We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place, it just gets better.”

The Captain's Table
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love this place, it just gets better.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A wonderful meal again on the 30th March. The service was second to none and not intrusive. All the food was fresh and arrived quickly. For a change we had the fish medley between three of us and we weren't disappointed. It has scallops, goujons, Monkfish, Cod, Halibut and other types of fish. We could finish it all! Four of us had three courses each including two bottles of wine, two beers and juice and the bill was £120. excellent value at £30 each for fine dining and wine.

We will keep returning here as they make you feel so special and nothing is too much trouble. This restaurant is the only place to eat fresh seafood in the area as there is not a freezer or packet mix in sight.

Well worth a visit for a special occasion or lunch. You can also go and just have drinks in a lovely environment away from the busy bars and pubs in Cleethorpes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunloungerLizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    122
    53
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent service and fantastic food”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We've eaten at the Captain's Table several times now, and have been impressed every single time.

As you'd expect, the menu is mostly fish (although there are always a couple of non-fish options in case there's anyone in your party who doesn't like it) and the menu changes frequently based on season and availability.

There's always a traditional battered haddock, chips and peas on the menu, which I tried once (and always looks popular) and stands up against anywhere else locally (Steels and Leons included)

The rest of the menu is always well balanced, with sauces and accompaniments which complement the fish beautifully. I particularly like that dishes are always fairly simple, allowing the fish to shine through - and the fish is always perfectly cooked.

The staff are lovely and friendly, and service is always efficient but unhurried.

Prices are also extremely reasonable for the menu and the quality - especially in comparison to other similar places in the area - last time we ate there we chose the platter, put together with some of each of the main courses on the menu that night, a massive, varied, tasty treat to share - and the main course was still well under £20 a head.

If you've been wondering whether or not to try Captain's Table, then stop dithering and book a table - you won't regret it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhirlpoolGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant, good location, good choice of food.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A nice restaurant, great choice on menu; enough to please everyone. Good sized portions. Make sure you ask for a high chair if you need one, there was a mix-up when I went and we struggled to keep a toddler in one place! Staff are helpful, price is reasonable. a real hit in the area; always appears pretty busy. Perfectly located for a little walk along prom to work the food off afterwards! I recommend the chef's special to share - a taste of everything!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetney
Level Contributor
302 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I had the skate and it was lovely - very fresh and cooked with lemon butter and capers. My friend had a platter which looked divine. Will go again!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food - slow service”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here recently. We had a main each and had to wait some time before it arrived. We had to wait about 35 minutes for our dessert! There were only 6 diners in the restaurant. In saying that the food was excellent but we would not have the time to eat in our lunch hour. The staff were very friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Table also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing