We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Dissapointment”

The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Big Dissapointment”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch in a party of 10 and was very dissapointed in this place.

The food came out cold with some of our party being served 10 minutes after the first meals came out, 2 dishes of vegetables was hardly enough for 10 people we had to ask for more and not everybody likes beef so rare the plate has blood over it. Maybe you could ask who wants it rare first.

Also not one person ever come to our table to ask if everything was ok or if we needed anything.

Would not return or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful transformation”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful transformation of this old pub. Clearly no expense spared making it a lovely place to eat. I did find myself sliding off the bench style leather seats and getting awful backache but I accept maybe I'm a funny shape!? The food was lovely. I had the crispy pork belly for starter (very good) followed by the fish of the day which was a succulent hake fillet cooked to perfection with a delicious creamy sauce. This had a tiny portion of tasty but very sparse samphire. The lack of vegetables disappointed me a little. I would have ordered extra had I known they were rationed! My peanut parfait dessert was ok but over frozen and needed a good 15 minutes out the fridge before it was served. Never mind. The staff were lovely and very attentive and it's definately worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mealpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spur of the Moment evening out”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Food was amazing!!!! Very tasty. Staff friendly, and helpful, didn't feel rushed at all. can't wait to go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really great on all fronts”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Saturday lunch for 3 and we were close to the kitchen closing at 2pm but it wasn't a problem, phew. Guess now that it's signposted from all surrounding roads they may get many disappointed customers who turn up for the hours when food isn't available. Anyway, staff really welcoming and helpful especially as we had a small child with us. Lunchtime menu is good on choice and value. Food was good quality, generous but not factor so. The inn looks good from the outside and just as impressive inside with a smart but sympathetic refurbishment for a mid-18th century building. Really strongly recommend. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for majorly tasty food!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Really lovely clean pub in a picturesque village with a fairly short but tempting menu. Went for Sunday lunch over the Jubilee weekend and we were impressed by the standard of cooking, especially the crispy pork belly starter - mmm, that crackling! We all sat at the long table at the back and drank velvety Shiraz and were more than happy with the airy ambience, the furniture and finish to the decor, then the wonderous food served piping hot by charming staff. My partner had the pork belly followed by more pork, it was that good! For my main course I had the tender, lean roast beef, all served with yorkie puddings, moreish crunchy roast potatoes and rich gravy. Scrumptious! Somehow we managed to find some room for cheeses, grapes, celery and crackers before being pleasantly surprised by a rather reasonable bill at the end!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant also viewed

 
Thrussington, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Burton on the Wolds, Loughborough
 

Been to The Star Inn 1744 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing