We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break with parents september 2012”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

a lovely break caravan was above expectations , took mum and dad for a surprise break, the staff on the resort was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the place was spotless and really well kept, and the harvester just outside the park was amazingly cheap and a wonderful carvery at £3.89, my dad being a really fussy eater could not wait to get back there the following night. will go again, check in excellent had a wonderful deluxe caravan and all requests were met for mobilty purposes for my parent
Thanks thorpe park

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominica1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 1/2 term break at thorpe park, on the whole we had a nice time and would like to return in the summer.
The staff who greeted us at check in were very nice and friendly, we booked a prestige 2 bed caravan and paid extra for a 2012 model. We werent disapointed, the caravan was lovely and clean and in a location close to the entertainment, but not noisy-lakeside 71. The only downside being there were only 4 chairs for the table and , we had a quilt for the pullout bed, but, no quilt cover, so check for this before bedtime!! ( didnt see a single spider!!) . This is a self catering holiday, and you need to bring everything which includes loo roll too, ( i know some folk think it should be provided!).
I'd recommend getting a 2 bed caravan if theres just 4 of you as the storage and living space is so much better than in a 3 bed.
Our caravan did not have any hard standing parking as indeed alot don't on this site, in fine weather no probs, but it was very muddy as we had alot of rain.
Swimming pool is nice and the outdoor splash area and slides look good for the summer months . The downside about the pool are you have to take off your shoes before you enter the changing rooms, the lockers are 20p each which isnt refunded ( this is standard for all Haven sites weve been too) the lockers are very small , we needed 3 for a family of 4 . ( which adds to the parental meltdown in the changing rooms). When we left the pool the showers were cold, don't plan to shower your kids here its not warm enough.

When you go into the aquabar there is small a softplay area and a veiwing gallery into the pool which means non swimmers can also watch their family in the pool which is nice. The only food we had in the aquabar was sandwiches, they were nice, my daughter had chicken nuggets though, which were not.
There are 2 expensive spar shops on site, alternatively there is tescos in Cleethorpes.
Other food outkets are burger king, cooks fish & chips and papa johns pizza.
The entertainment was OK , typical haven fayre. Tables in the showbar were dirty,we wiped them with babywipes.
There are a couple of small rides, teacups and a carousel, i took my girls out to the rides, they were desperate to go on the carousel, but, we had to wait 10 mins (while the rides were in progress) for my other half to come with the money, when the attendant in the kiosk saw him coming he couldnt get the shutter down quick enough to say they were closed, couldnt let them go on. Sadly its things like that you remember.

Cleethorpes itself - i had the pre conceived opinion that there was nothing there , i was pleasantly surprised:
There was golf, bowling, a cinema, craft village ,leisure centre, gym and spa, jungle zoo, retail parks, lovely park with an outdoor pool, We went on the light railway which also had a cafe and bar and really enjoyed that, the magical castle softplay was also great. There is also pleasure island of course.
Theres also lots of places to eat including a carvery and all you can eat oriental buffet.

I didnt intend to make this review so long, well done if you read to the end!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having been to "Thorpe Park" many times before we had never stopped in a "Summerhouse" so we did for the weekend. First impressions were, good location (right next to the car park which is close to the beach) close to "Funworks" for our young boy. Modern looking caravan from exterior & excellent looking caravan from interior. This caravan is ideally suited for small families (there are only 3 of us), it's very modern looking with wall mounted wide screen TV, excellent looking kitchen units & worktops, well decorated throughout & the heating system is very warm as this is a small van with the living room being situated in the middle and the bedrooms being either side, with large patio doors letting in lots of light. When we next go to "Thorpe Park" we will try to book into another "Summerhouse" as these would be great in the summer, this caravan enhanced our stay at "Thorpe Park" on a cold, wet October weekend.

Room Tip: If you have time check out the "Pefabs" around the back of "Thorpe Park" it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went to thorpe park last weekend and had a great time. We booked a standard caravan but recieved a superior 3 bed which was fabulous as it meant my mum had a bedroom and the two 10 year old girls had one and I also had a room and did not have to sleep in the lounge area. The caravan was well - equipped and clean. We hired a small electric heater for a modest sum. The facilities on site were great and also clean. Only ate on site once at the burger king but the food in the main restaurant looked very appitizing especially the sunday lunch. What made our stay was the helpfulness of the staff. They were all very friendly and eager to help whenever asked. They provided all the info we asked them for without hesitation and always with a smile. Many thanks to the staff. This holiday completely changed my opinion of Haven holidays and will be booking again next year. Thanks Haven keep up the good work

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emilyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Decided to go with prestige caravan and could not fault the cleanliness, was placed in the perfect location,near all the attractions.Service was great but the food in the Aqua Bar was bad. Some food was a bit on the burnt side. Prices were very bad for poor quality food.

The space bowl flumes was GREAT and the swimming pool of good quality.
One of the other problems was booking the inflatables for the kids. Owners were of first priority - which is understandable but the holiday makers was constantly fully booked and only time tabled for once a week.

Would reccomend this holiday but can be very expensive. Few problems but not very many.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend at Thorpe Park with my family. When we checked into our caravans we were very very disappointed with the cleanliness. Furnishings were filthy as was the floor. The sinks had not been cleaned and there were old razors from the previous users in the shower!!!!!!!. This was a Deluxe 2012 model. The cooker could not be used as it had no seal on the oven so the heat just went out the top. One saucepan had a loose handle which could have been very dangerous if it had snapped with hot liquid in.

The pool was ok but the changing area was not very clean.

We walked to the far end one morning and it was very run down. It felt like a run down derelict seaside resort and we were glad our caravan was down the other end of the park. We had requested one at the end near the entertainment and were glad of that.

After checking out we decided to have a breakfast before leaving. We had to queue for half an hour. There was only one poor girl serving everyone with food,drinks and taking orders. On check out day when people often have long journeys and may like to have breakfast why not put more staff on.

On a positive note the entertainment was good and the kids enjoyed it.

I think the staff all worked incredibly hard .

I would say I would definitely not return here or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

my daughter,2 grandchildren and myself had a lovely short break last week at thorpe park.we found the park to be very well kept and clean.our caravan was in a quiet spot but only 5 minutes from main complex.however taking a ride on the train we saw just how massive the site is.in the main weeks would the facilities and entertainment rooms get too packed.the childrens favourite is the soft play and swimming pool niether are very large areas so this could be a problem.we did have a good time though and had a meal in the bar and relaxed with a few drinks as there was loads of places spare because the showbar was full.its a great idea to have the soft play in the bar corner as the kids are happy and grownups get to relax and enjoy the verry funny man singing,telling jokes and forgetting what he was going to do.all in all we loved it but prefer a smaller park and like to try different haven sites .friendly staff ,nice area.

Room Tip: its a large park so think what you need to be near before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christinemurphy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
1 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
79 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.8 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven Cleethorpes, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing