We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we booked for the 17-18 august got a room no problem we have room 12
we got at the hotel about 1.15pm was welcomed with friendly staff we was early for booking in but with in 10 minutes we was given the keys to are room
when we got to are room its was lovely and clean in facted it was lovely.
we went in and out most of the day and every time we seen a member of staff we had a hello or a smile.
at night time we sat in the bar area and all the staff was friendly again had time to stand and talk asking if every thing was ok.
in the morning we went down for breakfast good gob I looked how big the breakfast was I went for the children size. but once's again very welcoming offered tea coffee you could also help your self to orange milk and apple juice there was othing bits you help your self to.
check out is at 12 but we checked out early and asked if we could leave the car in the car park and the lady said yes that's alright as long as your not blocking anyone in

over all I loved my stay here and will be booking again soon
and thank you to all the staff for making are stay welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carla050586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    93
    71
    35
    40
See reviews for
72
148
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

my wife and eye had walked past this rather nice looking hotel a few times and today decided to have a creamtea.
the sun was out and we sat outside in nice table and compty chairs.
we ordered full creamtea and singe creamtea.
well out came the tea in nice old fashioned teapot, very nice.
but for bizzare reason the rest never came out for 20minutes.
now the place was empty,now we are from down south and ived had plenty of lovely cream teas but this was a cheap n cheerfull effort trying to be posh but failing.
the cost wasnt cheap just under £14 well we had nice sandwiches with crisps a scone with cheap whipped cream,now when you say its clotted cream then you use it.
now the cakes this was biggest joke they were cheap kids cakes with smarties on top,two of them.
i did complain as this was very poor standard of ingredients.
also down south leaftea is served not up north .
at least the food was edable just not worth £14 please dont waste your money, all i got was a im sorry
not good enough

Helpful?
6 Thank 959Hatter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Cleethorpes hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I must say i didnt stay at the Hotel, but did go there to dine in their restaurant. I was impressed that they had a ramp in place for disabled customers in wheelchairs. the Hotel looks amazing outside and in. As a registered blind person who uses a guide dog though i was a little disappointed. The reason being, we were told that we would have to sit near the fire exit, which i didnt mind, but when we entered the dining room, all the diners were at the top end of the dinning room and we were shown to the far end to an area which wasnt being used and put right in the corner because we had the guide dog with us. i have telephoned the hotel to express my disappointment at this and they have apologised. I asked if they could make their staff aware of disabled rights as i felt i was being discriminated against and couldnt join the rest of the diners. When i go out i like to be with others as i go out to be social. Hopefully the next time i visit things will be different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJMBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a very enjoyable weekend stay at this hotel. We were very impressed with the standard of the room and furnishings. Most importantly, the bedroom and bathroom were very clean! We took our own travel cot and there was plenty of room to accommodate it in the room. The little touches also made our visit, such as plenty of milk and good quality loo roll! The breakfast was very good also, with plenty of choice. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and again had a really good meal. The staff were very friendly especially towards our one year old. Overall, very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel. Room Was lovely we had an executive room was very clean it had a nice little balcony it sit out on and enjoy the weather. Staff were friendly. I could only find a few faults we ate in the restaurant waited almost an hour before before ate. Steaks were wonderful but them only had the house dressing for the salad with no other option and pepper corn sauce tasted like flour. Thank You for a plesant stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am confined to a wheelchair, because I can't walk or stand. I told the receptionist of my predicament when I booked, and was assured that they had disabled facilities.
On arrival, accompanied by my brother and nephew, I found that the ground floor room was far from satisfactory. There was a fusty smell, probably due to a section of skirting board and door frame that was rotten. The wooden laminate flooring was curling up at the edges,and there was tape holding down the door mat. The wet room was very small with no grab rails. I couldn't use the shower because there was no fold down seat on the wall, The bed was so high that I couldn't transfer onto it with the aid of my slide board. My brother and nephew had to lift me out of my wheelchair and put me on the bed. I've slept in beds in many Hotels in many countries and have never experienced any thing like it before.
When I told the receptionist of my findings, I was met with negative comments.
Had it been my wife who had been with me, we couldn't have stayed.
I am pleased it was only for one night. Never again.

Room Tip: Find disabled accommodation that is regulated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not a bad little hotel, staff was friendly enough, could do with new carpets and the wood work on the stairs could do with cleaning( very dusty) the bug bear though was when we returned from a 80th birthday meal, we all went back to the dovedale but got told there was a private function on and wasn't allowed in the bar for a drink...was mostly shocked, but got told we could sit outside in the smoking canopy being June the weather wasn't brilliant and having 3 pensioners over 80 I though how generous NOT.....not impressed at all...will not be staying again on that principle and will no recommend to anyone

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gas_Heads08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 8 in Cleethorpes
259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
88 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes
The Dovedale Hotel And Restaurant Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing