We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant

The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal at the Star last night. We used their new taxi service which was fantastic. The food was lovely the haddock chowder tasted great. The service was also very good, courteous staff and very attentive.

I would definitely recommend the Star and their taxi service.

Their Sunday Lunch is probably the best in the local area, some have commented that the portions are small but for us the portions are perfect, with the food cooked and presented very well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glider180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Glider180,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us at The Star and for your lovely comments!
I have passed them onto the staff.

So pleased you used and enjoyed the new Private Hire Taxi

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    50
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've had a meal in this pub/restaurant twice now, stayed in their beautiful accommodation, and have had fantastic service on each occasion. The staff are friendly, welcoming and professional, and the décor in keeping with the age of the building, but sympathetically renovated. The food is exquisite - beautifully cooked and well presented, and the ingredients are of a very high quality. I hope to enjoy the hospitality on offer again, and would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Sue,

Thank you so much for your great review!!
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visits to The Star

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Top quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited the restaurant because I had a customer staying in the hotel. Its a recently removated bat and restaurant in greens greys and light wood. Decent selection of beers and wines, We were going to head over to Leicester or loughborough to eat but a quick glance at the menu made us decide otherwise. Menu was extensive and included daily specials. We ate in the bar area rather than taking a seat in restaurant. We had Thai fish cakes which were very good and then beef done three ways outstanding. All in all a good convivial place to eat.

Only slight niggle was the wine - a good wine list but we picked a claret one of their expensive wines - which didn't taste of much at all

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevincharles3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Kevin,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Star

We always like to hear about our customers experiences and are so pleased you had a nice time.

As regards the Claret - we review our wine list on a regular basis so will be sure to pay attention to this particular selection

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“impromptu xmas lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good atmosphere - food is also nice enough - nothing amazing but we only had ham and chips and the fish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandy-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Mandy,

Thank you for taking the time out to review The Star
We're glad you enjoyed your lunch

We hope to see you again sometime soon!!

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A super evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a lovely meal with the family a couple of weeks ago, i returned with my friends and had a super meal yet again! The staff were very attentive and friendly. The star inn has a virbrant atmosphere and i would recommend it for a wonderful meal and being a welcoming place to visit
thanks to all the staff

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice review we do hope you will return to the Star Inn again very soon.

Kind Regards - Nicole at The Star Inn 1744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant also viewed

Hoby, Leicestershire
Thrussington, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 

Been to The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing