We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for the price, and close to Ragdale Hall”
Review of The Star Inn 1744

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star Inn 1744
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrussington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I organised a weekend away for my girlfriend's birthday, including a spa day at Ragdale Hall. As they couldn't guarantee availability of rooms at the spa I booked a night at the Star 1744 in Thrussington and I'm very glad that I did. Recently refurbished, our small, but cosy, room was finished to an excellent standard, with a fantastic bed and a good sized en-suite. It is clear that no expense has been spared with the fixtures and fittings. Being a Saturday night the bar was relatively busy, so there was a good atmosphere. Our food was great and service was relatively quick considering there were some large parties in the restaurant. It's worth noting that we couldn't hear any noise from the bar from our room. I read the earlier reviews where people had problems with management - all I can say is that we have nothing but praise for the staff we encountered and would definitely be back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahodgekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Star Inn 1744. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Star Inn 1744
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 171 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

The rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed. The junior staff were very helpful. However senior management border on the outright rude and are unhelpful. Could not even provide bar snacks when requested for a party that had booked out all their rooms.
Breakfast expensive, rooms at this price and two poached eggs for seven quid?

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

We thank you for your comments and we greatly value customer feedback and always consider all points raised

It was great to hear the fantastic comments about our Bedrooms and some of our Staff:-

"Rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed, the Junior Staff were very helpful"

We were obviously disappointed re the comment on our Senior Staff as there was no intention to be rude or unhelpful but it is correct we could not provide a quick ‘Bar Snack’ service as requested on this occasion but did advise we could provide this later that evening, the difficulty was that this request came in at our busiest time on Saturday evening when our Restaurant was inundated with orders, as we only had one Chef on duty our priority had to be with our Dining Room Guests who had pre booked their Dining reservations.

However in future we will be offering an alternative Snack service for our Hotel Guests.

Re Breakfast, we do include a Continental Breakfast within our very competitive room rate, our Full English Breakfast is an extra £7.00 and this is also great value, but we agree it does seem expensive if only two poached eggs are ordered from this selection.

We do hope that you will return to 'The Star Inn' in the future as without a doubt we do offer the very best '4 Star Inn' accommodation in the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a local wedding, and after initially being incredibly impressed by the rooms felt the service let it down.

Rooms are incredible - really comfortable bed, huge bath and great shower, very clean and better than some 5* hotels we've stayed in. We did need to ask for an iron (apparently it should have been in our room) and fresh batteries for the TV remote but this was quickly dealt with. The rooms were very hot, even after we turned the heaters down, and as a result a lighter summer duvet might have been better (normally I get cold at night so this was a surprise).

On the first morning we had the continental breakfast which had a good range of cereals, toast, pastries and really delicious locally made yogurt. The second morning we were less impressed - one of us had the fried breakfast, good except perhaps for the (seemingly) tinned tomatoes. I wasn't that hungry so asked for soft boiled eggs. This wasn't possible (no egg cups!) but I was offered poached eggs instead which I was happy with, and ate with toast made myself from the self serve area. I wasn't offered a hot drink on the second morning, and couldn't catch the bar man's attention when I went up to ask for some, but on the whole everything tasted nice. Unfortunately being charged £6.95 for 2 poached eggs (toast was included with continental breakfast in room price) DID leave a bad taste in my mouth, especially when the full fry up was only 5p more.

Service at first was good, but went down hill when the wedding party (5 rooms were booked out by our party on the wedding night) used the space we'd reserved for the Saturday night. We were reserved the option of ordering food at 8pm, and the groom was complained at because there was 6-8 people more than expected (we were still in a self contained room) - as it's a restaurant we wouldn't have expected problems, especially as a few plates of chips would have gone down well. Instead of spending another couple of hours contributing to bar sales we left and had an enjoyable evening at private residence.

On the whole rooms are great, but service went down as soon as staff had to tend to more than 4 people at once. It's a shame, but I can't sing the praises of any establishment that actually turns away custom, especially on a special occasion, but is money hungry enough to charge nearly £7 for two poached eggs!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Our Guest comments give us valuable feedback and it was great to hear the fantastic comments about our Bedrooms and some of our Staff:-

"Rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed, the Junior Staff were very helpful"

We were obviously disappointed re the comment on our Senior Staff as there was no intention to be rude or unhelpful but it is correct we could not provide a quick ‘Bar Snack’ service as requested on this occasion but did advise we could provide this later that evening, the difficulty was that this request came in at our busiest time on Saturday evening when our Restaurant was inundated with orders, as we only had one Chef on duty our priority had to be with our Dining Room Guests who had pre booked their Dining reservations.

However in future we will be offering an alternative Snack service for our Hotel Guests.

Re Breakfast, we do include a Continental Breakfast within our very competitive room rate, our Full English Breakfast is an extra £7.00 and this is also great value, but we agree it does seem expensive if only two poached eggs are ordered from this selection.

We do hope that you will return to 'The Star Inn' in the future as without a doubt we do offer the very best '4 Star Inn' accommodation in the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Nicole Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsuchifumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrussington
6.1 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
1.4 mi away
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
#1 of 1 in Thrussington
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#16 of 40 in Leicester
520 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
679 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn 1744? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrussington
Price Range: $121 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing