We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly inn”
Review of The Star Inn 1744

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star Inn 1744
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrussington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived about 3pm, were seen by the manager and made to feel very welcome. They rooms were very well appointed and the service was excellent. We ate in the restaurant that night and the meal was first class, very well cooked and very tasty. Again the service was excellent. We had breakfast and again the staff couldn't be more accommodating, they even made a bacon sandwich for my nephew who was still in bed. We stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby and would happily stay again. The village was very beautiful and the inn is in the centre.

Room Tip: The family suite is good, two bedrooms and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your great review!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 173 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Star Inn to attend a wedding nearby. We arrived about 1pm and we were shown our room immediately - and when we told them of the wedding the following night we were also immediately given a front door key to let ourselves in. We spent the afternoon in the pub - and a walk round the village. We found everyone to be very friendly - especially all the bar staff. The room was excellent - very big, clean and very comfortable. We had our evening meal in the pub - which we booked - and good job as it was sooo busy. The food was excellent - the atmosphere and the service very friendly. We slept very well - the continental breakfast is included and Hubby had a cooked breakfast - it was huge. There was plenty of choice and plenty of food. We took a trip to nearby Melton Mowbray - Rob - the manager - even offered to take us out and pick us up later. We got back about 2pm so ordered a sandwich for lunch and it is BIG - including home cooked crisps. One word of warning - there is no 'local' taxi - so when we rang a taxi and booked it to pick us up later - only 5 mins each way - but was £30 probably due to the taxi being 'called' out. But this is nothing to do with the Star. We actually got back about 11.40 - and the staff served us and then joined us for a drink once the bar was shut. I would highly recommend this pub - and hotel - if you stay there make sure you have a meal as the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrypawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your review on The Star Inn 1744.

We always like to hear about our customers experiences and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went to the bar to say we had a room booked, the person who saw to us didnt ask for our name just walked ahead of us up the stairs, let us in our room, asked if we wanted an out of hours door key, we said yes, so he said he'd come back with one and left. He never came back. We received no information, what time and where breakfast was served, restaurant hours, bar hours, check out time etc. I went downstairs later on where he was busying himself behind the bar to get the key. Next morning the same man was there at breakfast, loudly talking to his friend in the next room on the phone.. Also all the breakfast items were still wrapped up in the Asda brand packaging...??
Turns out the manager was on holiday apparently?. I dont usually complain about staff, but this time I was just not particularly happy paying that price for a room that was far too hot (I understand the age of the building may restrict installation of A/C but a fan wouldnt hurt), and for no level of service at all. Especially as it was a special treat to celebrate a special occasion for my partner and myself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulltimetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion.

The Star Inn is a Country Inn and we believe we offer exceptional value for the standard of accommodation provided (4star). We are not a full service Hotel with a 24hour reception and service but we feel our prices are fair and reflective of the quality of accommodation we provide.

Having discussed your specific comments with the staff we feel we should point out that a comprehensive information folder is provided in all of our Bedrooms clearly stating the information you required.
This folder also contains details of our menu, dining times, local attractions and history of the area.
We agree it is unfortunate that you were not aware this and we now ensure this is pointed out to all guests.

As with most similar aged properties, it is very unusual to have Air Conditioning, however we have recently installed AC into the room which has been reported to us as being very hot however we are unable to install in all rooms. We have taken on your comments and fans are now available in all of the other rooms.

I hope that this response deals with your comments and we do hope that you will return to The Star Inn 1744 again in the future.

Kind regards

Regards
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We travelled from Australia for my son's wedding celebration and stayed at the Star Inn as it was only 20minutes away. When we arrived home (around 1am) we found the place locked. There was no after hours access and the number on the front door was not answered. There was nothing said when we booked in to indicate that "oh the place is locked when the bar closed". (there was also nothing in the book of rules and regulations) The temperature was 2 degrees and it was raining. We eventually found another room to stay in at around 3.30am. Also if you have children they are not welcome down stairs after 8pm, so if you wish to stay there and have children you need to stay in your room, because if you go anywhere else you will get locked out. There should be an emergency number to ring so that they do not lock out their paying guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jiro1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hi,
We appreciate all customer feedback as it enables us to improve.
We do not lock our guests out of the Inn as a rule as we advise guests that a front door key is available if they are returning late or after the Bar is closed. This is something we make clear when our guests check in. However, in this instance there has been an error and we are deeply apologetic for this.
Following this extremely unfortunate incident we have reviewed and changed our procedures to ensure this cannot and will not happen again.
We offer our sincere apologies and would like to offer you a complimentary 'Two Night' stay including Evening Meals (or equivalent value in food and drink), valid for one year from your recent visit. As we understand you live abroad we would be pleased to pass this offer on to your Son and Daughter in law.
Regarding the comment about Children:-
Children are always welcome at the Star Inn, the only restriction we have relates to a licensing requirement which restricts young Children in the Bar after 8.00pm this excludes Hotel Residents and Diners.
I hope this clarifies the situation.
Regards
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Arrived at this hotel quite by accident while visiting a school nearby. Found everything to my satisfaction, beautiful & comfortable rooms. Cosy friendly bar in the evening. Breakfast a little basic but I wasn't looking for much.
A positive experience, I would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Star Inn 1744. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I organised a weekend away for my girlfriend's birthday, including a spa day at Ragdale Hall. As they couldn't guarantee availability of rooms at the spa I booked a night at the Star 1744 in Thrussington and I'm very glad that I did. Recently refurbished, our small, but cosy, room was finished to an excellent standard, with a fantastic bed and a good sized en-suite. It is clear that no expense has been spared with the fixtures and fittings. Being a Saturday night the bar was relatively busy, so there was a good atmosphere. Our food was great and service was relatively quick considering there were some large parties in the restaurant. It's worth noting that we couldn't hear any noise from the bar from our room. I read the earlier reviews where people had problems with management - all I can say is that we have nothing but praise for the staff we encountered and would definitely be back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahodgekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Star Inn 1744. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed. The junior staff were very helpful. However senior management border on the outright rude and are unhelpful. Could not even provide bar snacks when requested for a party that had booked out all their rooms.
Breakfast expensive, rooms at this price and two poached eggs for seven quid?

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

We thank you for your comments and we greatly value customer feedback and always consider all points raised

It was great to hear the fantastic comments about our Bedrooms and some of our Staff:-

"Rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed, the Junior Staff were very helpful"

We were obviously disappointed re the comment on our Senior Staff as there was no intention to be rude or unhelpful but it is correct we could not provide a quick ‘Bar Snack’ service as requested on this occasion but did advise we could provide this later that evening, the difficulty was that this request came in at our busiest time on Saturday evening when our Restaurant was inundated with orders, as we only had one Chef on duty our priority had to be with our Dining Room Guests who had pre booked their Dining reservations.

However in future we will be offering an alternative Snack service for our Hotel Guests.

Re Breakfast, we do include a Continental Breakfast within our very competitive room rate, our Full English Breakfast is an extra £7.00 and this is also great value, but we agree it does seem expensive if only two poached eggs are ordered from this selection.

We do hope that you will return to 'The Star Inn' in the future as without a doubt we do offer the very best '4 Star Inn' accommodation in the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrussington
6.1 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
1.4 mi away
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
#1 of 1 in Thrussington
53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
972 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
687 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn 1744? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrussington
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing