We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel i ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
gippo10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the worst hotel i ever stayed in”
Reviewed March 11, 2009

i stay in a lot of hotels through out the year and ths is terrible.
to put it in short.
the rooms are crap, the beds are hard, the shower did not work.
the food was discusting and way over priced.
to get the lift to work you had to put your finger into a hole as the button had been pushed through.
i was booked in for the week and i chechedout the next morning and found another hotel.

DONT BOTHER

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gippo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    132
    104
    56
    59
See reviews for
58
97
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Travelling to the Christmas market at Lincoln, we stayed at the
St. James Hotel for two nights in December. We had read the
reviews on trip advisor previously and were a little concerned
obviously. However we were quite surprised that on arrival we
were welcomed by a friendly staff and our luggage was
transferred to our room very quickly. Whilst the hotel is a little
dated, it is undergoing a re-furbishment which will take about
8 months, but we found the hotel to be very clean and our
room which had just been fitted with a new entrance door and
frame, with high security lock was nicely furnished with
comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. The television
whilst being small gave all the five main channels and the
coloured picture was good, which was quite sufficient for our
needs. In the restaurant the quality and quantity of the food
was good and it was sreved hot. The small bar area was
comfortable and the prices were comparable with many other
hotels in which we have stayed. Bearing in mind that the Hotel
is situated in the town centre, a certain amount of night time
noise is understandable, however our first floor room
overlooked the car park and we were not disturbed at all. I can
understand that the rooms which face the church are fronted by
a pathway which leads from the main area of the town, where
all the pubs are situated and you could be disturbed by young
people walking home when the pubs close. Also the church
bell rings early every morning from about 6 oclock onwards.
However the hotel is centrally situated in the centre of a clean
town with a brilliant shopping center and I dont think people
should be put off from going there by previous reviews. We
found it ideal considering the price we had paid.

Satisfied traveller.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — Lack of heating on the stairs and passageways.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank artmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the st James Grimsby. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

the first thing that coaught my eye was a drunk that naerly mugged me as i was about to enter the hotel. when i entered i told the security guard about this and said 'they r all like that mate' and as a left to go to my room i heard him say to the receptionist 'hes was a [-] [-]'. the room was terrible, ive probably seen a hostel look better than that. the food, if you call it food, was terrible. never go again

  • Liked — The exit
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank danielhufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.
I was dissappointed to read the comments. I can ensure you this is not the usual case here at the St James. We do pride outself on customer service.
I hope i can welcome you back and let you see the true standards we deliever.
Thank you again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I stayed here for one night last month whilst visiting relatives in Cleethorpes. I had stayed here on a previous family trip several years ago and it hadn't improved at all.

The rooms and indeed the whole hotel need major refurbishment. The breakfast was awful (I even found a hair in it) and I refused to use the hotel's only lift as it sounded like it was about to break at any minute.

The only upside is its location - in the centre of town near the big shopping centre. However if you don't need to be right in the centre of Grimsby i'd advise a stay at the Premier Inn (on the outskirts) instead!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiregal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness. I will personally discuss your comments with the team and we can improve where we let you down.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

To avoid a very long review, I will just limit this review to bullet points. You should consider that I tavel a reasonable amount and stay in hotels 3 or 4 nights a month. This hotel was in the price range I normally use.:

- Car park is unsecure. I even wrote a sign to state that there were no valuables in my car to deter theifs. I have never done this before.

- Reception was slow

- The public areas are dark, dated and not very clean

- The lock on my door did not work well, a sharp knock from the outside would open it.

- There were drunks hanging around outside, shouting as passers by

- Kids kick footballs at the window

- The bed was smelly and lumpy

- There is a church next door and the bells ring every 15 minutes starting at 7am

- The chair sagged (broken springs)

- The TV picture was awful

- No toileteries (just a small bar of soap)

- All the furnishings and decor are from the 70s or early 80s (seriously)

- The food was barely edible

- Continental breakfast would be £7.50. I went to look and it consisted of 3 types of tinned fruit in bowls. I walked back out.

- They double charged me (they did correct this, but it held me up for 10 minutes at checkout)

I would never stay here again. I would drive hours to avoid this place.

  • Liked — That my car did not get broken into.
  • Disliked — Literally everything, it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HotChilli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

the wedding reception was great. the staff on duty at the time did all they could to help, even down to making our son a sandwich long before the wedding buffet began. although do take out a bank loan if you intend to buy drinks in the hotel as 4 j2os, a gin & tonic and 1 pint of bitter come to £19.85 ???? (are we in london!)the alarms from neighbouring shops appear to ring out in the early hours, on a frequent basis.

the next morning was a disaster. we went for breakfast, ordered 4 full breakfast and extra toast for one of the children, we actually got 2 full breakfast and 2 slices of toast to go with the full english. when we asked where the others were we were told that because my husband was stood looking out of the window they couldnt accept his breakfast order, so we both ended up going without anything due to the staff not
being helpful and saying the chef had hurt her FINGER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!! so if you stay at this hotel please remember to take ear muffs, and a packup, and dont be affraid to demand yourbreakfast (as it was supposed to be a hot buffet) or you will get passed over with bad excuses for staff incompetence.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jimthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness. I will personally discuss your comments with the team and we can improve where we let you down.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottm
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

I stayed here recently. Having read the reviews already posted I feared the worst, but I didn't find it was that bad. I chose it as it was very central, handy for the railway station (I was travelling by train). I got a good deal by ringing the hotel a week or so before (deals also available on their website). Reception staff friendly when I booked in.

The room was OK - mine was clean and bathroom was fine. Decor was adequate. Would have been nice to be open the window a bit more. I didn't get disturbed by noise and welcomed the church being across the square (as I attended a service there!).

The breakfast was included in my room rate . The cold items were very good - help yourself & plenty of choice of fresh/dried fruit, cereals etc. The cooked breakfast (buffet) was not so good - not replenished frequently enough and the eggs were overcooked.

Overall - not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but I have seen much, much, worse! I felt it was OK for the price I paid.

  • Liked — Very central location
  • Disliked — Cooked breakfast not so good
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we have taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind Regards Paul Grantley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
247 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Property: The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing