We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tired but Good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well this is a purpose built hotel that dates from the late Seventies and it shows. It is a typical example of a once modern, luxury hotel/motel that has changed owners a few times in its life and has never had a penny spent on it apart from the necessary maintenance. The decor is very tired and synonomous of the Seventies Decade but the hotel is tidy,clean and comfortable and offers a reasonable good value stay. The room was not small and was complimented with a good size bathroom and the over bath shower was perfect. There is a small residents bar offering very reasonably priced drinks with a restaurant attached that provides non too fussy food also at a very reasonable price. If your need is to stay in the centre of Grimsby then this hotel will serve you well, but just don't expect 4/5 star luxury or modern surroundings.
Would I stay again? -Yes Would I recomend this hotel?-Yes but with the appropiate caveats!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTreborM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for leaving your comments here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we have taken note of your comments regarding the decor postitve and negititve.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    130
    103
    56
    59
See reviews for
56
96
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is actually owned by the Corus Group - some what of a lonely step child. This hotel is what it is. I have to say they have improved the rooms, updated the beds and bedding and improved the bath rooms and no more carpet on the elevator walls. Also update from a four channel TV to a real flat screen with good options. I have to say that the real reason for staying is the location - Good and bad - Right in the center of town next to the shopping center, pubs, banks, buses and rail way station. This is ideasl if you intend not to use a car. Bad only for the rowdy revelers returning from a nights drinking. Compared to other hotels the prices are competitive. Do not base this only other towns and cities. This is grimsby not paris. I paid just over $300 for two connceting rooms for two nights, this is a good price. The staff are mostly friendly. I stay here when ever I visit and will continue to do so. Also ensure you tell them you want an early check in, nothing worse than an overnight international flight and then two hours on a train to arrive at midday to be told your room is not ready. I found the house keeping staff to be very friendly. Family and child friendly. If you want a drink at the bar there is usually some one happy to help. After this we moved on to York and next review on the Your Hilton at Clifird Towers

Room Tip: Make sure you state you do not want to be over the pub called Peps bar and ask to over look the chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlowry001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review which you have put on my tripadvisor account. It is always nice to read positive comments from our guests that appricate the work which has taken place in the hotel. I have been at the hotel for many years and myself and the company have done many projects to up grade the building. I can assure you this is still on going because we plan to have the whole builded up graded but as you can appricate this is a big job.
My staff are committied in making sure that all guest have a pleasent stay with us and it was pleasing to read in your review that the staff did this for you.
I hope to personnelly meet you on your next visit to Grimsby.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Apparently this hotel won a design award in the 70's, not much has happened since. There is a new lift next to an original one, don't take the original, by the time the doors close, the new one will have deposited you on the third floor. Front of house manager was very helpful and friendly, the serving staff in the restaurant and bar didn't really want to be there, not bad, but not too many smiles. Car parking can be a pain if you do not grab a space early. The rooms are clean, but need a total overhaul, new paint and carpets do not cover up the inadequecies. Still using blankets, one pillow per bed, grandma's old mahogany sideboard, bathroom shower was hot and powerful, nothing else apart from the cistren overflow was directed into the bath! Overall though a clean, no frills hotel, but should be as cheap as a Travelodge, use a last resort only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oncea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and I am glad the staff and the room were up to your expectation except for the decor. I will personally look into the points you raised about the decor and the out dated look of the hotel. Over the years i have been at the hotel we have done many projects to up grade the hotel as you can appricate this a on going work. in the meantime I hope to welcome you back to the St James Hotel.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the St. James Hotel on Friday night. The staff were lovely, and nothing was too much hassle. Every request we had was fulfilled within a few minutes. The hotel was very clean and we could not find a fault at all. We booked a Room Only, but paid for Breakfast upon check-out which was definitely worth the money. We will definitely be returning to this hotel sometime in the near future.


Thank you very much

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101. Room had a nice view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanelleNicolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the st James Grimsby. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a nice comfortable room. A bit hot as heating on all through the night. Very clean. Staff very nice. If you are booking through laterooms.com beware as we got charged for breakfast because we hadent clicked the 'offer' button!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNESHAW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the St James Hotel. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us. Looking, forward to welcoming you back to St James Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed overnight on Business. Room was adequate for an overnight stay, with all the usual facilities. It was comfortable, and clean. The building itself is very clinical in appearance, looking more like a 70's block of flats than a Hotel. Breakfast is an optional extra, and very good it is too, as you can help yourself to continental or full English. The hotel staff are pleasant but they fit in to the ambiance of the hotel just fine, as I say. Plain, Simple and no fuss! Sometimes, that is all you need! Andy

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same, with little difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandroverdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the St James Hotel. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us. Looking, forward to welcoming you back to St James Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A room rate of £20.13, 50% off my evening meal and £3 off my breakfast - what's not to like?! However, while I enjoyed my whopper fish at dinner, the food was emerging from the kitchen at an incredibly slow pace, even the soup. I wasn't fussed as it helped me pass the time, but other diners were getting noticeably hacked off. The dining room was also too chilly for comfort, although all was fine the following morning at breakfast. Can't fault the cooked breakfast buffet selection, better than what Holiday Inn Express call breakfast. Slept extremely well once radiator warmed the room up - rooms overlooking the car park are well insulated against traffic etc noise. Pity several rooms occupants were flouting the bedroom smoking ban and causing the corridor to stink - a particular bug bear of mine. Only thing letting the side down was the minimal toiletries provided - small bar of soap and one shampoo sachet. NO shower gel, so be sure to pack some with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park to avoid noise from people passing the front of the hotel 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff very friendly whilst staying here with us also that you enjoyed your breakfast, we have taken your points raised onboard and always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Property: The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing