We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dormy House(Bourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Stage(Market Deeping)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlesticks(Stamford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birch House(Stamford)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
91
92
25
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
92
25
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecourtyard roomwedding receptionmain buildingsausage rollswedding venuewonderful weddingevening meal and breakfastgolf societyafternoon teacar parkat short noticesunday lunchblack puddingstayed for two nightsfull englishlovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 231 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We vsited the restaurant as a party of 9 to celebrate a family members birthday. The hotel is set in beautiful, well kept grounds with a tranquil atmosphere. The bar area is modern and well staffed, perfect for a pre-drink before you go through to the restaurant. The restaurant is light, airy, well decorated and seats around 25-30 people. Although the setting feels upmarket, it is certainly not 'stuffy'

There was a set menu on the Sunday that we went, 3 courses for £20 per head, this included two roast options, which are carved at your table. The food was absoultely delicious and piping hot. The staff cannot be more attentive, they were also spot on with timings between courses.

It was such a beautiful day, that we ate our deserts / coffee's outside on the patio area and again the service was faultless.

Overall, this felt a real treat for the price of the three courses. Real value for money as the food, service and setting was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedKandi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your time to leave your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Toft. Hopefully see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We live very locally to Toft Country House Hotel and Golf Club, it's in a beautiful setting and has a lot to offer there's a small campsite with electric hook-up, hotel rooms, function and meeting rooms, golf course, beauty rooms, bar and food..... The property and grounds have had lots of work done to them to modernise and make them more attractive however it is still not quite to a great standard yet.

A few years ago we held our work's Christmas party at Toft and the food was excellent considering it was done on a mass level, much better than we'd expected. However this year we were sent a letter with a leaflet telling us about the Christmas functions and they didn't put enough postage on! We were fined the £1 to receive it and when I called advising them it was like I was talking another lanugage (also we'd called and left a message to book Jackson Stops their sister restaurant) and I mentioned this saying we'd not been called back - again no apology.

The outside area is lovely, you can sit looking over the fields and watch the sun go down whilst having a drink. The food menu is extensive and there's a lot of choice many of the products coming from a local supplier.

I had t-bone steak and, whilst it was cooked just right, it had no seasoning, the sauce was bland the vegetables were microwaved with a slight congealing over the top. The potatoes of the day were new (which was fine) but no butter or seasoning. Yes we said the meal was ok as it was but it could've been so much better and was disappointing. It was definitely a 3 out of 5 meal.

Toft Country House has so much potential if just a little more effort, care and attention where made.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DianeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you had to pay £1 extra for the postage, I can assure you that this was not intentinal, as we sent many of the same leaflets out and have not heard anything from anyone else, so please accept my sincere appolagies for our mistake.
I will pass your comment on regarding you calling the Jackson's and hearing nothing back to the managment there, as we do value all our customers and I am not happy to hear that you were not called back.
Regarding your last meal with us, I am sorry to hear that you felt it was not up to our normal standard, so we can investigate this further please could you contact me to tell me which day you visited us. I look forward to hearing from you soon, and thank you for your custom and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had the mis- fortune of meeting the one member of staff who was not friendly.We were enjoying a drink in the bar with three generations of our family and as it was quite full had to sit near a door that was open and creating a draught. As we have been in the bar on many occassions previously and as it is often closed we closed it. Within a minute we were berated by an employee for closing the door as it should be kept open, when we said there was a draught we were told that's what we should expect as we were sitting near a goor. It wasn't our choice as there were no other seats and if we were not supposed to sit near the door, there shouldn't be seats near it! We have used the hotel frequently in the past but will not be going again as the memeber of staff was particularly rude, though it must be said that all others are always friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not find the last time at Toft Country House Hotel an enjoyable one. I am afraid that the door that leads from the corridor to the bar that you were sat next to is always open as it is the main door through to the bar, which is what I think the owner (bad egg) was trying to explain to you , however I think this was taken the wrong way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a gift voucher for Tea for Two. wondered how we would be treated beings we wouldn't be paying. Need not have worried, From the moment we arrived, we we're treated so nicely. a Table had been reserved for us. The food was delicious, and plenty of it. the sandwiches & cakes were fresh. The staff made sure we had plenty. - And they helped make the day really special. The venue is in a really nice setting amongst rolling hills.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mocookit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We look forward to welcominh you back to Toft again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were guests at the wedding and the following reception. The staff greeted us in a friendly manner and were very helpful throughout. This was especially rewarding because there was also a golf tournament on the same day.

The venue is nicely sited a few miles from Bourne amid some lovely rolling hills. The dining area was a little crowded but that was of no significance until the temperature began to increase as people began to dance. Fortunately, it was warm outside and, when needed, also dry. The grounds are lovely for wedding and other photographs and it was nice just to stand or sit outside watching the setting sun cast its golden light on the trees on the hills opposite.

The food was excellent and the kitchen makes a lovely custard! There was quite enough food for the reception meal itself. There was enough time to eat and allow a little digestion before the empty plates disappeared and the next course replaced them. Later in th evening, plates of hot dogs and rolls came round. Drinks were not particularly expensive.

Part way through the evening, there was a nice touch. A couple of guests had a camper van which they had parked for the night. The owners told them where the drinks and snack machines were, as well as the toilets, and gave them a key, just in case of trouble. Although a recognised camping site, that was a nice gesture.

All-in-all, it was a pleasant place to have a pleasant evening, with or without a wedding reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepsipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToftManagement, Owner at Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enojoyed the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews