We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Champneys.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champneys Springs Health Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Packington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not the best Champneys.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I have been to Champneys with my mum a few times. This one is nice because it is purpose built and the communal areas are nice. However, we were quite surprised how tired the rooms were - maybe they are more interested in the "day guests"?

Treatments were OK, but as usual with Champneys it felt rushed and you couldn't help but feel that the attitude is that you haven't actually *paid* as such, but got it as part of the residential tariff.

Food in restaurant was fine, but the maitre'd/waiter was really condescending (I did almost tell him one evening that I am not a public convenience ... laydeees ...).

So all in all, I probably wouldn't go back to this Champneys (even though it is the cheapest one!!!). I actually don't think I would recommend it for a residential stay, but I'm sure being a day guest would be lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    353
    174
    82
    65
See reviews for
311
380
180
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

My first visit to a spa resort hotel- I'll definitely be returning. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff in every area of the hotel and the place ran like clock work.
The food in the restaurant was plentiful, healthy and varied.
A most enjoyable, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Our first visit to Champneys Springs and have to say we were really impressed! We booked on the weekend mini weekend break in a superior room and have to say the price was about right for the package. The room was very nice, quite large with TV, DVD etc. The bathroom was large, clean and very well decorated - very modern.

The resort is nice, although a bit dated in parts. The pool area is a bit 'leisure centre-ish' with no mood lighting and it's irritating that people leave their towels over the few loungers in a sad attempt at reserving them should they decide they want to go back in a few hours. Having said that it is quite large so plenty of space to swim around! The main areas with the sofas are also pleasent - although the weekend we went was half term so it was very very busy - meaning these areas resembelled an airport waiting room at times.

The other facilitles are great - tennis courts and bike hire (no charge). The reccomended bike route is great - a nice little loop around the surrounding village. The gym is good with a few free weights and machines.

Food was very good as well - nice and healthy options for lunch and breakfast buffet and the dinner meal was OK. Very eye opening what you can make with simple, healthy ingredients.

Treatments were very good and we found all the staff very friendly and efficient throughout - a real credit to the resort, especially as they often seemed to be dealing with some very picky people who wanted to moan about anything and everything.

Having said that the only minor gripe I found was that there seemed to be quite a few men wandering around in jeans and t-shirts sitting around playing on their mobile phones (which are supposed to be banned), taking photos of the pool area, watching football on the TV's etc. Made me feel a little irritated as a bloke but I can imagine it would make the women feel a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Absolutely wonderful spa day at Champneys Springs. The staff are attentive, highly professional and reassuring. The facilities are superb and the treatments are absolutely excellent.

At Champneys everything is there for you, before you realise that you need it! Their products are sublime, the atmosphere is soothing and tranquil.

It is excellent value for money, the food is delicious as well as nutritious and I didn't want to leave. Everyone should go there for at least one day, in my view it should be on NHS prescription.

Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdboxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

A day trip to the spa exceeded all our expectations, from the treatments to the facilities. Felt very welcoming and enjoyed the whole day. Only small critisism is that it is starting to look a little tired in certain area's and if that was done, would make a hige difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We decided on Champneys Springs due to it's wonderful location and weren't disappointed. The spa is well located in the leicestershire countryside and offered a vast array of health and beauty treatments.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities are great for a spa hotel in which to relax.
The only downside I found was during one treatment the team member went for the hard sell which detracted from the relaxing atmosphere and made for an uncomfortable 25 minutes.
I would definately go back however and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have been to a few spas in the area and this one is not rated high on my list.
The food and treatments where good, and the staff were very good, but the hole of the hotel is very tired and in need of a revamp.
The pool area and in particulaly the main toilets in the reception area where very poor, last done 1960's.
Breakfast is good but you have only cold buffet, if you want hot breakfast that is extra, and the pilates classes there is a extra charge.
There are no water massage jets free of charge they are also extra.
This did turn out to be quite an expensive weekend with all the extras.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuemalcCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packington
13.6 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby de la Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champneys Springs Health Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Springs Health Resort

Property: Champneys Springs Health Resort
Address: Gallows Lane, Packington DE12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Packington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Packington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champneys Springs Health Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champneys Springs Health Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Springs Health Hotel Packington
Champneys Springs Health Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing