We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the PLAGUE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid like the PLAGUE!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I cannot for the life of me understands how this place has allegedly won any of the awards it has portrayed to have received from the local paper. Greased palms and back handers spring to mind as there is no way this place has won anything on its own merits.

We decided to try the place out based on such awards. The bar area was quiet apart from a rowdy couple who obviously knew the staff & management. He was a typical Mackem Neanderthal thug and his partner a lady [sic] of the night obviously using the hotels room facilities for business.

The meals ranged from mediocre to rubbish, which probably summed up the service. When the waitress asked how the meal was, we replied honestly and courteously that we hadn’t enjoyed it. Shortly afterwards we were confronted by the manager/owner who had obviously been drinking and we were showered with a tirade of abuse. He didn’t even have the dignity to introduce himself or ask what the problem was. Every time any of the party tried to speak, he just blurted out more diatribes.

Don’t waste your money here. Aldi and Netto TV dinners dressed up as French cuisine.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Jaffa077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    71
    35
    40
See reviews for
72
149
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

well not a gud meal an afraid ,very disappointing, service poor, no atmosphere served by teenagers that are not bothered about customers poor quality of food an high prices , we have been for a meal twice now ,never again ....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolalisaGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleethorpes hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The room was very small with no room to put a suitcase flat on the floor. The fan in the shower room was noisy and the door did not close properly. Breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful. On a previous visit w ehad a much better room for the same price but on this occasion we were disappointed. Parking is difficult.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iffley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We ended up here by accident, and were drawn in by the nice looking foyer. Reception staff pleasant and lnocked off a tenner from the (as it turns out) slightly overpriced room we ended up with.
Slightly dodgy brown decor upstairs was partly made up for by the room, but for the money, was still a bit keen. I had a poor nights sleep as the curtains are transparent/thin and the street lights and hotel uplighters were blazing into the room, which of course didnt get better come dawn.
This is a fairly busy throughfare and bikes and boy racers were whizzing up and down the street a fair bit- plus its 50 metres from the seafront, cue more boy racers.
Breakfast was good, choose what you wanted from a big menu and it was well cooked with helpful staff.
On a final note, parking very restricted, on street or you might squeeze in around the back. Verdict? stay if you are struggling, but expect difficulty parking, a pricy bill and quite possibly lots of noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesman217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed at the Dovedale for three nights on business and found the hotel certainly amongst the best in the area. Good quality standard room with new freeview wide screen TV, jacuzzi bath and free high speed free broadband. Although the room had a double bed and a bunk bed it was large enough to take these comfortably. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. I only ate in the restaurant once and admittedly had a simple dish of steak on a bed of rocket with chips and salad (which came on seperate plates) which I enjoyed, all included in the price of the meal, no hidden extras. I'm not quite sure why some of the reviews are so negative, it was a pleasure to stay at the Dovedale and I will quite happily stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Went for a meal and drinks here with my friends. The food was average and very over-priced. You have to pay extra for any vegetables and food was very average. Apple pie was like a lump of sawdust, great big hard crust with tinned apple. Pasta in a tin of tomato sauce. Cocktails were very weak. Never again this place is a ripp-off and the management were totally greedy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daytripper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

poor service, rude staff, bad food this place is a joke the only positive was the entertainer finn excellent musician made a poor night entertaining.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank quirlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 8 in Cleethorpes
259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
88 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes
The Dovedale Hotel And Restaurant Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing