We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy but slightly dated decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy but slightly dated decor”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed one night (Saturday) in early December whilst in Grimsby for my cousin's wedding. I paid £49 which included breakfast via laterooms.com

Great central location and free parking available. Even though it's central and next to main road, double glazing ensured no noise.

Staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was clean (spotless) and well equipped with mod cons etc and a comfy double bed. Bathroom was slightly dated, with no personality or decor - very sterile, but again very clean and shower was hot and good water flow.

The night I stayed, there was a Christmas party/function downstairs, so the restaurant was unavailable but it didn't bother me as I was out at the wedding. The party was still going when I returned but soon finished and no noise was heard when I fell into bed.

The breakfast was a buffet style with full English and continental on offer. Food seemed fresh and was still hot. Plenty of food and choice, friendly staff greeted me, offering fresh tea and coffee. Other food could also be ordered if buffet choice wasn't what you wanted.

Would be happy to stay again. Feel service, room and breakfast were a good match for the price, however wouldn't want to pay much more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lovelybilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest
I thank you for your comment made about your stay at the St James Hotel.
I understand that the hotel does need investment and we are doing our up most in up dating the hotel.
It was very pleasing to here that the service you recieved was to your satisfactory and that the staff made you welcome.
Again i would like to thank you and i hope i can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    132
    104
    56
    59
See reviews for
58
97
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the St.James on the 30th - 1st December. The winter deal is very good and included breakfast. The breakfast is superb - I like buffet style as you can have what you want and if you wanted anything different you could order it. Unlike many hotels the prices in the bar are not extortionate either and the fish & chips in the restaurant were fine - it saved us going over to St James Chippy on a cold night, being a Grimsby person I don't like rubbish fish & chips!!. The hotel is very close to the town and all the local pubs etc and no problem with parking.
As said in previous reports it is a little dated, but we were given a renovated room on the 2nd floor which was fine. The water in the shower was a little on the cool side and didn't seem to get any hotter no matter what we did but it was OK. I think that it could be of value to get a room facing the back as ours was over the restaurant and on to the street so a few revellers were out late !!! - but no real fuss.
Overall it is nice to find somewhere that gives some value for money and being a world traveller I've stayed at many places that don't.
When we are back up in GY to see my old Mum again we shall certainly stay again. Thanks to all for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorcyclingsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment which you have posted to my trip advisor account.
it is nice to recieve positive comments as this gives the team a boast of confidance.
I hope I can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the hearty greeting on arrival (by Name!) to the hearty breakfasts this hotel is in some ways a throwback to a distant era...
Nothing was too much trouble from the Assistant Manager (Paul) to the receptionist, waiters, cleaning staff and Chef.
When I asked for Eggs Benedict (not on the menu) on the Sunday morning Paul appeared and apologised that they couldn't do them then but would have them for Monday and Tuesday..... they did!
If you go, as we do, at weekends, then get the Corus Hotels offers. Their Autumn/Winter deal includes breakfast at an average £48 per couple per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a "back" room on Friday/Sat nights as it can be a bit noisy overlooking the Minste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear John
Thank you for your review which you put on tripadvisor. i am so pleased that your stay was to your satifactory.
The staff at the hotel alway strive to excel the customers standards and i was nice to hear that their did for you.
Again i would like to thsnk you for then review and i hope i can welcome you back the next time you visit Grimsby.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Short notice visit, quite hard to find but free parking although didnt look very secure.Only used room,which was comfortable & clean but a little dated.Lovely view to church but on a busy walk thru so can be noisy if window had to be left open.Didnt take breakfast as it was expensive but on leaving noticed a sign by lift informing of a cheap breakfast meal deal which we would have taken but was too late.Apart from this the receptionist was friendly & professional with checking in & out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1959848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review i look forward to you welcoming you back and thank you for your comments

Thank You
Paul George
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not the most modern in terms of decoration - bit like walking into 1987, however, this hotel is fabulously clean, staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms are well equiped. Good central location. Excellent value for money.Free parking.The room was clean and neat and was well thought out. x2 extra pillows in the room instead of one. Good lighting - which makes a difference when you are putting your make up on!! Breakfast was brilliant and a good choice to choose from.The overall picture for this place is dated in looks but everything you need in a hotel. We were suprised how good the hotel was and would certainly book again.

Room Tip: If you have any special needs they are very quick to help. Just call - very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the St James Hotel. i look forward to welcoming you back

Thank You
Manager
Paul George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great Hotel, Fabulous Staff,

After spending Two Nights at the Hotel , on a visit to my Aunts , this hotel is situated perfect for my Parents as they are Disabled , when i booked i asked for one of the rooms to be close to the lifts and this was done ..

Also i have to say the Breakfast is Great Value ..

We had Sunday Lunch as well and again it was great value , in fact i would go as far to say it was one of the Best Sunday Lunches i ever had..

I myself work in the Hotel Industry and have to say your Customer service is just Great..

Please pass on my thanks to all staff involved on making our stay complete..


Yours Melvin Withnell

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, I am really pleased that we are meeting your needs and I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in October.
Pleasantly surprised.
The staff are very polite and helpful and do not deserve to have to put up with the scum that the bar attracts. The hotel needs security for this.
The rooms are quite basic, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom fine, but shampoo would be a plus.
Bar and restaurant very good, residents can order 24hrs a day.
All in all I would recommend this hotel as the location is close to central town and it's well priced

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, I am really pleased that we are meeting your needs and I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Property: The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing