We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of The Star Inn 1744

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star Inn 1744
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrussington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in this lovely village this week. The Star Inn is an excellent place to stay. Offers good access to Nottingham and Leicester in a relaxing environment. The facilities are first class with the option of full English for those preferring that. Real Ale on offer with a choice of 3 or 4 hand pulls. Lovely room. Lively atmosphere in the bar/dining areas during the day and evening. Would not hesitate to use again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Although our room was to the front of the building and on the roadside, it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi Jo-Jane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Star.
We're so pleased you had good time

We hope to see you again if you're ever in the area

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Star Inn 1744
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very smaqll in a small vilage to the north of Leicester. The room was furnished to a high standard despite being smaller than those you get in most hotels. The bathroom was exceptional having a large sink and bath with a choice of two shower heads, two lots of toiletries and 4 towels all in a modern luxury style.

The restraunt area is small and can only be accessed via the bar but the food is good and again reflects modern trends and local food stuffs.There is a choice of menu so if you prefer more conventional pub meals this is also available. Service is efficient and polite.

Breakfast is provided with all the usual options although there is no specialist vegetarian option but they will do beans on toast of full english without the sausages and bacon.There was only one member of staff serving while we stayed and this did mean having to wait.

The only thing I would suggest you take special care over is if you are arriving back late. They do lock up properly and if you are given the wrong key to let yourself in you will have to create a fuss to wake someone to let you in. My advice is to try the key before you leave for the day.

Please note this is not really a place for children.The bar and restraunt have a no children policy after 8.30pm and the rooms are not designed with them in mind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VampireferretLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Star Inn
We always like to hear about our customers experiences and their thoughts

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the food. We do like to provide as much local produce as we can so we're pleased you noticed :)

I would just like to respond to a few points made in you review ~

Access to the Restaurant - You can actually gain access to the restaurant from our side entrance on Seagrave Road. This entrance is suitable for our disabled customers as there are no steps and the door is wide enough for wheel chairs. We also have access from the rear garden and from the corridor which links to the Ladies, Gents and Disabled facilities

Arriving back late - For our customers who wish to return late we give a front door key. In case of emergencies we have 3 alternative phone numbers printed on the back of the room key card. We also have a member of staff that lives on the premises who can be of assistance.
We have checked all the keys and ensured they all are working nicely (though some may need a gentle wiggle on occasion)

Child Friendly - We do have a 'no children in the Bar after 8.30pm' policy due to licence restrictions. This is waived if the children are dining.
We have tried our best to be as child and family friendly as possible in that we have baby changing facilities in the disabled toilet, lots of high chairs available for our tiny diners and we also have a children's menu.
Regarding our bedrooms we have a big focus on families. Rooms 1&2, 3&4 and 6&7 all have an additional door so that a more private Family Suite can be made. Two of the sets have a Double Room and Twin room combination available and the third option is a Double and Single or Twin and Single depending on preference. We also have a travel cot available for the little ones should it be required.

Breakfast service - As we are now getting busier we have now taken on more help for the morning service. We hope you enjoyed your breakfast if a little slower than we would have like the wait to be. We are now also looking at expanding our breakfast menu to include more vegetarian breakfast options.

Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again soon

Kind regards,
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Star Inn on Saturday night and was very impressed with this lovely pub in this nice East Midlands village. The building is gorgeous and the rooms are brand new and beautifully decorated with lots of facilities.

The restaurant is busy and the food was quite good, but there was some confusion as to whther we had ordered our food or not. We thought we had ordered with the waitress but apparently you can only order through the Maitre D so it took an hour and a half to get food. I wouldn't let this put me off as this is a good little place to stay, but I think they might be a bit too busy for their own good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicjnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Star

We are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your time with us. I apologise for any confusion during ordering. I do hope that this was resolved to your satisfaction.

We are a busy pub/restaurant/Inn and work to a 30minute (main meal) service as our meals are cooked to order from fresh so this does take a little longer, though as you stated that you waited longer than this, for which I apologise.
We would love to see you again at The Star so that we may exceed your previous experience.

Kind regards,
Nicole - The Star Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staying locally en route nborthwards, we chanced upon The Star Inn for dinner. It was a Wednesday evening, and fairy busy ... but the staff were delightful and very attentive. We were offered very good filtered and bottled tap water and bread whilst waiting for our starters - the prawn cocktail, which was tasty and well presented. We waited, oh, about 15 minutes for our mains and boy was the short wait ever worth it. My travelling companion rated the fish and chips as the best ever, and my liver was delicious (and cooked just as I'd ask - medium to well, which some chefs take exception to and serve pink nonetheless). Emphasis is very much on pleasing the customer. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Gareth,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Star Inn
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the food was just how you like it!

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards,
Nicole - The Star Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Myself and my husband visited the Star Inn on Friday 4th January 2013. The bar area is not separated from the restaurant. There are two or three steps up to the restaurant area. No barrier exists for diners in the area where we were seated between the bar and restaurant. If you are in a couple, and the restaurant is busy, there is no other area for you to be seated as all of the other tables are for 3, 4 or more. We did, in fact ask if there was another table available elsewhere when we were shown in, but the answer was negative and no other option was offered! The bar was very busy, mainly made up of a crowd of about 20 young men, but I would not call the atmosphere vibrant. My husband and I in fact like a vibrant atmosphere, it adds to the enjoyment of the night. The atmosphere was much, much more than that and it is obvious from the choice of vocabulary from the star that that person was not present that evening. I would have called the atmosphere loud, immature, drunken,boorish and loutish. This kind of behaviour you may expect to see in a rugby club when the wives and children have gone home, certainly not in a village inn that rates itself as 4 star! The fact that the staff kept serving these individuals with shots and let them carry on with their moronic drinking games when it was obvious that diners were becoming very uncomfortable, leaves much to be desired. Maybe there should have been a quiet word with the crowd, then a warning. When paying between £60 - £80 for a meal for 2 I do not expect to have to put up with this kind of behaviour. We do, as my husband says have a very long association with The Star. It has a very dear place in my heart as it was where we had our first date. My affection for it has now been tainted. I do not know if I shall return in the future only time will tell.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank joanna_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Manager at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

I am aware that you have a long association with the Star Inn and therefore quite familiar with our Restaurant and Bar, as you had not actually pre booked to Dine with us on this evening no particular table was requested in advance and you were actually seated in one of our ‘four tables’ for 2 people near to the Bar.

You have confirmed that the Food and Drink served were very good, your review actually relates to others customers using the quite separate Bar area on this busy Friday night who disturbed your meal.

I do need to point out that this review is factually incorrect in a number of ways and portrays our 4 Star Inn as a bawdy Rugby Club, this is simply not the case as it is more accurately described as an ‘Old World Inn with a Modern Twist’ we do serve a wide cross section of people and the atmosphere can be what we call ‘Vibrant’ in particular on busy Friday night, but that is the character of the Star Inn.

Clearly we cannot please everyone, you have subsequently written to the owner about your experience who has responded to you personally and refunded the cost of your meal if it was disturbed as you say.

Management response from The Star Inn 1744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here on Christmas Eve on the way to friends for Christmas Day. They couldn't have been more charming and helpful, despite being very busy with Christmas Eve revellers and lunch preparations for the following day. Our room on the first floor at the rear of the Inn was quiet, despite a packed bar. The welcome was warm, and when we came down to the bar about 9.00 looking for a snack after a very large lunch eaten elsewhere earlier in the day, we were invited to help ourselves from the free buffet, laid on for Christmas Eve drinkers. There was live music and a very jolly atmosphere. The room was very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. We had an excellent continental breakfast. Very pretty location, overlooking the village green.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!
We are so pleased you had a lovely Christmas and enjoyed staying with us at The Star. We hope that you will come and see us again when you're next in the area.
Kind regards, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I live locally and visited with my Dad on a Tuesday evening, which turned out to be Fish and Chip Night!
Upon arrival at around 7pm the pub was busy; the restaurant was fully booked so we sat in the bar area. This didn't bother us, it's not a very big place, and the atmosphere was good, especially for a Tuesday evening.
Service was very slow. I went to the bar to order drinks and tried to order the food to be told that somone would come to the table - even though we already knew what we wanted.
We had to wait a while for the menu, it seemed there was one person responsible for giving the menus out and taking orders - and I suspect he was doing the same in the restaurant area.
There was a bit of a wait on the food, but when it did come the portions were good and it was fresh and hot. No complaints about the food.

Service is certainly an area they should look to improve on here. I would hope that those sat in the restaurant were seen to more efficiently. We weren't overly bothered, because we had the special our bill was reasonable, and as I said, the atmosphere was pleasant.
We intend to go back and experience the restaurant area to judge that!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RachD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks for the feedback
During the lead up to Christmas we can be quite busy, especially on Fish night, you are correct the Restaurant pre booked reservation will take priority, but normal food service in the bar normally only takes approx 30 minutes depending on the time order placed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, please speak to Adam or Robert if you need a reservation in the Restaurant, but bear in mind we are often fully booked at this time of year.

Kind Regards
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrussington
6.1 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
1.4 mi away
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
#1 of 1 in Thrussington
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#16 of 40 in Leicester
520 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
679 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn 1744? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrussington
Price Range: $121 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing