We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Stallingborough Grange Hotel due to business in the area. This hotel was excellent value for money. Food in the restaurant was great, as was the breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. We will definately stay again when working in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased your enjoyed both our food and service and do hope you will find the time to visit us again in the near future.

Heather Dutton - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    69
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
73
6
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here one evening on business.

I was really impressed with the warm welcome I received from a gentleman at reception and was quickly checked-in.

The room is of a good size, slightly dated but had a very comfortable and clean bed. That said, many fixtures in the room could have done with a good dust and the hospitality tray in the room was also dirty; I had to clean the mug myself before drinking out of it.

I had dinner and drinks in the bar which is a lovely cosy place to be, however I was confused by the service arrangements. Table service in the bar didn't seem to exist- or did it? I was welcomed to eat dinner in the bar area but every time I wanted to order something, I had to go up to the bar to do so.

The girls working in the bar were really friendly and helpful but slightly inexperienced, perhaps this may be why customers are confused about how they can order. That said, they really do deliver very friendly customer service so good on them.

The food was mediocre to be fair; wasn't anything special and my haddock was far too greasy and I'm convinced the fish wasn't fresh. The scallops were good.

The bar/restaurant prices are reasonable and I would stay here again. I also noticed that my shower hose was burst meaning it was leaking everywhere; I did report this to reception on my departure and hopefully they have fixed it.

Definitely a few issues that can be easily ironed out, however I would stay here again.

The first thing they REALLY need to sort out is the Wifi which didn't work the whole time I was there and other customers in the bar reported the same problem. Due to the remote location, it means there is only GPRS which is often very slow. This could be a problem for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent stay with us. Our aim is to provide a high standard of service with a personal touch. I feel on this occasion we did not come up to the level of service expected from us. All the issues I have looked into. We do offer a service for dining in the bar however as this is more casual then customers do generally order at the bar. Our restaurant is more formal service. Our battered haddock is one of our local dishes and we have daily deliveries of fresh fish from our local supplier Oscar Cleve. As it is deep fried then it can tend to be greasy although we do try to not let this happen. the issues concerning your room I have looked into and remedied. We do on occasions have wifi issues as we are at the very end of the exchange but generally we have good service and have very few complaints. I am pleased you had a friendly welcome and the service of our staff was high. This is one of our main aims to provide very friendly and welcoming staff. We do hope you will come back and visit us and perhaps try something a little different off our new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Husbands birthday treat with 2 friends - we only had a meal and did not stay in the hotal, although the place looked very inviting! Great service by the bar and restuarant staff - we all enjoyed our meals, but unfortunately my husbands steak was a little "overdone" having ordered medium rare it was well done to say the least. Nice place to sit, chat and relax after your meal. Nice ambience and would definitely recommend and give it a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We were delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable meal in our restaurant for your husbands birthday. I am sorry your steak was not cooked to your liking. We do always check on our customers to ensure everything is ok and we do urge customers to let us know if there is anything wrong with there meal at the time so as we can put things right immediately. I do hope you will come and visit us again soon as we have a lovely new menu on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited for the valentines night special meal and was very pleased with the service and the food was excellent, the fish was lovely and moist in the middle. All this at a very reasonable price.
Will certainly be visiting again.
Many thanks Ray and Jo

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you Ray and Jo for you very kind review of your visit to our restaurant to celebrate Valentines Day. We are so pleased you had a very enjoyable meal with us and we look forward to you visiting us again soon. Our new menu is availble from next week and Mothers day is just around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at The Stallingborough Grange Hotel for two nights and found everything to be fine.
The staff were welcoming and attentive . The rooms were a good size with modern furnishings and well cleaned. We ate in the hotel both nights and found a good choice on the menu. Meals were well presented and were very reasonably priced . The hotel has a lovely tranquil side garden, where we enjoyed sitting and having a quite drink after our meal. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last year. We are pleased you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope you will come and see us again very soon. We have new menus now available for you to sample. We look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in May 2012, after purchasing a deal on Groupon. Arrived early afternoon and found the service to be very friendly and efficient. We were shown to our room, which was lovely. We then spent a fantastic afternoon in the lovely garden in the sun! The three course meal we enjoyed in the evening was excellent quality and we rounded off the day with a drink in the cosy hotel bar! Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are so pleased you had such a lovely stay with us last year. The gardens are very beautiful and relaxing to enjoy a summer evening drink. We hope you will come and visit us again in the very near future and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent rooms and food however the restaurent service was a little to be desired, we ordered a bottle of red with our meal and when taken through had to ask the waitress for the bottle, surely it should have been on the table waiting!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 which was nice and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you found your room comfortable and hopefully you had a good nights sleep. I am very sorry though that you found the service in the restaurant not upto the expected standard. We do very much pride ourselves on excellent customer care but on this occasion this has fallen short. We do hope you will take the time to come and visit us again in the near future and prove to you that this is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
5.0 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
463 reviews
5.0 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Property: Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing