar area is unfortunatley sometimes not even up to the standard of a Kebab Van. I had the most expensive steak on the menu with chips and onions rings on my last stay and felt ill all night due to the amount of grease I must have consumed due to the chips and onion rings swimming in it when it arrived on the plate.

The staff I find are always polite and willing to help where they can, even in the face of what appears to be constant complaints from guests.

It's not the best looking hotel in the area and certainly not going to win any Mitchelin stars any time soon, but I suppose it does the job as long as it's your company, not you picking up the bill.

Room Tip: Try not to stay anywhere near the front above the function annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellsKitchen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest
I was very disappointed and concerned to read your recently posted comments on TripAdvisor. It is clear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel and it concerns me greatly that I have not been made aware of your feedback, particularly with reference to the dining experiences you have encountered. Naturally I am keen to address the issues you have raised and would ask that you provide further details, including your name, company and dates of recent visits to enable me to investigate further. It alarms me that you only stay with us because you feel the choice in the area is limited as we aim to offer a high quality product with services to match, which enable us to compete with the top hotels across the country and beyond. Your opinion does not support this which is both disappointing and worrying. I would very much welcome the opportunity to sit down with you, when you next visit the hotel to learn from your experience and hopefully address some of the issues you have raised.

Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
12.4 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Property: Humber Royal Hotel
Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing