We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Bourne B&B and Inns
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very nic stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First impressions showed the place to be a little tired, my room was upstairs above the bar. However the room was excellent in a oldie worldly way.

The restaurant was first class and the service is excellent. There was a little bit of noise from the bar in the venong, but not too bad.

Breakfast was also very good, an all round pleasure to stay.

My only issue was, the site I booked on neglected to tell me the Hotel is part of a golf course, I'd of taken my clubs if I'd have known

Room Tip: Take your golf clubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor. Hopefully we will see you again soon and remember to bring your clubs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
55
57
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have eaten at the Toft on a number of occasions as it is the nearest pub and restuarant to a close relative that we visit a number of times each year. The pub itself is quite pleasant, expecially in winter with the log fires, it also seems to double as a clubhouse for the Toft golf course. We have eaten a couple of times in the bar and, for me, that is preferable to eating in the lofty restaurant. The food is quite pleasant without being too exciting and the kitchen and waiting staff are quite competent but I just find it a bit boring.
I have not stayed in the hotel but I have attended a function in the newer extension and this was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmythe0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Toft Hotel several times over a few weeks whilst working in Stamford.
Overall I would catagorise my experience here as very satisfactory.
The outstanding feature of this hotel is without a doubt the superb level of service. Close second is the fantastic value for money. On average I was paying £60 per night, which is about the going rate for most of the larger chain hotels, and very competative for this area.
The food is very, very good and the portion sizes are very generous. The choice on the menu is good, although there could be more lighter options. The breakfast is superb also.
I stayed in the courtyard rooms, and these are spacious and very comfortable. The decor is a little dated and tired looking, but the rooms are very clean and you even get an iron and ironing board.
On the whole this is very worthy of a visit, for a stay, or just for a meal. I would even say that the larger chain hotels could learn a few things about service from the staff here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaspiraitus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your time to leave your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Isles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Every year we visit the Burghley Horse Trials and were delighted five years ago to find the Toft Hotel, which is a short drive away. We've stayed there from Thursday - Sunday, the weekend of the Horse Trials, ever since. The hotel gets better each year and we always look forward to a warm welcome from Frank, Isabel and the team when we arrive. Attention to detail is high on their list of priorities. The hotel is in a lovely location, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We enjoy the ambiance of the bar where we dine each evening and the food is excellent. We have already booked for 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtemisTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on here, we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our daughter and new son in law held their wedding reception here on 25th august and from the moment the venue was originally booked we have found Isobel to be the most helpful and accommodating host. On the actual day all our expectations were met to the full and myself and my husband cannot thank Isobel and her team enough for helping to make the day the success it was, including the somewhat odd dietry request from the groom!.Some of the party stayed overnight and all rooms were well equipped and comfy. I would definately reccommend Toft as a wedding venue and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your time to leave your feedback. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the day, I will pass it onto the team. Thank you for your card aswel. Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We vsited the restaurant as a party of 9 to celebrate a family members birthday. The hotel is set in beautiful, well kept grounds with a tranquil atmosphere. The bar area is modern and well staffed, perfect for a pre-drink before you go through to the restaurant. The restaurant is light, airy, well decorated and seats around 25-30 people. Although the setting feels upmarket, it is certainly not 'stuffy'

There was a set menu on the Sunday that we went, 3 courses for £20 per head, this included two roast options, which are carved at your table. The food was absoultely delicious and piping hot. The staff cannot be more attentive, they were also spot on with timings between courses.

It was such a beautiful day, that we ate our deserts / coffee's outside on the patio area and again the service was faultless.

Overall, this felt a real treat for the price of the three courses. Real value for money as the food, service and setting was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedKandi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your time to leave your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Toft. Hopefully see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We live very locally to Toft Country House Hotel and Golf Club, it's in a beautiful setting and has a lot to offer there's a small campsite with electric hook-up, hotel rooms, function and meeting rooms, golf course, beauty rooms, bar and food..... The property and grounds have had lots of work done to them to modernise and make them more attractive however it is still not quite to a great standard yet.

A few years ago we held our work's Christmas party at Toft and the food was excellent considering it was done on a mass level, much better than we'd expected. However this year we were sent a letter with a leaflet telling us about the Christmas functions and they didn't put enough postage on! We were fined the £1 to receive it and when I called advising them it was like I was talking another lanugage (also we'd called and left a message to book Jackson Stops their sister restaurant) and I mentioned this saying we'd not been called back - again no apology.

The outside area is lovely, you can sit looking over the fields and watch the sun go down whilst having a drink. The food menu is extensive and there's a lot of choice many of the products coming from a local supplier.

I had t-bone steak and, whilst it was cooked just right, it had no seasoning, the sauce was bland the vegetables were microwaved with a slight congealing over the top. The potatoes of the day were new (which was fine) but no butter or seasoning. Yes we said the meal was ok as it was but it could've been so much better and was disappointing. It was definitely a 3 out of 5 meal.

Toft Country House has so much potential if just a little more effort, care and attention where made.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you had to pay £1 extra for the postage, I can assure you that this was not intentinal, as we sent many of the same leaflets out and have not heard anything from anyone else, so please accept my sincere appolagies for our mistake.
I will pass your comment on regarding you calling the Jackson's and hearing nothing back to the managment there, as we do value all our customers and I am not happy to hear that you were not called back.
Regarding your last meal with us, I am sorry to hear that you felt it was not up to our normal standard, so we can investigate this further please could you contact me to tell me which day you visited us. I look forward to hearing from you soon, and thank you for your custom and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourne
7.0 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
6.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
11.5 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The George Of Stamford
6.9 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
336 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club

Property: Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Address: Toft, Bourne PE10 0JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Bourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Julia Reid, with daughter Isobel & son in law Adam extend a warm family welcome to all customers old & new. Robert is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Hospitality and with 30 years experience in the hotel trade, we offer a renowned quality and excellence of freshly, locally sourced cuisine, we are proud of our good food, wines and hospitality. The hotel has been lovely restored from the original stone farmhouse to meet modern needs whist retaining the original features such as stone walls & beams. With 20 ensuite bedrooms, all with new flat screen TV’s, tea & coffee making facilities & telephones. There are 12 bedrooms onto a ground floor courtyard, which makes for easy access.Relax in our newly refurbished lounge with comfortable sofas & easy chairs, lovely for a pre or post dinner drink, whilst you peruse the menu or enjoy a coffee.The hotel offers ample parking and is well situated for touring the South Lincolnshire/East Midlands with plenty of interest for all.•The Toft facelift continues, come and eat in our new gardens & al fresco dining area•Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel•Onsite hairstylist and beautician - More info•Bridal suite available•Dogs are accepted at additional cost•Cancellation policy for accommodation: 12 noon the day before arrival ◦If you cancel later than 12 noon the day before the date of arrival then the 1st nights accommodation will be charged to your credit/debit card which you gave to reserved your room. Hotel Tariffs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing