We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wishing Well Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Lets just say in two nights i had about five hours sleep. The central heating system needed bleeding, it sounded like there were mice playing football in the radiators. The bedding was summer style, and when the mice were not playing football it was really cold. Otherwise the food was really good, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snottoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for The Wishing Well Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2009

It's hard to sum up in a short review how terrible this place was during our recent visit for a meal. A colleague and I went for a celebratory meal there and it was a cacophony or erros from start to finish.

Mandy, the Assistant Manager, has zero customer service skills. She was also and was coughing and sneezing all over the food and drinks. UItimately we refused to pay and left without eating our meal.

Summary of comments from Mandy in brackets:
The mayonnaise that were served was rancid (it's not, that's just the brand), the hot chocolate that I ordered was revolting (that's because it's not hot chocolate, we ran out, that's just plain cocoa), the steak was VERY overdone (No it's not), the pepper sauce that we ordered never arrived - we left by this point.

When we complained she said that they were short staffed (2 staff for 3-6 tables!!!), that she was ill (I asked if this stopped her smiling and she insisted that she had smiled)

Reported to Environment Health and will never return. Chips were delicious though and the other waitress was lovely, with lots of smiling going on.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank LizandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We recently stayed at the Wishing Well. Our fourth time back and an absolute joy as always. Very friendly landlord and great service. Lovely food also. Don't expect a plush new complex and modern rooms.. but a gorgeous character building in rural lincs.We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The only hotel I've stayed in where you pull back the sheets and know that the bedding hasn't been changed! The whole room needed a good clean - floor hadn't been cleaned, bedding dusty with hairs in, coffee cups had lipstick on them and shower/toilet was stained and browning!

Nice location - in the middle of a tiny village - very quiet and play areas out back for kids.

Must say that the food was very good - all cooked to order and good portions.

Young waiting staff are ok but there were female managers who were as miserable as sin - would never say hello or make any kind of conversation. Everything seemed to be an effort. Landlord seemed to be a decent guy and would chat.

In all, a good place to stop for a meal but would not suggest that the rooms are ventured into!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roamer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Wishing Well
Dyke
Bourne

Room rather cramped. The carpet had not been vacuumed as there was conspicuous dirt on the carpet plus a plastic wrapper from previous occupants.
To open the door to the room took brute force because the Yale type lock did not clear the catch when turned with the key
There was not provision to dry towels.
The tea making facility required that you crawl under the dressing table to put the plug into the socket. Lead was barely long enough to reach the plug. Only one bath and one hand towel provided for two people. There were no fire instructions in the room, nor was there an indication of where the fire exit was in the corridor. The corridor needed considerable paintwork attention. The information folder in the room contained a 2005 guide to gourmet food locations. Not a reliable guide in 2009.
There were no net curtains at the windows that would conceal anyone using the hand basin by the window from the public area at the back.
I slept on the side of the bed nearest the TV. The side of the mattress had lost its support leaving me with the feeling that was going to fall out of bed all night.

The safety door at the end of the corridor was so heavy to open my companion could barely move it. I had to put all my weight on it to make it open. Not good for the elderly.

Toilet & Shower.
The plastic toilet seat was faded and discoloured due to its age. The door to the toilet was so warped that it had no means of locking other than the decrepit brass bolt. The door fitted at the top but warped away so that you could see through the gap. The shower entrance is so narrow that it had to be negotiated sideways. No slightly overweight person would be able to get into the shower. The shower head gave such a fine spray that was barely capable of wetting the body. The head was also cracked so a jet of water went up to the ceiling and down the wall. With the temperature control turned to maximum the water was barely luke warm. No soap dish anywhere in the toilet shower section.

Staff.
The young staff were friendly and pleasant apart from the points made below.
The two waitresses in the bar restaurant had no idea of what wines were available or what character the wines had. They could not provide mustard to have with my steak. Went to pay for the meal but the staff member in reception ignored me whilst making what sounded like a personal phone call. Having been facing me he turned his back on me and continued the call.

The breakfast provided was good. I recommend that any one wanting to stay, asks to be put in one of the three named bedrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsandersb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourne
10.9 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
9.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bourne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Toft Country House Hotel And Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 1 in Rippingale
32 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Griffin Inn, Irnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wishing Well Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wishing Well Inn

Address: 21 Main Road | Dyke, Bourne PE10 0AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Bourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bourne
Price Range: $92 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wishing Well Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wishing Well Inn is a historic 300 year old village pub located in Dyke near Bourne, Lincolnshire. It is situated on a large 2 acre plot with 12 bedrooms, large restaurant and function room ideal for weddings, family functions and corporate parties. It has recently been acquired by new local owners, and they are busy improving this historic local pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Wishing Well Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wishing Well Hotel Bourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing