We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food ,Friendly Atmosphere.”
Review of The Trawlerman

The Trawlerman
Ranked #4 of 143 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Carvery
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food ,Friendly Atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Was visiting area and called in for Car very, it was excellent value ..We will certainly call again SOON ..Well done The Trawlerman..would Recommend. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Great review thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    236
    87
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value family food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited based on the majority of trip advisor reviews (ignoring the few negative ones) whilst staying at nearby holiday park and very glad we did. Very good family feed at a great price and a welcome break from the holiday park eating venues. Play areas indoor and out for the kids. A great carvery for the adults. Spot on and would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are pleased you checked tripadvisor .Thankyou for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited this Restuarat/Pub whist on holiday in cleethorpes recently.We went in on a lunchtime & there wasent many tables left as the place was very busy.We chose to have the cavery which at £3.99 each thought it very good value.There was a choice of 3 meats Beef,Turkey& Gammon & a selection of vegetables,sauces & Gravy.There was also stuffing & yorkshire Puddings.There was a selection of Deserts the price of these were good as well I had a chocolate indulgence Sundae a chocoholics dream.However if you didnt want the carvery there wasent really much else to choose from there was a few pies sausage & mash & a fish dish so not really a great selection there was a few starters as well.They did have a glass cabinet full of Gateauxs & big cakes & the biggest Profitteroles ive ever seen these can be purchased & taken away if you dont want to eat them inside.The staff we come across were all very friendly.If i lived in cleethorpes i would be a regular visitor here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliceNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are pleased you checked tripadvisor .Thankyou for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visited October 2013 whilst staying at nearby holiday park after reading reviews and we were not disappointed! Great for family's with indoor and outdoor play area and good value family pub food at excellent prices. A must visit if holidaying in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Breakfasts could be better”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ive had many carvery meals at the Trawlerman and they have on the whole been enjoyable.
We thought breakfast would be similar - not so!

I'm not that fussy with bacon, but theirs was rock hard (like leather!) Not a hope of getting a fork into it so I used my fingers! Toast varied massively in size and degree of toasting - some was medium toasted, a lot was basically dried warm bread.

Eggs were good, scrambled eggs were good too, as was beans and tomato. Sausages were on the thin side, and not very tasty. We were asked how our meal was to give them credit, and we told them how poor the bacon was.

I don't think we'll go again for breakfast,and as Cleethorpes is a holiday / seaside town, there are many other places to enjoy breakfast apart from here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevep3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are working on getting breakfasts better thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trawlerman also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Trawlerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing