We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected Sun newspaper family break! Impressed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“better than expected Sun newspaper family break! Impressed!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

In a nutshell - I'm very impressed!

We arrived (myself 32y woman, with partner 35 and mother in law (65) and our 1 year old) on site expecting a huge queue...NO queue at all! Then we were surprisingly upgraded AGAIN to a 3b prestige caravan with two toilets (we upgraded via the paper to the deluxe plus 2bed).

Walked into a caravan (38 waterside) and our mouths dropped to the floor! Extremely modern, clean, spacious, warm and perfect location! I was instantly thinking bargain as I'd never done a sun holiday before!

Our caravan was a short drive from reception/ easy 10m walk passed two duck ponds to all the facilities...so in my opinion great location with beautiful views!

The facilities on site were a little old for my 1y old but she loved the small soft play area and we took her to a craft session and a few character meet and greets. we used the pool and the only negative I can think of is that the showers were freezing! My poor little girl was dithering so much I had to get the hair dryer on her instantly!

We didn't eat on site, but drinks weren't too expensive and overall I think prices seemed fine.

Would highly recommend going to The Trawlerman which is only a 10m walk away and have a carvery....huge portions and very well priced! Not much else I can say as only went for 3n and cleethorpes is a typically small sea side town with a few coffee shops etc?

Very impressed with haven, and the sun holiday scheme! Will def go again!



  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    428
    235
    100
    92
See reviews for
969
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went here for 7 nights back in May 2012 and I would highly recommend this park! It is really Large so may not suit families with young children, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the only bad point is that the funstars didn't really seem that keen on staying focused while preforming and could easily be heard laughing and joking about having to do the dances again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew_Harris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in 59 Palm Springs (Prestige 2012 model). The caravan was faultless - clean, spacious and warm (!). So accommodation was great. The park centre leaves a little to be desired. Nothing can be accessed without negotiating the outdated Funworks amusements. The show bar really needs a face lift - furniture is about as old as the stale beer smell the fills the place. The sports bar was OK and food not bad if you like chips. The staff are awesome. Checking in was a breeze and every member of staff we met was exceptionally helpful, friendly and keen to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After our week at the start of the season which was great, we returned again toward the end of the season just to see if it was the same.To our joy the camp was just as clean and tidy as our fisrt vist,the staff were still as good, the caravan not the same one but just as clean and tidy as before. We would recomend this site of it's good value for the money and it's wonderful friendly poeple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the April we had visited primrose valley which is another park in the group for a short break (3nights) so we thought we would give the other park a go what a mistake ! The clubhouse was a dirty place where the tables wasn't wiped or cleared from the previous person and the carpet was sticky. The caravan I think had been cleaned once upon a time, enough said . I would love to say something redeeming about this place but am going to struggle so I'll say something positive about the chain "GO TO PRIMROSE VALLEY".

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesJules00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days at Thorpe park haven in cleethorpes - have had a very good time here. We booked a 'prestige' caravan on Palm Springs right on the coast. The date is November so it's pretty much the last weekend of the season.

We booked this location as its halfway for both ourselves (2 adults 1 three yr old son from Scotland) and my brother and his partner travelling up from Kent.

Have to say its been a great experience all in all - upon arrival we weren't overly impressed with Grimsby town as it looks a bit delapidated and run down and then cleethorpes itself - a typical British seaside town with admittedly a very beautiful coastline / promenade but very dated we thought (shops aren't worth a look unless you're into old fashioned 2p coin arcades and budget stores).

The caravan park is fine however (although we did struggle to find our caravan when we got here at 1000pm and had to contact emergency security for guidance as caravans / signs weren't easy to navigate for Palm Springs) - upon arrival at the caravan we were very, very impressed - well presented, great layout, all amenities - a home from home really! TV with about 50 freeview channels, microwave, oven, fridge, great seating - very comfortable and we were extremely impressed so 10/10 for the accommodation :)

The on site facilities are very good - the clubhouse is great with a free soft play, bar area arcade etc - most of the outside entertainment was closed however but it was so cold that wasn't an issue.

We ate in the clubhouse and the prices were very reasonable - £7 for a large breakfast and unlimited tea / coffee and drinks of an evening aren't too pricey.

The highlight was the aqua area (swimming pool) - we visited this twice and the little guy loved it...remember to pack your swimming costume and any armbands etc for the children. Very clean and great for all ages - remember a 20p for the locker (non returnable)

There is a spar shop onsite - we used this twice but relied on the tesco metro / aldi along in Grimsby for main items. Staff at spar weren't overly friendly I thought but never mind! 'Do you have any French sticks please?' NO! Sold out. 'Do you have anything similar?' NO! lol

For fireworks night on Saturday we paid £6 a head for a special event at the cleethorpes light railway - it was fantastic...such a treat and the little guy loved it - we took the mini train from behind the pleasure park into the leisure centre and back again plus had a burger and a hot drink AND fireworks display - they were selling tins of beer / cider at the station and it was fantastic - must give huge thanks to the volunteers who had made this possible - best fireworks night we've had!

I'd certainly consider coming back again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rclemence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Arrived early at caravan park with the kids for the weekend and was greeted by freindly staff and as our caravan was quite a journey they offered us a caravan that was closer which we kindly declined,Our party consisted of 2 adults and 5 kids,when we arrived at the caravan we found it to be spotless so were happy enough with that,Passes for activities seemed a little steep but found out that if you go into cleethorpe's itself many of the park activities can be found there and are cheaper,overall beach was lovely and we had two red hot days on our stay,shops on site seemed normal priced as well as most of the takeaways on site Burger King etc,Show bar was quite good also but did mainly cater for the kids but there is another bar on site as the show bar was always crowded but again kids were occupied throughout,will be making plans to return to Thorpe Park very soon as it is such a lovely and freindly place where the staff will do their level best to help out where they can.Would truely recommend to anyone that has a family with children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
2.3 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
4.5 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing