We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats gone wrong?”
Review of The Windmill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windmill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Reviewed November 7, 2011

i stayed at the begining of summer decided to book again recently,all the old staff have been replaced by horrible people!the hotel is now dirty,the toilets smell terrible,the room was dirty and the bed linen was unironed!i booked in for two nights left after one,who cooked my breakfast it was greasy and unedible and the table linen was stained and cutlery very dirty.totally different to last time i stayed.on booking out asked to speak with the owner,was met with hostility and told by the bar manager he did not stay there any longer,speaks volumes.will never stay again,and would strongly advise anybody to think twice before booking this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magenta1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

most of the staff was pleasant but the idiot who is in charge leaves a lot to be desired he is unkempt and tatty looking and he cooks!!!! the breakfast was dire. Although the hotel was clean,and in a very nice market town the unruly customers on friday night spoilt our stay fights,, drunks ,and the sound of pint pots smashing was terrible will never recommend or never stay again

Room Tip: all rooms clean but basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 16bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

the hotel as only just reopened after being closed for 18months, and under new management the staff are friendly helpful and polite the hotel is very clean after being refurbished and the area is a historic setting with very friendly locals, the food in the hotel is spot on!! go as far as to say fantastic will most certainly return on my nxt visit well done paul, louise and staff, thank you.

Room Tip: best room thomas paine suite but all rooms clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lacylou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My friend and I stayed for one Saturday night to be close to the race track at Caldwell. We payed £70 inc cooked breakfast for a twin room, whilst his brother and his wife and their three year old and teenager stayed in a family room.
Perhaps a hotel suited to the older crowd,since it's certainly not modern and there;s not much to do for the young ones, however we were pleased with the room size and have never seen so much tea, coffee and MILK in our lives!! Excellent! Nothing more frustrating than having a revoltingly strong coffee first thing in the a.m.
Best bits: welcoming receptionist, extra milk, pretty location, good breakfast, being able to book a really early breakfast.
Not so good: Weak shower pressure, no extra pillows, pictures on website make it look awful!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownSj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Having stayed at the Windmill Previously we decided to go again, BIG MISTAKE!

Upon arrival we found the staff rude and unhelpful. The room was dirty and shabby and looked like it hadnt been cleaned for a month. There was no coffee or teaspoons, and they bed was unkempt.

Breakfast was even worse with horrible bread sausages and salty Bacon.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Angel-star-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfordChelseaBob, Owner at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2008

Read the review and was a bit disappointed about the comments...then got to the part about the SAUSAGES! We have a bit of a phobia about the way sausages are made and as a consequence do not have them!! Are you sure you have the right hotel???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We have just returned from spending one night at The Windmill and will probably never book a room here again. Previously we have stayed here twice before and never had any complaints but the owners have changed about six months ago and although I take my hat off to them for their ingenuity for making more money from the establishment I do feel they are compromising on their overnight guests comfort and appreciation.

We arrived only to find that they couldn’t find our booking. Eventually they managed to find it. We noticed a flyer on the reception desk for a live band which was due to play at the hotel that night. It was understood that the band wouldn’t be playing very late so would not disturb the guests. On arrival in the room on the second floor we were slightly taken aback by the overall condition of it. The window frames were in a very dirty condition. There were flies squashed on the walls in the bedroom (5) and the bathroom (7). The bathroom had a very fusty smell to it and wasn’t very clean either. One bedside table and one side light, centrally positioned over the bed. We didn’t complain at the time because we had got the impression on checking in that the hotel was full.

We returned later to the hotel at 11.50pm. The place was jumping with the band playing in the bar and a private party in the restaurant with a DJ. The band stopped playing at midnight but the DJ didn’t stop til 1am. The vibrations from the base made something rattle in our room. We eventually dropped off at about 1.15am. We understand from other guests whose room faced onto the front of the hotel that they were then kept awake by the leaving teenagers arguing for about an hour outside the hotel.

Breakfast was reasonable. Not sure what happened to the sausage though on the ‘Full English’? Our waitress was lovely.

When we came to pay the £70 for the double room I raised the points about the room cleanliness and suggested that it maybe an idea to warn guests in future when they had events booked. I was met with indifference. I was told that the room had been cleaned on the morning of our arrival and therefore made to feel it couldn’t have got that dirty in the few hours before our check in. I was also told with some indignation that they had patrolled the corridor on the 2nd floor and that there was no noise from the events in the hotel. No hint of any apology.

Good luck to the new owners but maybe they should review their customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als je ooit in alford bent in engeland kan je beter na de The Half Moon hotel toe gaan beter eten go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
389 reviews
9 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
7.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
71 reviews
10.1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill Hotel

Address: 10 Market Place, Alford LN13 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: $64 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an 18th-century coaching house located in the historic market town of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. If you are planning a trip to the Lincolnshire coast, whether it be a one night stop over to a full week, the Windmill will endeavour to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms are en-suite and offer value for money. We have a well stocked bar offering a wide range of beers, wines and spirits. In addition our Indian restaurant offers top quality cuisine. We are also a pet friendly hotel. You will always find a warm and pleasant atmosphere awaiting you from the staff at the Windmill Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel Alford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing