We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend in Brown's Rooms”
Review of Browns Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Browns Rooms
Ranked #3 of 25 Cleethorpes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend in Brown's Rooms”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the 'White Room' over 2 nights in April 2013. The property is tastefully decorated throughout & the bedroom is very spacious (a very comfortable King size bed with Egyptian cotton bed linen plus a single bed is available) and spotless. The bathroom is compact and practical and the complementary toiletries and magazines are a nice touch. It is easy to park in the street (no park meters) and the area is safe. The host is very welcoming and the pubs recommended were all tried on the first night. The food served is of excellent quality and the choice makes it worth staying more than one night to try them all. Being into our food ourselves we could not fault a single thing. We will definitely stay at Brown's room again on our yearly visit to visit our relatives. Ian and Amelie from Hove.

Room Tip: The area is quiet & the host family very considerate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
54
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Browns Rooms is fantastic and Rebekah is your perfect host. On arrival we had Tea/Coffee and homemade cakes delivered to our rooms. We had both rooms they have to offer the White Room and the Green room and they are spotless. Breakfast is fantastic Homemade bread and preserves along with the choice of English Breakfast or Fresh Fish nothing is to much trouble. Browns Rooms is your perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The White Room is spacious and a Double and single bed and the green room is cosy with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went a year ago and almost to the day Rebekah was exactly the same friendly~funny~ welcoming and we knew at that moment we had made the right decision to return and she remembered us! Fabulous overnight stay in the Green Room so crisp and clean and with lovely finishing touches. We had brought a bottle of champagne with us and immediatley out came the champagne bucket with ice and two glasses wonderful! Breakfast outstanding~lots of choice and cooked to perfection. What more could you want? I would recommend Browns Rooms to everyone fabulous place!

Ann & Jude Sheffield.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We tried this guest house for no other reason than it is rated No 1 out of the seven rated in Cleethorpes. The Hostess is truly obliging and very accomodating, offering tea and homemade cake on arrival and homemade preserves at breakfast which itself is very good with choices which include fish as well as the usual offerings.
We overnighted in the smallest room and although very nicely furnished with exquisite bedding and co-ordinating curtains, the very small en-suite shower room just spoils the overall satisfaction from being 100%. A not uncommon problem in guest houses where the en-suite has been added into an existing bedroom.
Car parking near the guest house would be on the street, if you could find a space, in a very car intensive residential area and those streets are quite narrow as well.
The Hostess has to be the best we have ever had the pleasure of staying with and for that reason alone this has to be a guest house to try.

Room Tip: The small twin bedded room has a very small shower room. It is only as wide as the shower tray and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTreborM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Was bit worried that it only had two rooms and imagined feeling a bit uncomfortable. But so glad I plumped for it. The White Room was lovely, really spacious. Rebekah is a fantastic host, I got the lovely home made cake and tea!
She made reservations at a nearby restaurant where she said I would feel fine dining alone and she was right. Breakfast was lovely, even the bread was home made.
My room had a single bed as well but didn't feel crowded and would be good for a family in the summer. It's a shame Cleethorpes is so far away for me as would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Even if you don't like Cleethorpes, you have to come here just for the experience.

Everything is perfect, the room is beautiful, the welcome amazing and the breakfast magnificent. The proprietor can't do enough for you and her efforts are over and above what you would expect.

I am a vegan and she made sure I had milk, yoghurt and veggie sausage for breakfast. I appreciated all she did and enjoyed my stay so much

A big thank,you :-)

Room Tip: There's a double room and a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and friends stayed here for two nights during November 2012: other friends had the cottage and my daughter was two doors down the road in our hosts main competition (Rebekah's friends at Tudor Terrace). All eight of us had a lovely time staying in Cleethorpes and if you haven't been for a few years you'll be surprised how it is turning (for the good).

Anyway: back to Brown's Rooms. We were met by Rebekah, a most congenial host and guided into the breakfast room to sign in and have a pot of tea along with a newly baked Ginger cake, watched closely by one of the house cats. We discussed variuos things with Rebekah and told her our plans, she in turn explained where the better places to eat were in town and where they were.

We had booked the Green room and it was great: clean, tidy and well appointed with anything and everything we might have needed: didn't use the bath-robes, but they looked warm and inviting.

Our friends showed off the larger and slightly more expensive (to stay in) White room which was also spot on. The fishermans cottage a few streets away was also lovely and ideal for our mates who stayed there: tastefully decorated and with enough space for eight of us to celebrate Grimsby Town winning 5-1 on the Saturday!

Breakfast was a leasurely affair each morning with full cooked for most of us, one in our party did have one of the fish specials and loved it, sounded good on the board and looked fine too, has to be ordered the day before, so the fresh fish can be bought.

All in all a great weekend and we have now found our resting place when ever we return to Cleethorpes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincolnshirechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 8 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.5 mi away
Jedburgh Guest House
Jedburgh Guest House
#1 of 25 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Rooms

Property: Browns Rooms
Address: 17 Bradford Avenue, Cleethorpes DN35 0BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Browns Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Rooms Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing