We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace”

Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the height of the fishing industry of Great Grimsby! A job often described as the 'most dangerous peacetime occupation in the UK', these men literally risked their lives in order to bring home fish to a port described as 'the world's premiere fishing port'. Come and see their story!
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ace”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This an amazing place we had tremendous fun here and we loved the smell of fish it is also interesting to learn the history of it all and knowing are fishermen are risking there life and people will find this intresting

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    87
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh much better than I expected!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'll be honest. Grimsby seems.....grim. It might have a secret party hard fun area that we couldnt find, but we were stranded in Cleethorpes in the rain and so set out for adventure in the dry. And frankly this was all we could find, and so persuaded our 5 year old it would be fun and off we set.

I am so glad we did! its not expensive to get in and you get your parking refunded. The first couple of rooms are lovely, all about the old navigation equipment but then it really gets going! has a big three story boat complete with smells and atmosphere (think viking centre). We all really enjoyed it and even better the gift shop at the end has nowt really in it so didnt need to smuggle my son past loads of rubbish! Would quite happily go again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank neetylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“a good insight to fishing industry”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

yes it was good to see the history of fishing industry to see what a hard life they had and what went on a traweler and what life was like
more postcard would be good to have on fishing industry
good staff well done tony mbe

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHC_Gy, Public Relations Manager at Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for that, Tony. Glad you enjoyed your visit. We're currently sourcing the photos for more postcards as you suggest - look out for them if you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx London
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good insight into the fishing industry”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a very well set out exhibition for everyone interested in seeing what life was like in the fishing industry. It shows the hardships endured In order to bring the fish into the Docks. It is a good teaching tool for children to learn about an industry which is now sadly in decline
Do support this venture if in Grimsby

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an excellent exhibition”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

it was not only interesting it was well set out
it made you realise the conditions that the fisherman worked in to bring us our fish

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SUE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre also viewed

Grimsby, Lincolnshire
Grimsby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing