We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice family break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice family break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just got back from Thorpe Park and was generally quite impressed. The caravan was modern and upto date and was more than I expected from the Sun holiday scheme. The site was really clean and we even got regular visits from the resident phesant. The bar is quite expensive however, £3.63 for a pint of lager and going on £1 for a glass of cordial for the kids!! Overall, a lovely site but get saving.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    386
    214
    93
    87
See reviews for
872
72
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armthorpe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been going to Thorpe Park for three yrs now, and i will say it's taking sometime but is getting better. They are cleaning it up. Spending money where it is needed on more seating, grounds. Same about the out sided water play area needs to be looked at, half of the sprays don't work, when the suns out little love the water. But over all doing good . The food is lovely good price good deals on Mon-Fri 25% of food between a set time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thredders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the park, having visited for the first time last September. We booked it because it was relative close to home and it had the all important fishing lake to keep the hubby amused but to be honest I wasn't really expecting much. With that in mind it wasn't exactly difficult to exceed our expectations but the site did that in abundance.

We were by the fishing lake on both visits and found the site to be clean, we'll kept and with great facilities for families with children and those without!

We loved the Oriental Express buffet restaurant which is a short drive out of the park towards Cleethorpes and at £7.99 a head was excellent value.

Cleethorpes itself isn't brilliant but towards the park and opposite the Oriental Express (which is on the edge of a lovely country park) is a cinema, bowling alley and a couple of fast food restaurants. The walk from the park into Cleethorpes is via a coastal path which is a pleasant stroll especially when the tide is out.

We'll definitely make it a regular weekend chill out zone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hoods_Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Well as an owner at thi park it has it's ups and downs, there are lots of security issues which if you are only there for a week won't bother you, the site itself is awesome for kids and adults alike the outdoor pool area (when open) is great and the entertainment in the evening is average for thi kind of place. All in all a nice family holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunandseasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in our own tent over Easter. We have visited Park Restorts before but this was our first time to a Haven. I was a little concerned as the weather beforehand was cold and windy, and the site is right on the beach, but the weather was actually fine, and the camping pitches sheltered from the wind.
The beach was very nice, and there is a walk/cycle path directly into Cleethorpes. Cleethorpes itself is typical of seaside towns, with tatty arcades etc, but overall very clean and well maintained. the beach there looked nice as well.

The Haven site is huge - the touring pitches are close to the entertainment centre , although we never heard any noice from it. The toilet blocks were plentiful, clean and warm, with decent showers. They were accessed by a key, secured on a £10 deposit. We asked for 2 keys and that did not seem to be a problem.

The pool was nice, with a very small slide inside. the outside flumes were not open that early in the season. The changing areas were not the cleanest - mainly people insiting in walking around in outdoor shoes - and the staff were constantly sweeping the floor. The lockers are 20p, and it is refundable. The life guards (there were usually 3 or 4) kept good order in the pool, which was warm and perfectly pleasant. The showers the first day were freezing, but other days were fine so this was temporary.

The entertainment for the children (5 and 4) was very good. They enjoyed the daytime activities they attended, and the staff were genuinely interested and professional - much better than Park Resorts. The evening entertainment for the children was 6-7, which fitted in well with their routine, ands they loved dancing and meeting the 'characters'. We didn't stay past that, but the entertainment did seem varied and something for older ones as well - it was not dominated by the bingo as Park Resorts is.

As the weather was fair, and the pool, beach and entertainment good we never actually left the site, which muct be a first!

I would definatly go back. It was school holidays so I imagine it was quite busy in the statics (the camping field was not busy) and the resources seem to be in place to deal with it.

The only disppointment was the restaurant, which we used for lunch before we came home and was awful - a thin, dry burger and some chips for £9. I said we would have been better at Burger King, and thats from someone who would never go to a fast food joint!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent holiday but don't go to amusements! We had a great 5 day holiday, lots to do just not enough time to do it, wanted to stay longer but it was fully booked for weekend, it was quite quiet when we went as it was out of school holidays so there was plenty of friendly helpful staff, my two year old loved the children tots thing, staff were lovely with kids and very enthusiastic, food out the cafe wasn't great but fish and chip shop excellent, whole caravan site very accommodating for kids, all but amusements, I know you don't have much chance but they gave you no chance to win any toys! When we complained that the claw doesn't even reach the toy, the lovely staff member said she agreed with me and her supervisor did too, but manager told her to take toys out, scandalous! And not fair on kids x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnabambonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

A huge campground/village not catering well for touring... Friendly start but forgetting to give us key for toilet/bathrooms also only get one key (3 females 1 male) facility's were clean and good space in showers overall was a good stopover. friendly staff but need to cater better for arrivals after 5pm specially during daylight savings!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
4.4 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.8 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing