We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Morocco in Cleethorpes”
Review of Fez

Fez
Ranked #32 of 171 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Mum visited Morocco with my Dad shortly before he died. It was a holiday they both loved and one of the highlights was the food. I was therefore delighted yesterday to take her to find a small piece of Morocco in Cleethorpes. From the moment we walked in the staff were attentive and friendly and we both loved the attractive décor, but then the food took it to another level. I had the chicken brochette which was melt in the mouth delicious, whilst my Mum had the lamb tagine which she assured me was as good, if not better, than anything she tasted in Morocco. We both had pancakes and ice-cream for dessert even though that was greedy as the main courses had been filling enough, but they were too tempting to ignore and they fully lived up to the expectation. With two mains, two sweets and a bottle of wine the price was £50 which is cheap for that level of excellence. I cannot wait to go back.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolynAppleby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2019

My two sons treated us to a meal in this restaurant for a mother's day treat. It's not open on Sundays so we went Saturday evening. The decor was wonderful, a slice of the middle east in cleethorpes. The service was prompt and friendly and helpful. The food was attractive to the eye and seasoned well. It was full of flavor. The portions were huge and we had a fabulous evening

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank sharonandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

My partner had found this place and thought it would be a nice treat as I had not been back to Marocco for a cpl of years. On arrival we were seated quickly and service to start was good, food arrived in a reasonable time but very disappointed with quality, presentation was good but quality of meat poor, lamb tough, chicken dried up as were kofta flat bread rubbery. Knife wouldn't cut butter. No offer of another drink or sweet. Over priced not authentic. Will not return

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dotw153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbdelljabbarC, Owner at Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so sorry that our food didn't meet your expectations and that saddens us. I can confirm that all of our chefs are Morrocan so it should be authentic. All of your comments have been taken on board and hopefully rectified. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment we can only improve on service and food by the comments of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

The menu need to be clear and the staff need be able to explain the dishes better. Poor food quality and service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pathfinder609064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbdelljabbarC, Owner at Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are really sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. All comments are taken on board thank you Fez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

After reading all the other reviews , not sure if we just chose a bad night ?
Food ok but very small portions !
Must have been new staff , never asked if we required water, no second drink offered or even a desert or coffee !
Left disappointed and hungary
Will not return

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Earthboundmisfits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbdelljabbarC, Owner at Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy our restaurant.. Al your comments have been taken on board Fez!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fez also viewed

 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing