We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Good, Much improved Very impressed !”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Very Good, Much improved Very impressed !”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I have been staying at this place on & off for the last 10 years, Since its refit the rooms are superb. Super beds , plenty of parking & most of all Quiet ! This was never a bad hotel, just a bit run down when it was the Hotel Elizabeth. I would definatley make this my number one choice when staying in Grimsby. I am a very light sleeper but this place is properly built with solid walls & overlooking a golf course.

Very pleasant welcome & good staff. Very good modern decor, the room was spotless. Nice big TV , in a good size room.

The breakfast was also good.

This place is now worth booking as first choice.

Free wifi !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on to Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Humber Royal Hotel. As someone who has been loyal to the hotel for a number of years it is always pleasing to receive feedback. As you are aware there has seen a great deal of investment over the last 15 months and internally the hotel has been totally transformed. I am very pleased that you feel it is now the first choice in the area and appreciate you flying the flag on our behalf. Looking forward to accommodating you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards


Anne Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    135
    45
    13
    2
See reviews for
75
128
10
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Clearly a lot of work has gone into refurbishing this hotel. My room was fine, the view across the golf course is lovely and having a balcony is a nice extra.

The hotel is let down by its appearance (style = East Germany 1970s), but there's not much that the management can do about that. At the time of my stay, the lift hadn't been refurbished (it did look like it had been found in a skip!).

Superb cooked-to-order breakfast.

The real bonus here is the staff. All that I met were jolly and attentive.


Points to consider:

NOT in central Grimsby (for good or bad!).
No aircon in the room.
Beware - AMEX not accepted, very unusual in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Given the price, I was not expecting much, but I needed a place to stay as I headed north from London, and Humber Royal it was. Given this hotel is old, and the lift was from another era, I was not expecting much. But from previous reviews I knew the hotel had been refurbished so was not unexpectedly surprised when I entered my top floor room to find a rather nice hotel room. The baclony overlooking the golf course was great but the real pleasure was the bed. I was soooo tired and that night I had the most brilliant sleep in such a comfortable bed. Room service was very great value and breakfast equally as good. The main bar and lounge area is tastefully decorated, and I used the area to access wifi and do emails. What a pity that the rooms don;t have free wifi available.

Yes - despite a rather tired exterior, inside it is great - and such good value !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieAbroad005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here again last week and things are really taking a step forward. I can`t quite believe some of the comments for this hotel as I found it to be very satisfactory indeed last time I stayed. Ok, the outside of the hotel is not the prettiest but I understand that all is being taken care of in good time. Currently the function rooms are being refurbished and if the superb quality of the newly refurbished bedrooms are anything to go by, I can`t wait to see the function rooms completed. This will be a very smart hotel indeed when it is finally finished.
Service was again good, food very good and a wonderful nights sleep in a very comfortable room, what more do you want?
Only reason I didn`t give them 5 stars, was the current lack of WiFi in the rooms!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serviceisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed here on the 4th floor. The room was an excellent size, clean and most important, quiet. The bed was big and comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful. I didn't eat in the hotel as there's a Hungry Horse Pub 50 yards away and I'm thrifty (tight! - wife)
The breakfast what what you'd expect and check out fast and efficient.
The only downside was the lack of wifi in the room, something I was told they are addressing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rincewindcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Property: Humber Royal Hotel
Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing